pullandbang wrote: » Here's one for parents (and "children") to watch out for. My daughter and her friend apparently had their drinks spiked last Saturday night in a late night establishment in Trim. She doesn't drink huge amount in the premises (does it all beforehand) but one minute she was sober and the next ... elephants. They were both bought shots by a stranger at the bar (which they shouldn't have taken) and the next thing they were out of it. Luckily they had friends to look after them, but apparently they were being watched closely by a strange older man (possibly a foreigner). Now I know my daughter fairly well, and she does tell it like it is. She doesn't remember very much about the whole incident but managed to piece it together the next day after talknig to people she'd met the night before. Moral of the story?....................Be careful out there.
kona wrote: » Spiked? your mad , there isnt enough liquid in a shot to conceal a drug.
pullandbang wrote: » Hmmm.....you're obviously familiar with things of this nature?
kona wrote: » Yes a bit of rohyphnol in a young wans bacardi breezer, and happy days, shell be rocking my stick all night long:rolleyes:
kona wrote: » Cop on. I have common sense and amnt sensationalist.Coming from somebody who is probably in your daughters generation, I know what goes on in clubs, your daughter is no angel, she drank too much and passed out. It happens.
kona wrote: » If you are only used to drinking beer and light drinks such as alco pops. If you pop back a few shots your going to hit the floor...fast. why would a old guy bother using a "date rape drug"?? judging by the state of most girls at 2am, its quite easy to find a girl who is gonzo on her own doing.
pullandbang wrote: » If that's what you need to get a shag well and good..
pullandbang wrote: » I know she's no angel, but I also know her. She doesn't hide anything from us (her parents) and when she says something odd happened, then you can be sure something odd happened. .
pullandbang wrote: » Don't try categorise me - you don't know me. I've probably spilled more drink than you've drunk in your lifetime (if you're the same era as my daughter). This post is to warn people out there that there are scum who will try anything to take advantage of young girls.
YraggarY wrote: » That's awful! I'm so enraged that this can and does happen in today's society! I know its got nothing to do with the North East region but it happened to a friend of mine in a Dublin nightclub as well. She was given a drink of vodka and blackcurrant, took a sip, realised she shouldn't have and pretended to drink the rest whilst pouring it out. She felt somewhat light-headed, and had her friends there to look after her. Both they and she noticed that she was being watched by the two men who approached her with the drink. Approximately 83,000 pills of flunitrazepam were recently stolen from a pharmaceutical company in Dublin. Flunitrazepam is commonly marketed under the product name Rohypnol. The story is http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0512/drugs.html there. I can only second pullandbang's advice; be careful out there. Don't accept drinks from strange people, or indeed, acquaintances. Stay safe. Apologies to the mods for the off-forum nature of the post, but I felt compelled to add another warning here.. - Gary
seanybiker wrote: » jaysus lads. How do ye know she didnt get spiked. It does happen. Obviously loads of people get langered aswell but that dont mean everyone does.
kona wrote: » because she didnt get raped.
seanybiker wrote: » I got spiked a few years ago and didnt get raped. No im not a lightweight who didnt want to admit getting in bits. I get in a great state a few nights a week and tis great
kona wrote: » Sensational! all those drugs just waiting to enter young girls.:rolleyes: They were robbed because heroin shooters use them to come down better thats what they are used for on the street. There are easier more succesful ways of rape. The traditional snatch(excuse the pun) and grab seems to be ever popular. Girls dont get spiked, they get locked, and then they get paranoid, then for the attention they shout oh i got spiked.
Amalgam wrote: » Rohypnol has been modified recently (last 3 or 4 years), to either colour a liquid, in the presence of alcohol, or have a colour itself, not sure which. I'm going to be vague here.. but even mixed with alcohol, Rohypnol doesn't have half the magical properties portrayed in the popular\tabloid press.
YraggarY wrote: » When a girl's drink gets spiked and she's out with her friends, her friends usually notice. The girl becomes suddenly drowsy, incoherent, unable to walk, amongst other things.. Yes, these all happen when drinking, but the rate at which all this occurs is usually a clear indication that she has ingested some form of sleep inducing drug, such as Rohypnol. - Gary
Amalgam wrote: » Gary, but there's also the modern habit of women.. drinking like lads. if you're a certain body mass and height, beer and spirits will catch up to you fast.
kona wrote: » that happened to me the first time i drank absinthe, the ejit that I am thought it wouldnt be too bad, I drank a good 200ml of it ontop of whiskey and beer. Indeed it was easier to knock back than whiskey. 10 mins later I went from having a conversation and walking. to ko. I cant remember the rest of the night, only upto where i kod.
YraggarY wrote: » Real absinthe can do that to you, but keep in mind that these girls weren't drinking absinthe. They were drinking (in my friend's case at least), the same thing they drink every weekend. Ergo, logic would dictate that with all other circumstances being the same or similar, another force must have come into play to produce the end result. - Gary
kona wrote: » Considering I at the time was able drink straight whiskey from the bottle, and quite alot of it. Id imagine proportionally, to a lightweight woman, the absinthe may potntially equal a naggin of vodka. sure some people do get drugged, but the chances are so slim. I find the OP funny, I mean how the **** can you spike a dink thats poured in front of you. The fact that there was a old man, who *may* have been foreign copperfastend the theory that she was spiked. A theory formed by a bunch of drunken teenagers. Its aload of ****e. I believe if she was spiked, shed have been talking to the guy who did it, as hed have to get close enough to be able to be trusted.
YraggarY wrote: » While its true that ones size and stature impacts greatly on ones ability to consume "X" amount of alcohol, whether you can drink whiskey straight or not has nothing to do with the effects that absinthe will have on you, due to the various ingredients that absinthe is made from, and also its alcohol content. - Gary
YraggarY wrote: » Indeed.
Victor wrote: » There is more in Absinthe than just alcohol.