padlad88 wrote: » Hey all handed my gr2 form into my local station about a week ago just wanted to find out what happens next and how long it takes?any one else in the same boat as me?
innercitydub1 wrote: » Hey zone alarm glad to hear your medical is for march Just a quick question how long did your security check take im waiting up 2 close to a year now for mine and i applied in November 2007 everyday when i get a phone i call i hope its them ah well
innercitydub1 wrote: » hey zone alram no i rang them up and they told me my backround checks are still ongoing. Dont no how its taking so long as i sent my backround check forms in last may. Does anybody no whats involved in the process of carrying out security checks as im puzzled as to how it could take so long
innercitydub1 wrote: » None of my family on my background check live in Scotland. But i did put down that i lived there for over a year when i played for hamiltions accies youth team. could this be what is taking it so long?? And also i have noticed when i ring the Garda with regards to my file it is very hard to get information that is to do with my file all there allowed say is that your background checks are still ongoing. Would they be able to anser me if i was to enquire for them to check up on my background check to see where the hold up is???
billyhead wrote: » Lads, In relation to the BR2 form you fill out after the initial interview and written report test, does the garda you get in the local station to sign it send the form off to Headquarters or do you send it yourself? Also do you have to sign it yourself in his prescence and hand him the refrences to send off
billyhead wrote: » Thanks StiofanD, Would you have an idea as to how long roughly after I submit the form (which I will do tomorrow) that I have to go for the medical and station interview and also does the station interview take place in your local station?
ZoneAlarm wrote: » Depending on your background checks and if you have family in other countries this will be the longest part of the wait The interview will take place at your local station with the Sargent in charge that should only take about 20 min to half an hour
stiofanD wrote: » For me, it was about a month after submitting the form that I was called for an interview at the local station. I just had the one interview with an Inspector, but others have been interviewed by Sergeants and Superintendents, so I think it depends on the district that you are in. After that, it was about 2 months until the medical and then phase 1 training began about 7 weeks after the medical. Just to note that everyone has had different experiences during the application process, some went through the whole thing in 3 months, and for others it took a number of years. Either way, hang in there - it'll be worth it!
innercitydub1 wrote: » I wish i was in your position im waiting nearly 2 years and my backround checks are still ongoing
ZoneAlarm wrote: » yep i was waiting a long time as well thought i would never get there now im nearly there just the medical to get thru Anybody that has done the hearing test how hard is it i read some people saying that its hard to make out what is the % that fail on the hearing does anybody have any idea
stiofanD wrote: » The hearing test is a bit tricky, and I found myself panicing a bit and imagining that I was hearing the beeps half way through. However after the test, the nurse could see quite clearly from the printout that I'd lost the run of myself half way through the test and she let me take it again. I passed it no problem second time around. The trick is to relax and don't second guess yourself. If you hear the beep, press the button, if you don't, then don't!
sf94 wrote: » Hi All, I had my interview for the Reserves 2 weeks ago and just received word that I have passed that stage. I've been reading through this thread for a while.....lots of great advice that helped me prepare for the interview so thanks to all for that. Now its on to the GR form which, as has been pointed out, is pretty daunting! I just have a few quick questions about references that I was hoping someone could help me with: 1. It asks to give the name of a member of AGS who I know that would be willing to support the application....problem is I dont know any members. Anyone else in this situation and how did you handle it? 2. It asks to provide a reference from my current employer....I have recently been made redundant so dont have a current employer and cant really get a personalised reference from them (a large multi-national that only gives generic references i.e. “John worked for this company for X years etc”)...any advice on what I should do for this? 3. The other reference (someone know to you for 5 years) who should this be? Would a certain type of person/age/profession be looked on better as a referee? Can you use a friend as a reference (all aged around 30 with “professional” occupations)....or would a priest/former teacher or something be better? Thanks, sf
sf94 wrote: » Hi All, I had my interview for the Reserves 2 weeks ago and just received word that I have passed that stage. I've been reading through this thread for a while.....lots of great advice that helped me prepare for the interview so thanks to all for that. Now its on to the GR form which, as has been pointed out, is pretty daunting! I just have a few quick questions about references that I was hoping someone could help me with: 1. It asks to give the name of a member of AGS who I know that would be willing to support the application....problem is I dont know any members. Anyone else in this situation and how did you handle it?
2. It asks to provide a reference from my current employer....I have recently been made redundant so dont have a current employer and cant really get a personalised reference from them (a large multi-national that only gives generic references i.e. “John worked for this company for X years etc”)...any advice on what I should do for this?
3. The other reference (someone know to you for 5 years) who should this be? Would a certain type of person/age/profession be looked on better as a referee? Can you use a friend as a reference (all aged around 30 with “professional” occupations)....or would a priest/former teacher or something be better?
Thanks, sf
stiofanD wrote: » Eh.. no it doesn't, unless the form has changed since I filled out out. I believe it asks for a reference from your current employer and from one other person who is not a member of the Guards and not related to you. It must have changed....for reference section 15 there is now an a) and b) section....the a) section asks you to "Give the name and Station of any member of An Garda Síochána known to you and who would be willing to recommend your application" and then the b) section is the other references. So if anyone can recommend what I could do for this reference it would be greatly appreciated!!!
DubNorth wrote: » I heard that the grad was being scheduled for 26 March but apparently it is now being scheduled for 23 April