The Abstract wrote: » 1.Diarmuid Murphy2.Marc O'Se3.Mike McCarthy4.Tom O'Sullivan5.Tomas O'Se6.Seamus Moynihan7.Liam Flaherty8.Daragh O'Se9.William Kirby10.Paul Galvin 11.Maurice Fitzgerald12.Declan O'Sullivan13.Colm Cooper14.Kieran Donaghy15.Johnny CrowleyI think that is a terrifying forward line
DDC1990 wrote: » Terrible Terrible news. That plank Ó Cnámha is reffing! How is he getting All Ireland Semi Finals!!! Worst Ref since Bannon!
yayamark wrote: » Question for ye now that Donaghy is unlikely to play against Meath would ye start Donaghy IF we get to an All Ireland Final? The High Ball didnt work against Tyrone we all know that but the quick low ball worked against Dublin. I know they are different teams and Tyrone would never give us that space. The quick low ball set up a lot of the half foward line to set them up for scores but the high ball id determined on the forward catching, turning making space and scoring something that wont be easy against Tyrone or Cork
careca wrote: » If Donaghy doesn't play some part against Meath and we were to win, then I wouldn't start him in the AI Final. Saying that Donaghy is equally adept at playing the quick low ball game. If you remember the second AI win over Mayo, then Kerry played an entirely different game (ie quick ball) than the previous one (high ball) and Donaghy was very good in it. I was a bit disappointed that Kerry (Donaghy and O'Keeffe) came out after the Dublin game and said so much about our tactics and who we targeted. You can be sure Dublin will use that to their advantage next time we meet and also I'd say the remaining managers in the semis were loving it. I couldn't see Mickey Harte or even Conor Counihan coming out with statements like that. Its fair enough if you have SAM in your hands, but it was only a QF win. What do people think?
Kingdom wrote: » I didn't read anything into it at all careca tbh. Similar to Jacko's comments about the 3 qualifier games, he wasn't blowing steam up the ar$es of Longford, SLigo or Antrim, justs aying how those matches were going to be All-Ireland finals for those counties and that they were tough games. As for Star's comments, he just called it as it was. A complete dissection of Dublin. To call it anything other would have been regarded as "cute hoorism" at its worst, and in fairness there was nothing derogotory said. In relation to Counihan, he was especially fortright in his opinions both after the first game and prior to the replay in his belief that Cork had targeted areas and were sure they were going to exploit them in the the Pairc. Mickey Harte is Mickey Harte, butter wouldn't melt. Last thing. It was more than a Q/F win. It was a statement of intent. It might have only been one final act of defiance, a "close the ranks and come out fighting" performance, but they did it, and against most of the odds. Can they do it again? I'm sure they can, as the hard work (in terms of fitness and preparation) is done, and it should be a matter of focussing on keeping that level ticking over and focussing on ballwork and tactics from now on. That was a point that was grossly overlooked here and in the general media (both print and television) but mentioned by a few us on here and on the kerry forum. The self belief in this group of players is fantastic, I've no doubt when the draw was made they'd have felt the end of September was achievable. Remember they've only been eliminated from the All-Ireland by one team since this team reincarnated itself. An equally superb team in Tyrone. 2003 was a wake-up call, 2005 the teams were seperated only by a single moment of genius by a single genius player, no different to Fitzy being the difference between ourselves and Armagh in 2000. 2008, Tyrone were cannier, that was the essential difference, not a difference in abilities. Hopefully we can resume that battle again this year. I've no doubt our lads are itching to prove themselves equals. Ciarrai Abu....
careca wrote: » Very good post. Jesus, you have me fired up for the semi final already. My boss is a Meath man. Think I'll head in to his office and give him a belt of a shoulder
LeoB wrote: » Howya Lads and Lassies. Can any of ye tell me how many of the current Kerry Panel are from Junior clubs? Have to settle an argument at work.
LeoB wrote: » The discussion was basically about the difference in other counties and not having to be with a big club to play Senior county football. It appears or feels in Dublin you wont get picked if the "A" team in your club is not among the the top 2 divisions. Division 1 and 2 are Senior, 3 and 4 Intermediate and 5 to 12N are Junior. 1 of the lads says he reckons that in Kerry, Cork, Tyrone it does not matter and as a result Dublin miss out on some class players who dont play senior club football.
helpisontheway wrote: » To compare so you could ask the question as to what players on the Kerry team play with clubs not in division 1 or 2? Answer-Paul Galvin,Darren O Sullivan,Declan O Sullivan,Aidan O Shea,Sean O Sullivan,Donnacha Walsh,Killian Young,Padraig Reidy,Anthony Maher,Seamus Scanlon.
homerjay2005 wrote: » Paul (finuge), declan (dromid) and scanlon (currow) all play for top clubs mate 4 of those lads have won munster club medals in the past 2 years.
homerjay2005 wrote: » whats the bet and the discussion? the term "junior clubs" does not really exist in Kerry. officially, there are but realistically they are not. there are 5 senior divisions in kerry and there are club championships that divide these teams into senior, intermediate and junior (b) but they all play in the senior league and the club championshiops up until 4 years ago, didnt matter. its a reason why kerry clubs do so well in the intermediate and junior club all irelands (theyve nearly won them all!). there are 3 or 4 junior clubs but most "junior" teams are the b and c teams from the senior teams. the lowest ranking teams in kerry squad would be Glenbeigh (darran and aidan o shea) or scaraglin (padraig reidy) who play in division 4. most of the panel would be from division 1 and 2 clubs naturally. the structure in Kerry is different to everywhere else. its hard to explain!
brandon_flowers wrote: » Easily known you haven't been home in a while, Cromane are struggling to get out of Division 5 with Donnacha and Sean O Sullivan playing with them.