fatgav wrote: » Courtesy of SPIN South West
thomond2006 wrote: » This is the story I heard: The superintendent handed out the papers. He/She realised her mistake. She took the papers back up and told the students to keep it to themselves. One student told her mother what had happened. The mother subsequently contacted the Department.
Mr.S wrote: » And remember, theres always been a women poet on the paper, so in theory, you could just learn Rich and Bishop tomorow and get a question on one of them.
Mr.S wrote: » Well some of the poets will probally deff come up. So thats fine. The Cultural context will probally come up again, learn one of the other 2 to be fully prepared. As long as you know Macbeth, the single text question should be alright. And remember, theres always been a women poet on the paper, so in theory, you could just learn Rich and Bishop tomorow and get a question on one of them.
!Fr@nge! wrote: » I would really like to clear something up because it's really annoying me. This is absolute bull. The examiner's all collected a huge test for their centre the other day at a big meeting thing. ALL the papers are in this chest for the duration of the exams and only the supervisor has the key, they are responcible for organising them in the box so each paper is arranged in order of when it is on, the envelopes of the exams in the morning are a different colour to those in the evening you may notice. They are NOT stored in the post office or a garda station - bull.
That_Guy wrote: » Has everybody gotten over the shock of having the paper on Saturday yet or is there still mass hysteria on the streets? Just go and study. You'd have been in an exam now anyway so don't waste your time posting here when you can do something more constructive.
leesmom wrote: » at stevo and likely lass email from cian.everyone, I have been inundated with questions for students regarding the new paper. Firstly from what we know about the first paper you should be very happy that you were well prepared. This will still hold true for the new paper. Given the intense media pressure I sincerely doubt that Saturday will be any different. It will be fair. Make sure that you have five poets prepared and that you know your central characters well. Many of you have asked me to put on an extra class. I have checked with the school and unfortunately this is not possible. The rooms are all being used by the state exams commission. Also there would probably be little value in such an exercise as I feel there is little I could say that we have not done already. So, what you need to do now is stay calm. Everyone has been affected by this and SEC will take this into account. I have spoken to my friends who are involved with the examinations process and they assure me that it will be a good paper on Saturday. Needless to say if you need anything please email me. Could you pass this mail on to anyone you know who was in the institute. Best of luck,
Frolick wrote: » Wait a sec... One thing is really bothering me, I heard that (poetry) Bishop, Longley and Keats came up. You think that it is changed on the other paper? Wait i sec, i just got a text *reads it*... Now this is confusing, They said that "the questions will vary between the two papers but the material on it can be the same. the examiniers won't mark hard" I just got that there and my reaction is WTF! God they really made a balls of this
manutd4life wrote: » meh.i'll study geography and maths paper1 later and then go over english paper3 after my geography exam tomorrow.i should be sorted then
That_Guy wrote: » The marking scheme will be the exact same. You'd be naive to think that it'll be marked any easier because of this mistake. Just go about your studies and never mind what people on here are saying and what texts or calls you may be receiving. Speculation is always going to be rife but don't let it get to your head. Study as normal and all this speculation can wait.
Frolick wrote: » Well on the brightside we have a HelpLine lol
That_Guy wrote: » Glad to see you won't be wasting your time. Fair play.
That_Guy wrote: » I can only imagine the questions they're getting. "So what's the paper going to be like?" "What happens if paper 2 gets leaked?" "Why am I ringing you when I know I should be studying?" "Hello is John there please?"
LivingDeadGirl wrote: » I emailed examinations.ie requesting english be moved to Saturday the 13th, anyone else done anything similar?
manutd4life wrote: » i would be tempted to prank call them.
Sweet wrote: » I'm getting quite cheesed off by all this.We were handed the paper,we informed the superintendent quite quickly and he seemed distraught that he had committed such a grave error.Never once did he attempt to cover up what he did or absolve himself of responsibility, I really feel for him,he was a lovely man and it was a genuine mistake.As for holding louth accountable surely you're having a laugh. It's funny how appreciative yous were before the issue gained national exposure.How fickle the mob mentality.
manutd4life wrote: » i take it you were in that school in drogheda. it was a genuine mistake but it has really stressed out a lot of people but for some reason not me.i just dont seem to get stressed
That_Guy wrote: » I think studying would be the better choice than ringing them up and tell them you've ordered thousands of pizzas to their office.