RobitTV wrote: » Gardaí in Waterford arrested 31 students last night and in the early hours of this morning for a range of public order offences and Fighting in the city. It is understood the students were out celebrating their annual Christmas Day event when the arrests were made. Most of the arrests took place in the city centre, Lismore Park and Templars Hall housing estates. Gardaí say they will be talking to authorities at Waterford Institute of Technology in relation to the matter. Gives the Gardai something to do lol
Dr. Baltar wrote: » As a student myself, I've got to say that this kind of behaviour sickens me. Sure I go out and have a laugh and get drunk ect. but there is a line between fun and fun at someone elses expense. It's sad that a minority such as this brings the reputation of all students in Ireland down.
j walsh wrote: » I was working in Oxygen night club last night and in fifteen years of doing door work, It was one of the worst nights that I've ever worked, I wouldn't say people causing trouble was 50/50 as there's an awful lot of nice students out there but there was some amount of scum bags out last night, I saw so many incidents where people just walking past people and bumping into them and getting smacked in the head and then all hell breaks loose, it was happening all night long, They really gave the majority students a bad name. The amount of them that had no respect for property, others, bouncers and more so gardai was unbelieveable..... I think there was a full moon last night as well so that would play a part in the madness. don't laugh I'm serious....Along with drinking all day as well of course...
shapez wrote: » Can someone give an outline of exactly what kind of mayhem went on? Are we talking drunk & disorderly offenses, fights etc. I did hear of a couple who were caught having sex in the front lawn of a house in Lismore Park at 12.30 in the afternoon. :rolleyes:
gscully wrote: » I believe there was a caller on to Billy McCarthy saying that a man and his daughter were stopped at traffic lights somewhere in the evening and a student repeatedly exposed himself to the girl. When told to stop by the father, he replied that he likes them young! :mad:
jimbojazz wrote: » In my opinion the ones that were arrested that were students should be expelled and made an example of and maybe this would be a future deterrent.
Paddy@CIRL wrote: » Agree with you on that one. Send them home with no registration or fees refunded with no further chance to ever attend the WIT again.
ziedth wrote: » Oh and of course BLOODY STUDENTS :pac::pac::pac::pac:
brendansmith wrote: » I went to WIT and hung around with lads from Wexford and Tipp there. There were absolutely insane. I think there is something about growing up in the country, they seemed to think they could anything and it was ok like fighting bouncers, ripping stuff of walls, kicking full wheelie bins out onto the road and thats the mild stuff. :eek: