snubbleste wrote: » That could happen anywhere not just on a street in a city that attracts people
bullpost wrote: » Any chance it would be on CCTV - If so maybe report it?
Steoob wrote: » Just ignore them til they **** off, thats the only way to treat them IMO.
Steoob wrote: » To be fair the kid shouldn't have humoured the scumbag. Just ignore them til they **** off, thats the only way to treat them IMO.
rarnes1 wrote: » Bad advice
Ronan_ wrote: » If it was a lad with a green bulb lit under his car the gardai would be all over him but when it comes to trouble on the streets of this country, they do very little. I was in Galway last night - I saw two gardai (tall male + short female) walking around Eyre Square. Other than that there was a traffic corp jeep following 'boy racers'. You only have to watch Sky at night to see what law enforcement have to put up with in other countries. Gardai in Ireland have it a lot easier than Police in other countries and they still cannot keep control.
malice_ wrote: » What would you have done in that situation rarnes1?
Discodog wrote: » That American kid will go home & tell everyone. His friends will tell their friends & not only will it make them avoid Galway but they may stereotype the Irish. If you witnessed this tell the guards. ...
galvianlord wrote: » American kid hits back a bit harder, when out of the blue, what could only be described as the Mother/Aunt/Overweight Girlfriend in her 40s, of the scumbag comes racing out of the crowd, punches American kid in the face and says: "touch him again and I'll ****ing kill ya!"
galvianlord wrote: » ... It was so odd to see that kind of thing down that side of town. And I felt so bad for the American kid, who's impression of Galway is going to be forever marred by what happened! Also feel bad with myself for not stepping in and trying to stop it, but think that could have just made things worse...ah ****e!
Pete4779 wrote: » I don't think it's odd at all. Galway is rough as hell and full of knackers in the summer, or else vomiting students during college terms. It's a pretty unattractive place TBH, there is not even minimal policing at the best of times. I think tourists primarily visit for the countryside, not the amazing town which essentially is Carrick-on-Suir on steroids.
rarnes1 wrote: » Complete and utter rubbish. I've been living in Galway since '96 and could count on 2 hands the number of incidents I've seen. And please don't compare Galway to Carrick-on-Suir .
rarnes1 wrote: » Not told him to f*ck off anyway as that's all the excuse those scumbags need to draw a knife/bottle. Tbh, I'd probably just walk off, even though every bone in my body would be wanting to smash the little f*cker. 5/6 years ago, I would have decked him without hesitation. The only problem with that is he then turns into the victim, and cue compo for the scumbag
Pete4779 wrote: the amazing town which essentially is Carrick-on-Suir on steroids.