sceptre wrote: » Yeah, Feedback. Or the Help Desk, though you could all contribute to one thread in Feedback. If it takes it out of this thread, because it's not helping its existence by being in this thread, take it to a single thread there. Taking over this thread with the complaints/protest is effectively thread-spoiling for those who want this BBV thread to be available to them.
dannydiamond wrote: » I'd like to echo the sentiments of the other lads/ladies. Thanks a million for all of your efforts 5starpool,Ste05,KevIRL,LuckyLloyd. As smurf said, I can't imagine who would want to mod the poker forum now,I very much doubt there'll be any volunteers from among the regular posters,and that just leaves others who wouldn't 'get' it.
RoundTower wrote: » I nominate GuanYin
El Stuntman wrote: » no point in being repetitive as anything worth saying about this fiasco has already being said but I'd just like to say thanks to 5starpool, Kev, Ste05 and Lloyd for their modding of the poker forum down the years and well done on standing up for your principles.
janeybabe wrote: » the level of vitriol in this thread is astounding.
Beruthiel wrote: » Considering that this is not the first time something like this has happened from that thread, considering that, then from our point of view, a stand must be made. Appalling behaviour by some people and not the first time.
If the whole community is suffering because of a few people, will they allow this to happen again or will they actually do something the next time around?
I suggest you all take that on board for next time so you do not stand by and allow a few people ruin your forum.
seamus wrote: » There was little "innocence" in that thread; not a single person reported the thread. Despite the fact that plenty of lurkers and other people not involved in trolling TCN saw what was going on, they implicitly joined in the craic or otherwise turned a blind eye to it.... the fact of the matter is that when the rest of community turns a blind eye to it, they are equally culpable as the offenders.
DeVore wrote: » Off topic threads are fine. Whats not fine is using them as springboards to attack other parts of the site. The rest of this has spun out of control because everyone is getting on their high horses.
Ludo wrote: » What is BBV?
janeybabe wrote: » Tbh the poker posters are coming across as being self-righteous and insular and utterly uninterested in the wellbeing of boards as a whole. I mean this has always been obvious to most but the level of vitriol in this thread is astounding.
Karl Hungus wrote: » Reading this thread, I'm extremely dissapointed. Now, I'm not a poker player, never posted on that forum, but certainly knew about the massive community that the forum was. I've been following the going-ons since the thread was originally binned, and I thought to myself, will these poker lads ever stop moaning? You did something naughty, and now you're talking a time out. Just calm down and your thread shall be restored soon. I've laughed at a lot of the stuff being said, yeah, other mods are jealous of the BBV thread, take some more happy pills why don't you? A load of nonsense. But after reading this, I'm actually more than a little shocked at some of the rhetoric coming from the admins on this one. Do you honestly believe that someone who wasn't online at the time of the incident, was equally as culpable as one of the few persons who actually engaged in the actions? Because by punishing the entire forum, that's exactly what you're saying, and that's something that I cannot get my head around, it's absurd. I'll say it right here in the open for users and admins alike, I'd be very concerned that boards is dangerously close to cutting off it's own nose to spite it's face on this one. Boards is it's users as much as anything, so don't take them for granted.
kpnuts wrote: » Seamus, can you not see it's YOUR analogy that is flawed? With admin punishing the whole poker community for the idiotic actions of a small few, the equivalent in your analogy above is the Gardai arresting and convicting every past, present and future regular of the pub, including all those who weren't anywhere near the pub on the night the shop heist was planned and executed.
Karl Hungus wrote: » But after reading this, I'm actually more than a little shocked at some of the rhetoric coming from the admins on this one. Do you honestly believe that someone who wasn't online at the time of the incident, was equally as culpable as one of the few persons who actually engaged in the actions? Because by punishing the entire forum, that's exactly what you're saying, and that's something that I cannot get my head around, it's absurd. I'll say it right here in the open for users and admins alike, I'd be very concerned that boards is dangerously close to cutting off it's own nose to spite it's face on this one.
janeybabe wrote: » IMO the poker posters are coming across as being self-righteous and insular and utterly uninterested in the wellbeing of boards as a whole. I mean this has always been obvious to me but the level of vitriol in this thread is astounding.
seamus wrote: » Actually, it would be like using the incident to have the pub's licence revoked. Which wouldn't result in "punishment" for its locals, though they would certainly be inconvenienced. I actually don't see how removing the thread is punishment, I don't understand the fuss about it at all. It's an off-topic thread. Meaning that it's disposable - the posts are there for real-time (ish) chat and craic, not as a lockbox of information. The thread is not the community, the community make the thread. It shouldn't make a difference whether it's the old thread or the new one. I'm just utterly baffled about the massive overreaction - especially considering that the thread has been restarted. Little or nothing has been lost - the community still has their offtopic thread. But then I don't understand the appeal of off-topic threads at all.
seamus wrote: » I actually don't see how removing the thread is punishment, I don't understand the fuss about it at all. It's an off-topic thread. Meaning that it's disposable
goodluck2me wrote: » This is simply incorrect, it is not my job as a poster to report others for misbehaving,
seamus wrote: » I disagree. As a member of a community, your interest should be in maintaining and contributing to the community. Reporting posts falls under these headings IMO.
seamus wrote: » Actually, it would be like using the incident to have the pub's licence revoked. Which wouldn't result in "punishment" for its locals, though they would certainly be inconvenienced. I actually don't see how removing the thread is punishment, I don't understand the fuss about it at all. It's an off-topic thread. Meaning that it's disposable - the posts are there for real-time (ish) chat and craic, not as a lockbox of information. The thread is not the community, the community make the thread. It shouldn't make a difference whether it's the old thread or the new one.
seamus wrote: » Actually, it would be like using the incident to have the pub's licence revoked. Which wouldn't result in "punishment" for its locals, though they would certainly be inconvenienced.
seamus wrote: » I actually don't see how removing the thread is punishment, I don't understand the fuss about it at all. It's an off-topic thread. Meaning that it's disposable - the posts are there for real-time (ish) chat and craic, not as a lockbox of information. The thread is not the community, the community make the thread. It shouldn't make a difference whether it's the old thread or the new one. I'm just utterly baffled about the massive overreaction - especially considering that the thread has been restarted. Little or nothing has been lost - the community still has their offtopic thread. But then I don't understand the appeal of off-topic threads at all.
bops wrote: » dev - you're some tosser
seamus wrote: » I actually don't see how removing the thread is punishment, I don't understand the fuss about it at all. It's an off-topic thread. Meaning that it's disposable - the posts are there for real-time (ish) chat and craic, not as a lockbox of information. The thread is not the community, the community make the thread. It shouldn't make a difference whether it's the old thread or the new one.