Darragh29 wrote: » I'm so angry about this...
marcsignal wrote: » well i guess you can choose to interpret it that way mike65, but nobody is suggesting turning the army on anyone:rolleyes:, but rather reassuring the good people in East Wall that their government is not going to throw them to the wolves in the face of adversity, but will be prepared urgently pull out all the stocks available to protect them instead.
marcsignal wrote: » I'm with you on that, I'm extremely angry too, it's an outrage, and I'm seriously considering looking into whats involved in organising a protest.
BastardPrince wrote: » when a district goes above a certain points total at the end of the 3 months, they are placed under Martial Law until their crime drops below the required rate subject to 3 month reviews! done and done!
Wicknight wrote: » Protect them how exactly? What do you expect the Army to do? Stand beside every teenage over 10 and under 19 with a gun for the next 20 years?
Liam Byrne wrote: » Find the scum responsible. Be 100% certain that it's them. Then shoot the scum in a VERY public place, live on TV and YouTube or whatever these scum watch, as a possible future deterrent.
Wicknight wrote: » Step 1) District's crime rate too high Step 2) Army comes in EDIT to support the Garda ERU EDIT Step 3) EDIT Scumbags Harassed Purged and Arrested where applicable EDIT Step 4) Crime rate drops
Wicknight wrote: » Again, what exactly do you think the Army will do, beyond shooting people?
tech77 wrote: » 2) a couple of liberal dissenters (with no real experience of the reality of antisocial scummers) .
Cougar1 wrote: Let me guess, you must be mork from dalkey.....
Deleted User wrote: » So Hagi,what were these lads like?Were you friends with them?
marcsignal wrote: » see post #379 i'm off for a pint now, so i'll be sensible and come back tomorrow
Wicknight wrote: » Yes but your idea is that they will stand beside the police ... why? If you have armed police there dealing with people throwing eggs why do you need the Army?
HAGI wrote: » i was just shocked to hear about a murder didn't think id see the day ,
HAGI wrote: » why quote me ? just wondering i knew about the abuse just a murder ? seems even far for them obviously not ..... i was just shocked to hear about a murder didn't think id see the day
Easteregg wrote: » The Guards have their hands tied and this applies to everywhere. They know who they are but what can they do? Turn their pockets out all the time? The days of ruffing them up are gone apart from the odd case that crops up in an accusation. Honestly, the laws we have in the country don't give the guards much to play with. They can track a gang member for six months and finally have something on him and then he's out on bail and does what the fu.k he likes and then goes inside for six and he's back out. It is a joke, just like the comment made earlier that this guy who shot Aidan will come out in two years when he's 18 and he'll be Mr Big in East Wall.
marcsignal wrote: » has it not been established that this 13 yr old boy is actually a 16 yr old ? I'm not going to comment on whether he should be strung up or not, but I will say i'm sometimes slightly amused by some of the reactions of some posters that would appear to lean to the left on these issues, who may say: "poor little johnnie, but he's had a very hard and unstable upbringing you know" I'd guess (and it's just a guess mind), that if this individual was a serial paedophile or rapist, the feminist left would want to cut his balls off without delay. If he was a right wing skinhead who torched a centre for Asylum Seekers and burned several of them to death as they slept, many of those leaning left would want him strung up from the nearest lamp post. Its just my observation, that peoples principles can sometimes be very 'wishy washy', depending on the circumstances.
dan719 wrote: » Yes I am left leaning as you say i.e a liberal with all the connotations that entails, and may I simply offer the following as an answer to your claim about wishy washy principles, no offence against any persons warrants the death penalty nor some of the extreme punishments offered as 'solutions' to such crimes. The death penalty is inhumane and should not be a part of any thinking culture. In response to the insults, I am indeed a gay atheist. So I suppose that fits a given stereotype. Do I give a damn whether the poor dead man is hetero or homosexual, no. Do I give a damn about the (as was pointed out) sixteen year olds sexuality? I'm sure that when subjected to intelligence and personality tests he will score subnormal, do I think this absolves him of blame?No Do I think that society as a whole has failed? Yes, in terms of gun control, in terms of provision of education, in terms of curtailing anti social behaviour? Yes I do. Is my response to shoot everyone wearing Burberry? No.
Darragh29 wrote: » What in the name of Jesus Christ Almight Tonight has your sexuality or indeed anyone's sexuality got to do with this discussion???
dan719 wrote: » I was merely responding to the claim made of the stereotypical bleeding heart wshy washy liberal. I can edit it out if you like.
tech77 wrote: » Would this be a fair summary of the last few pages: 1) A good few posters, many from East Wall (or other areas affected by oppressive antisocial behaviour) who have to deal with this sh1t on a daily basis, crying out for harsher punishment of these scummers (knowing well that rehab/the softly-softly approach can only do so much). 2) a couple of liberal dissenters (with no real experience of the reality of antisocial scummers) espousing lofty ideals and tut-tutting at anything other than rehabilitation.
marcsignal wrote: » In this case I would suggest a task force made up of Armed ERU Gardai, Army Personnel, and Uniformed Gardai (Possibly Armed). The Gardai would esentially be in overall Command of such a Task Force. * What would the Army do exactly? Just be a presence?? Yes and No. They could be there as a visible show of muscle, but essentially a backup to the ERU. Every small Patrol could consist of, an ERU Garda in command of an Army Section (2 NCO's and six? men). * Would you give them the power to restrain people? Even arrest people?? That would be at the discretion of the ERU Garda in command of each section, because, esentially, he would be the one giving the orders.* Would you train the army in civil law so this would be legit? This would be a special task force, so some training would be needed. This is certainly do-able, the EU policed the former Yugoslavia, Kosovo and other places. Irish Gardai served there (I know this because my brother in law was one of them) and worked hand in hand with the Military forces stationed there.* Or are you just looking for a uniformed vigilante group to be present? Definitely NOT. I accept that this suggeation seems drastic, but armed gangs cannot be allowed to operate with impunity in this country. They are threatening the very fabric of our Democracy, they are destroying lives, undermining our National Security, and MUST be removed from the equation, before they totally destroy a whole generation of vulnerable children, and murder anyone else.
OK-Cancel-Apply wrote: » Some of the replies here, although entirely predictable, are despicable. Some people think the solution to violence is.... even more violence. It's hard to stomach posts like "I hope the Gardai beat them up" getting thanks. The Gardai already beat up scumbags. (And they're not supposed to). And another post the says something along the lines of, "Ah the PC brigade - I don't know how anyone could think we should tolerate these scumbags". Who said anything about tolerating crime?? By 'tolerating' scumbags, I assume you meant 'not advocating a mob vigilante beating/killing'. If you call ordinary people in Ireland 'liberals', how far entrenched into bone-headed ignorant fascism do you have to be? Anyway, it's good to see the intelligent people, like Wicknight, talking sense as usual.
Zulu wrote: » When it comes to social regeneration, and trying to improve and area, people won't be keen to move into an area that has uniformed soldiers on the streets.