LightningBolt wrote: » There was no viable party alternative in 2007 (Kenny was shown up by Bertie imo and a lot others too)
LightningBolt wrote: » I didn't say I voted FF:rolleyes: Funny enough the TD in my area who does the most ground work is actually a FF member. Besides the point. What I and countless others are looking for in the coming years is a man/woman at the head of a party who has a strong sound economic plan for the country that in the short term will reduce our deficit to an acceptable level whilst in the long term will allow us to remain competitive on the global stage, provide a healthcare system that looks after those who need it and an education system that's capable of producing graduates that will lead to the development of a real knowledge based economy. So you're saying anyone who didn't vote for FF is absolved of any blame for this current mess whatsoever? Actually, you're right.:rolleyes:
LightningBolt wrote: » I didn't say I voted FF:rolleyes: Funny enough the TD in my area who does the most ground work is actually a FF member. Besides the point.
What I and countless others are looking for in the coming years is a man/woman at the head of a party who has a strong sound economic plan for the country that in the short term will reduce our deficit to an acceptable level whilst in the long term will allow us to remain competitive on the global stage, provide a healthcare system that looks after those who need it and an education system that's capable of producing graduates that will lead to the development of a real knowledge based economy.
So you're saying anyone who didn't vote for FF is absolved of any blame for this current mess whatsoever? Actually, you're right.:rolleyes:
cornbb wrote: » Lemme guess, you don't like Enda Kenny's haircut or his accent.
colly10 wrote: » Or maybe its that he doesn't agree with a word that comes out of the guys mouth, that Kenny lad is an awful gob****e. I will NEVER vote for FG while he leads the party
LightningBolt wrote: » I've got a quick rant to make. People who blame the current mess on voters who put FF back in power in 2007 are really beginning to piss me off. There's numerous threads in different forums/sites and a number of them have posters telling people "it's your fault for voting FF, you should have voted FG,Labour etc". There was no viable party alternative in 2007 (Kenny was shown up by Bertie imo and a lot others too) and worryingly there's still no viable alternative in 2009. I'd rather see FF fall deeper and deeper into this mess and see the party ruined (unlikely though). That's better, I'm off to build the last of my snowmen army now.:D
Septic Leper wrote: » FF are dirty short sighted cnunts that love brick laying.Make the party rich and let everyone else clean up the left overs ,same **** different decade
cornbb wrote: » So you'd rather re-elect a bunch of proven failures back into power again and again and again rather than give another party a go? How are any other party not a viable alternative? How on earth do you think that anyone else would do a worse job? Lemme guess, you don't like Enda Kenny's haircut or his accent. That attitude sickens me and it has partially led us to where we are today: a government that are so long and cosy in their position that they have completely lost touch with reality - they don't have a clue whats going on. Why would they bother when they know the likes of you will re-elect them no matter how sh*t a job they do? 12 years is far too long. And you sir, and the thousands of others who won't punish a bunch of miserable failures by removing them from power, are to blame.
The current government have failed to do any of this. How many chances do they need? Shouldn't someone else be given a go? Its pretty difficult to assess how any potential Taoiseach/Minister will do before they are elected, whats the worst that can happen?
Karisini wrote: I'm not sick of people complaining about FF voters; I'm sick of those who dismiss the others with excuses such as "they'd do no better." Give them a chance surely? You'll never know until you try.
cornbb wrote: » You only have a feeling that Enda Kenny is awful whereas Cowen has proven that he is awful. I'm no Enda Kenny fan either but I can't see him doing a worse job than Cowen.
cornbb wrote: » It was critical for Cowen to show himself to be a strong leader today and he really didn't do it for me, or anyone else I've spoken to. He looked so defeated. Enda Kenny stuttered and stumbled through his speech but I felt there was a bit of substance to it. Cowen looked deflated and clueless, Kenny was straining at the leash to be given a go at running the place.
Rb wrote: » Indeed and likewise, it's shocking that so many still claim that "they're all the same or " they'd do no better". The amount of voter ignorance in this country is astounding, but we're still a long, long way from the loldemocracy that is the USA, thankfully.
colly10 wrote: » To me, coming out with stuff like, "ah sure they couldn't do any worse" is equally ignorant
colly10 wrote: » Cowen is under immense pressure and is aware of how bad things are, putting a positive spin on it would only be fooling the Irish people into thinking things are better than they are.
I didn't see Kenny's speech but the guy is under no pressure, this is his time to shine and if he's stumbling through his speeches now (most of which come across as over rehearsed bul****) then you gotta wonder what he'd be like if he was under the pressure Cowen is under
Myxomatosis wrote: » I don't see the problem with Enda Kenny. I think it's gotten to a stage where it's "cool" to dislike him / make fun of him.
cornbb wrote: » He won't stand up to the social partners. He has all the leadership qualities of a sardine.
colly10 wrote: » Think of someone who annoys ye, pat kenny, gerry ryan maybe, now multiply that by a thousand and ye get an idea what I think of him.