markok84 wrote: » I say bring it to court, make sure your mate dresses in a suit and tie and has all papers relating to the cars tax and insurance in order and with him. The court will be full of scumbags in tracksuits so the judge will be impressed by your friends attire, be concise and explain exactly what happened.
seanybiker wrote: » why couldnt he ask them himself. Its done now anyways. Whats the point say why didnt ya do this why didnt ya do that. Pay the fine and get on with life. If a crappy little fine is the worse thing that happens in your life, I think you should be able to make it through it. What time is cut off for disabled people to be allowed outside anyways? I could swear I seen a few on nights out before.
old boy wrote: » i am of the opinion that then most important law regardless of which, land or god, is the law of common sense, can one apply it here, this is what you say to the judge, but make sure that you have a solicitor, judges do not like to have solicitors unemployed.
foxylad wrote: » 2am is a crazy time for traffic in John St. ive seen taxis getting tickets from Gardai for blocking the street - being in no parking areas. they are treated the same way. sometimes if they think they Gardai are being unfair - they go on strike!! same rules for everyone! sorry lads
rusty999 wrote: » Nothing to do with disabled people--he was with the van all the time with the doors open And nothing to do with paying a crappy fine---its the principal of the thing that matters. We need to lose the downtrodden attitude in this country and stand up for ourselves now and again
rusty999 wrote: » Well this guy was also working in the same way as the taxi drivers were working --its a pity the cops didnt ask them to move out of his way so he could load his gear Would that not have been a fairer way of dealing with it???
seandepaul wrote: » I think its completely understandable what you did. You just know some drunken fool would "fall" over your equipment and try and claim you were in the wrong or worse still try rob it. Are the taxis not parked illegally outside of the Kazbar? Not sure just wondering? Sure god forbid the cops do any real work. Whilst they were being completely unreasonable there was probably someone getting there head kicked in down the road. But they couldn't be doing real work when there's money to be made!!!
DarkJager wrote: » I know exactly how you see it, I have to move my DJ equipment (well over 1k+) after gigs and there is no way in hell I would risk not having the car outside the venue. Are the gardai going to replace my gear if it gets wrecked by some drunk clown? I think not.
rusty999 wrote: » Exactly right!! The taxis were in the wrong
Cabaal wrote: » Doesn't really matter if Taxi's were in the wrong, two wrongs do not make a right so the van driver still broke the law
vixenbees wrote: » God I cant believe that. I didnt know guards hand out tickets to taxis for that!! john street is definately mental at night but does giving the taxis tickets change anything there, cos they'll still have to line up the next night? Anyway, least we know its not just a once off or a guard on a power trip... fair enough if its regularly patrolled and he just got caught. Have to say, it is very squashed around that area and theres not many places to park up, especially if you're unloading heavy expensive gear. The rules of the road tend to bend when the streets are full and cars are everywhere, in bus lanes, sitting in car lanes with blinkers on, waiting on yellow lines, its the NORM. Bands play in Masons, Kazbar, Revolution, Rubys Lounge every weekend so unfortunately a double park might be required to get the stuff out safely. Some have back streets or back entrances where a car could pull in, but others dont. The main streets are jammers with drunk people so having to go further than a few metres with amp's/speakers is not worth the risk. I see them do it week in, week out so I know it is not as black and white as some people see it, there are other priorities to consider (however selfish) and I suppose that comes at a cost. Thats the risk that was taken and the price was paid.
Cabaal wrote: » Common sense changes person to person, what one person thinks is common sense is far from it for another person., That is extremely clear in this thread that what people view as common sense differs, this is why we have laws which are voted on and then put in place.
vixenbees wrote: » Morning all, h Next thing a guard hops out of a paddy wagon and comes stormin over all high and mighty sa I know he was breaking the law and in the wrong but it just seems so petty and unneccessary. You'd think they would have given him a chance to move off. And I know they move every few mins but why arent all the taxis that are parked on double yellows not penalised?
kryogen wrote: » could they not leave the gear till the next morning then? my mates always do this when playing anywhere on John Street, You are safe enough with Ruby Lounge and that but on that street itself it is much easier to leave the gear overnight. ]
vixenbees wrote: » its a commercial rusty. k