Last night, Dublin South East's Chris Andrews said the proposed changes were another step in turning Ireland into a "nanny state".
Liam Byrne wrote: » Ah sure why not completely screw those who live in areas with zero public transport altogether...... I don't want to be attacked for appearing to condone drunk-driving; I don't; but two shandies / one pint is NOT going to make a difference to your driving, unless you're tired - in which case you shouldn't have been driving anyway. And the point is that any accidents are caused by people who are ignoring the CURRENT rules, and the fact that rural Garda stations have been closed means that those people are driving around after 5 or 6 pints, no bother, and the rural roads are more dangerous as a result. Basically, yet more headline-grabbing bull****; hitting the current law-abiders further while ignoring the actual issue and the actions required to fix the existing problem.
Rojomcdojo wrote: » If you're only going to have one or two shandys or one pint, what is the point? Have a coke instead.
Rojomcdojo wrote: » All having one pint does to anyone is gives them a hankering for one or two more.
Rojomcdojo wrote: » Which leads to idiotic decisions.
Liam Byrne wrote: » That is a ridiculous statement, to be honest. Not everyone goes out to get hammered. I've regularly gone out and had one or two (literally), and had a great night and went home.
I don't want to be attacked for appearing to condone drunk-driving; I don't; but two shandies / one pint is NOT going to make a difference to your driving, unless you're tired - in which case you shouldn't have been driving anyway.
And the point is that any accidents are caused by people who are ignoring the CURRENT rules, and the fact that rural Garda stations have been closed means that those people are driving around after 5 or 6 pints, no bother, and the rural roads are more dangerous as a result.
Rojomcdojo wrote: » Would you not have had as good a night had you have not drank alcohol?And if not, then it obviously had an effect on you mentally which would affect your driving.
Idbatterim wrote: » I really hope it gets lowered to 50mg.
seamus wrote: » Each case is so subjective that it's impossible to say that one pint won't make a difference. Inhale a pint of Guiness in ten minutes on an empty stomach, then hop into a car ten minutes later and tell me that you don't feel any different.
seamus wrote: » The issue is not so much that people are ignoring the current rules, more that they either don't understand the current rules sufficiently to apply them, or think they're applying them when they're not. That is, they have 4 pints over the course of three hours and assume they've broken it down enough so that they're grand (which they may be, to be fair).
seamus wrote: » The point in applying such a low limit is to get it into people's heads that if you're planning on driving, don't drink. Simple as. Don't say one is OK, just don't do it.
seamus wrote: » We need to challenge this societal nonsense that you can't be social if you're not drinking. What's wrong with a cup of tea or coffee in the pub? Well, there is one thing wrong with it - the publicans charge too much. Teh price of non-alcoholic drinks to the consumer should be capped with a fixed profit margin for the publican and zero-rated for VAT where sold in a licenced premises.
drunkmonkey wrote: » I notice your location says Dublin:rolleyes: Spare a thought for your country cousins, there is no public transport, would like us all to walk home on unlit roads in bad weather. That's more of a danger than 2 pints will ever be.
drunkmonkey wrote: » tbh, I'd like the limit to be set by the county councils. What's good for dublin isn't necessarly good for the rest of us.
Liam Byrne wrote: » I wouldn't view 4 pints as acceptable.
drunkmonkey wrote: » I would if you take it nice and handy on the way home. No need for speed!
Liam Byrne wrote: » Doesn't matter. The 4 pints is definitely going to be over the limit, so it's illegal as well as pushing the boundaries.
tbh, I'd like the limit to be set by the county councils. What's good for dublin isn't necessarly good for the rest of us.
Liam Byrne wrote: » The 4 pints is definitely going to be over the limit, .
Mike 1972 wrote: » Are residents of Meath/Wicklow/Kildare somehow less suceptable to alcohol induced motor skill impairment than residents of County Dublin
drunkmonkey wrote: » Yea I'd say people in the country would be a lot better at drink driving, the dubs are good at feck all.
starbelgrade wrote: » Not strictly true. You could knock back 4 pints in a relatively short time, drive home & still pass a breath test. Breath testing can be quite unreliable when it comes to determining blood alcohol levels... for reasons such as; - The temperature of the machine - The body temperature of the person being breathalised - incorrect calibrating of machines .. amongst other factors.
Liam Byrne wrote: » Then don't drink on an empty stomach! Or when you're tired! Or whatever....I've already SAID this.
Look, my point is that before they make new laws and claim that they'll make ANY reduction, they should impose the existing ones. You don't see a Government minister coming on-air and saying "well, because of our policies, we don't enforce the existing laws; but if we did, there would be a 50% reduction in road deaths".
seamus wrote: » The 80mg limit provides wiggle room. It lets you have those two pints, which might taste like more and can lead to bad decisions.
seamus wrote: » Remember that most people *want* to do the right thing, they don't have to be forced to do it. If the right thing is obeying the law, then most people will heed this limit and drink-driving figures will drop.
Liam Byrne wrote: » Two pints does not magically and automatically lead to 4; having 4 does not automatically lead to driving home, etc.
And like I said, they can quote all the studies that they like, but I would reckon that there are currently FAR more people driving over the 80mg than those between 50mg & 80mg, and those people are not being stopped or taken off the road.
So instead of saving 250 lives by going after those, they might save 5 by possibly catching the people who are barely drinking at all.
bonkey wrote: » So I had to smile when I saw the article saying that "one drink" would put people over the limit, when what I believe it actually meant was "one pint". If you're having a beer because you enjoy a sociable beer...is having a glass instead of a pint such a tragedy?