actuallylike wrote: » I agree with you there but I can understand how it gets annoying. I walk that street every day and it's non stop. I have sympathy for them and I give when I can but only to people I think deserve it. I don't do it much anymore though. Had to draw the line when I saw a homeless woman suggest to her homeless mate on Baggot Street that they should move cause they're all "scabby c*nts" around here and also now I'm not convinced a lot of them are even homeless or even that badly off? I tend to see some pristine runners on a few of them and the last straw was when I saw one take out his iphone on Abbey Street! :eek:
Dean0088 wrote: » TBH... I think you're getting me a tad wrong. Have no problem with helping them etc... In fact I volunteer with the SVP (not directly related to drugs but we get some drug related things...). I just hate being harassed (which is what it is - especially with some of them). Plus... it's the main street in the capital city. YOu wouldn't see crack addicts outside the white house or leanen up against the Eiffel Tower
actuallylike wrote: » Sorry to post again but I have to ask this. A friend of mine is in Vietnam now working in an orphange and she says that there's so many incidents of mothers going out begging with their baby but they drug them up to keep them quiet. Couldn't believe it when I heard it but got me thinking about if it goes on here? I know I've seen mothers with their baby passed out in their arms in absolutely torrential weather and the child doesn't even flinch, we're no that bad are we? I'd like to know if anyone knows for sure if this happens or not, don't bother piping in with 'probablies', cause it wouldn't be fair...although this is AH
Braylen Unsightly Cough wrote: » lol, look at the OP's sig!.
Dean0088 wrote: » lol...prob a bit extreem. If only they'd organize a roster or something so you're only asked ONCE! ... If you gave them all money you'd be the one begging by the time you get to the end of the street.... maybe that's how they got there....hmmmmm
DaPoolRulz wrote: » You've been watching the South Park episode with the homeless people, haven't you?
Schism wrote: » Fiiiiiiiiight!
Useful.Idiot wrote: » they're all ***** and should **** off. I remember a couple on O Connell St. and yer man pretended the woman was pregnant and saying he needed to get the train with her, I said I had no money and he just kept blatherin' on. Near the end he just exclaimed "Empty your pockets!". Just walked on, with them hurling abuse at my clothes lol.
Dean0088 wrote: » YOu wouldn't see crack addicts outside the white house or leanen up against the Eiffel Tower
Dean0088 wrote: » some drug related things...) YOu wouldn't see crack addicts outside the white house
actuallylike wrote: » the last straw was when I saw one take out his iphone on Abbey Street! :eek:
RugbyFanatic wrote: » In fairness to the poor chap he probably robbed it.
The Express wrote: » Then I saw one geezer scooping coldslaw out of a massive Deli catering bucket with his hands and washing each mouthful down with his bottle of Paddy at 6:45am on Mountjoy Sq. the poor fecker...It can't get much worse than that...
jumpguy wrote: » The worst are the ones at the ****ing Luas stop. Was up in Dublin a few weeks ago and the ****ers are all over the place, it got bad very, very quickly. Sign of the times I guess. And when you ignore them, or say no, they persist! Very annoying.
Dun laoire wrote: » A few will gather round in aticipation. When you've about five or six down and outs start lobbing the coins at them one by one.
Palmerstown_guy wrote: » I hate these junkies floating around the city. Scum of the earth and give our city a worse image than it already has.
lightening wrote: » You know,keep that up and you are going to get such a such a crack on your jaw doing that that you will spend a half an hour staring at the back of your eyelids Dun laoire? Nobody in your sheltered life touched by addiction, eh.
Caoimhín wrote: » I have sympathy for them. My understanding of it is that an inclination towards an addiction to any substance, legal or illegal is a result of a particular gene, be that a deviant gene or otherwise. My point being, nobody sets out to become a junkie/Alco, nor is every beggar/homeless person a junkie. Many are suffering from a mental illness. It reflects very poorly on our own society that we can not help/aid the poorest, weakest and most vulnerable. So think about that before you go on a wee rant about survival of the fittest.
Dun laoire wrote: » Lighten up
Dean0088 wrote: » See thats what I though.... but if they get just four or five people to give 'em two euro per hour there earning more per hour than me!!
snyper wrote: » This is my third time to post this but it reflects how i feel on the whole junkie / homeless / begger issue I left the pub one night about 6 years ago, i had just had a fight with my then girlfriend i wasnt in the best of form, this homeless guy sitting on the ground as i walked by asked "spare some change?" i snapped back at him "get a fcuking job!".... he just replied "ok , sorry" by the time i had taken about 10 more steps the feeling of guilt hit me like a stone wall.. who the fcuk was i to say that to him? I knew nothing about him or his past or what he has being through.. my gf wasnt impressed either but i went up to the nearest chipper bought a burger chips and a coffee and walked back to him... i was aware that he was well within his rights to tell me to go fcuk myself as he threw the food back at me, however, i went back to him and apologised to him prefusely.. i think the most humbeling thing of all was his reaction, he was so nice about it and said it happens all the tim, the bit of food i gave him, he received like i gave him a thousand euro he was thrilled, we stayed and chatted and he told me of the circumstances that lead to his current position, i was humbled and learnt a vey valueable life lesson.. never look down on other people, since that time ive had my ups and downs that could quite possibly have placed me in a position where i could have ended up on hard times if i didnt have support, of my family and friends - ones own head is a very powerful asset, but can be your greatest enemy too