Richard Dower wrote: » If someone wants kill themselves they'll find a way, most times (with men) there are no outward signs. The services in Ireland are shabby and very patchy. My sympathities to the family.
Richard Dower wrote: » If someone wants kill themselves they'll find a way, most times (with men) there are no outward signs. The services in Ireland are shabby and very patchy.
Red_Marauder wrote: » By the way this is in rural Ireland...
2qk4u wrote: » My 16 year old son attempted suicide last may and we found out that there is no help. We were told that he is too old for child services and too young for adult services, there is two years which happen to be the most common years for suicide where no services excist. We were lucky and got help from Sosad Ireland after spending 4 days hitting dead ends. It makes me very angry and upset.
consultech wrote: » Did the cursory traditional Irish "Would ye come off of that now, pull yourself together will ye?" not bring him right around? Hmph.
GAAman wrote: » One of my closest friends killed herself a week after telling a doctor that she was going to do it and what did the doctor say? "Sure you are a good lookin girl you will be grand" This was after years of depression and anti-depressants and after BEGGING this stupid bitch doctor for help and that is what the doctor said/did Again in rural Ireland I can only imagine what the family are going through while i know of close loss thankfully not that close
IvySlayer wrote: » You reported her right?
GAAman wrote: » Oh believe me i wanted her blood never mind reporting her, but my friends mam didnt want me to, said it wouldnt make any difference and wouldnt bring her back, i was going to go behind her back and do it but felt i should respect her wish
brightkane wrote: » Its your call, but i think you should. What if someone else go's to that same doctor with the same story and gets no help. You might just be saving someone left behind from the hurt , pain and unanswered questions
Maserati23 wrote: » I also found out my son contemplated it last summer. I hope I reassured him of the consequences on everybody around him.
xzanti wrote: » Condolences OP.. My cousin took his life at 21, no note, no explanation just gone it's very difficult to get your head around.. Nobody could have seen it coming, he was so full of life and confidence (or so he appeared to be) such a waste..
Deleted User wrote: » Without trying to insult you, or drag the thread off topic, that seems to be the most common approach, and one of the silliest aswell. If someone is considering suicide, how is telling them "you'll be ruining things for other people" going to help? It's like saying, "Hey, I know you're obviously under a lot of mental pressure and stress, but here's something else to worry about, too, and now that you feel completely trapped, I know you'll be fine. Take care". It's a terribly strategy. Addressing the person's problems is a good idea. Not telling them they're just causing more problems. OP; I'm sorry to hear about what happened. Terrible time of the year, but sadly, so prevalent.
GAAman wrote: » This is something i thought and said myself but what can be done now? This was two years ago (in Sept gone) i can only hope she (doctor) has learned from it I have thought about it, have hoped that you couldnt be so intelligent to get a doctorate in medicine and be so retarded to make the same mistake again, but having said that you would think she would be smart enough to see the warning signs in the first place
Johnny Giles wrote: » Don't say he was a waste. You just can't know what's goiung through their heads when they did it.
xzanti wrote: » Condolences OP..