Perestroika wrote: » Another theory. A rubbish one. No evidence, its up to you.
Jaxton Embarrassed Leg wrote: » No evidence against. Surely the PIRA would have done their level best to prove otherwise.... Why didnt they? Perhaps they didnt care for their image.
ScumLord wrote: » Anyone that was involved in the drugs trade in Ireland in the 90s will tell you the IRA where at the top of the ladder and not just in this country. I don't see why any of those involved would give up that money, especially now that they've nothing better to do doing.
Perestroika wrote: » You are the accuser, the burden is on you to provide evidence.
Perestroika wrote: » The front page of the Evening Herald today claims that the Provisional IRA in Dublin have issued a threat to a major drug & crime gang located in the west of the city following the murder of inocent dad Wayne Doherty. The threat was made last Sunday and coes after local residents have called on the IRA to take action against drug dealers. Supposedly the man responsible for the murder has gone into hiding and the parents of Wayne Doherty have asked for "no retaliation" for their sons murder. A senior police officer from Dublin is quoted as sayig "They [the IRA] want to use it to take a stand against drug dealers in the local community". The police also said that senior members of the IRA have threatened to shoot the trigger-man (who is well known) on sight. The Gardai have said they will not tolerate IRA vigilante activity in the area and have called for the Provisionals to withdraw it's threat. Evening Herald, Tuesday 7th July, City Final, Vol188 No160, Pgs1 & 4 :pac:
DubMedic wrote: » And you believe the Evening Herald do you?. Lot of hyped up rumor BS. I never believe anything that's in that newspaper ( except the obvious parts i.e. death notices ). .
dlofnep wrote: » So you were involved in the drug trade in the 90's? Either that, or you're going on some hearsay nonsense that your drunk uncle told you one night over a game of scrabble. In closing, it's BS. No one is claiming the PIRA were saints, but drug-dealers they were not. And until you can provide evidence to suggest that the PIRA was somehow on top of some drugs-ladder, your comments carry no weight.
Bottle_of_Smoke wrote: » John Gilligan(major drugs importer) heroin(which to be far the IRA NEVER tolerated
Daroxtar wrote: » I find it hard to believe that anyone could be so naive as to think that the biggest smuggling gang on this island would have no involvement with smuggling drugs. Ye trying to say that every crate coming through the middle east and north african corridor to ireland was arms? Were the south armagh boys all too busy washing the dye out of diesel to notice the drug trade? Have a read of Howard Marks book, Mr Nice. Might open yer eyes as to how smuggling in general works. Better still, have a read of "Cocaine Politics" by peter dale scott and johnathan marshall and see how everyone from the US government to the CIA to Contras and rebel armies the world over fund themselves. Do you think the "Birdwatchers" in columbia were getting paid for their bomb building expertise in money by the Cocaine producers? And its all just a huge coincidence that the country is now flooded with cocaine. And one other thing... an AK47 weighs 4.2-4.5 kg, depending on the model. They sell in africa or the middle east for between $40-$100. They sell here for between 500-1500 euro, depending on the condition and the dealer. A kilo of herion or cocaine would generate 50-100 times that. So if the IRA leadership want to finance their cause they'd want to be pretty fukkin retarded to stick to smuggling tonnes of arms. You dont need any more proof when the reality is so fukkin obvious. My apologies for reading books
Bottle_of_Smoke wrote: » Martin Cahill(The General, and a man who I believe was an utter scumbag) was killed by the IRA because John Gilligan(major drugs importer) was paying them off and convinced them Cahill was selling heroin(which to be far the IRA NEVER tolerated but Cahill wasn't actually doing it) and organised logistics for a loyalist bomb attempt on a Sinn Fein event in Dublin. It didn't work out, but one man was killed.
Jaxton Embarrassed Leg wrote: » that rhetoric reminds me of Nick Griffen
Remember: most of the IRA's money came from robbing banks in the republic, and shooting any Gardai that got in their way. Some of the ex-members have since made pipe-bombs for drug dealers in Blanchardstown and Limerick, but as they're ex-*IRA/INLA/etc we're not meant to count them.
Perestroika wrote: » Lol you're telling a lad who has attending countless anti-racism events across Europe. Yep, I guess I am.
Jaxton Embarrassed Leg wrote: » your attitude, not your beliefs. There is no denial on your behalf, just 'prove it'... otherwise its all 'lalalala' Anti-Racism events? Fair play I must say though, I myself see it as wholly pointless as the people present at the events are hardly those who need the help. But thats my opinion!
Perestroika wrote: » Perhaps you should read a book by Jim Monaghan about his time in a Colombian jail cell and about his comments on the very story of drugs in South America, since you're into reading books.
Daroxtar wrote: » Thats the jail he's supposed to be incarcerated in for helping drug producers build bombs isn't it? I'm sure he has some great tales to tell in it. I'll probably find it in the fiction section in the library
Perestroika wrote: » No, he wasn't in jail for that reason. You must be talking about someone else.
NufcNavan wrote: » After all, the IRA are the undefeated Army.