stiofanD wrote: » There are three members of the GR being interviewed on Radio 1 (Tubridy show) right NOW!
Nick85 wrote: » Do any of ye know the answer to this question? When the Garda reserve force was proposed originally a few years, the AGS was totally against it (if I remember correctly) and then after some time they agreed to go with it... does anybody know the reasons why they were originally against it?
grandslam wrote: » Hi, thinking of applying, have a friend who is in city centre station, says some reg force mambers are great, but has an underlying feeling of never being fully integtated, also lack of powers frustrating him, any thoughts elsewhere ? Thanks.
DubNorth wrote: » Sallies23 - I am a member of the reserves and am hoping to go away for a year later on in the year, did you find out if we can rejoin?
KIERAN61 wrote: » I think what the CS was really alluding to here is the extra obstacle circuit training thing they do in Templemore which is timed.This element we Reserves do not have to do.
Murphy(Cork) wrote: » I have done the medical for both the Reserves and Regulars and as far as I can see, they are actually the same.
lehanemore wrote: » Ten minutes squeezed in at the end of the programme, Mooney spent a lot of time talking with the Chief Super about women in the Gardai and how many have gone up through the ranks etc then an interview with a 60 year old grandmother from Killkenny that is in the reserves the Chief Super said the medical for the reserves is not as strict as it is for the regulars, two weeks after the doctor at HQ told me it was exactly the same... she also confirmed that only 20 out of every 1000 applicants were gettong through.
lehanemore wrote: » I have no doubt that it is the same, I think she was trying to encourage people to apply by making it sound easier than it actually is. There was nothing easy about the medical the day I did it, the two before me failed, two big lads, strong looking feckers too, both had BMI over 30 so back to the start again.
lehanemore wrote: » the Chief Super said the medical for the reserves is not as strict as it is for the regulars, two weeks after the doctor at HQ told me it was exactly the same...
lehanemore wrote: » Mooney is on from 15:00 to 16:30 today.:cool:
freddiew wrote: » Just not true, I can only speak for the Reserves and recruitment is NOT on hold. I was at a meeting tonight for all reserves in the DMR and C.S. Fitzgerald said they were doing heavy advertising in the country as they need more country people to apply. C.S. Fitzgerald with be on "Mooney" RTE 1 Radio Wednesday afternoon(today)
baton charge wrote: » Hi all,The talk around my station is that recruitment to both the full time and Gr's is to be put on hold.Understandable really in the current climate. Effective from when? Can anybody else substantiate this.
Sallies23 wrote: » Hi TheNog Yes I will do, hopefully it would be allowed but I will let you know when I find out. I really really want to join the reserves, there is a good chance that I will be made redundant in my job next year which could give me the opportunity to head off for a year and ride out the recession for a while. Though if GS have a recruitment drive before then that could change depending how the reserves go for me. I will see what happens.
wex wrote: » given that most of the chatter about the reserve force on boards has been "curtain twitching busy bodies", I doubt that anyone would actually admit to being a member. Saying that a mate of mine is a member of the pilot scheme, and all is going well, as usuall the press reports are over exagerated, she has had no problems other than getting the time to fit in the training, which is far from the 48 hours published and banded about by the gra.
boardsbandit200 wrote: » Hi I've posted a few things about the reserves on this forum. Ive been in the reserves for a nearly two years now and i want to say that it is a great voluntary organization to be part of- tonight i will go in to assist gardai. i still learn something new every night because every night is different. I don't have a bad word to say about other gardai- all in my unit have grown to accept me for what i do and who i am and not a negative comment has been made towards me- only that all of us reserves have to be a bit mental to their job for free:). I wouldn't give up the position for anything and i look forward to every weekend that i work. "A volunteer is someone who works for a community or for the benefit of environment primarily because they choose to do so" we're the way we are right now because people have taken too much and not given anything back
boardsbandit200 wrote: » we're the way we are right now because people have taken too much and not given anything back