Ro: maaan! wrote: » It's the equivilant of an atari jaguar option
toiletduck wrote: » Good idea! I put down "No religion" but next time it's Atari Jaguar all the way :pac:
Aodan83 wrote: » How many people do you think we could get to put in atari jaguar as their religion in the next census?
ordinary_story wrote: » I'm baptised church of Ireland NOT roman catholic but am still christian.
murfie wrote: » OK hold it, disrespecting peoples religion and right to put down whatever they please on a census form is not on. Calling people sheep and idiots because of their religious view is more close minded and biased than the people you claim are religious and you brand this way yourselves!
Zebra3 wrote: » It's idiots who answer that they are catholic when they are not that allow the papists to control too much of education.
Galvasean wrote: » My household has four people in it. One atheist, one agnostic, one deist and a non-practicing 'Catholic'. Yet, when the non-practicing 'Catholic' filled in the form (never asked me about it BTW) she said all 4 were Christian. Apparently this happens a lot.
murfie wrote: » I dont want to single people out but here you are. If I consider myself a catholic non practising or whatever who has a right to tell me that I cant but that on a census form. Thats as bad as the bible beaters that go around saying you must believe in god!
fryup wrote: » the way i look at it is this... you've got your catholics and you've got your protestants...who just go through the motions and then you've got the ones who take it seriously i.e. the born again christainswent to one of there meetings before and ive could have screamed with boredom & frustration everyone was so reserved & squirrely... i mean come on don't take it so seriously!!
knoxor wrote: » Just a question for anyone who is a non-practicing Christian. Why are you non-practicing ? If I was a racing driver and stopped racing, I wouldn't consider myself a racing driver anymore.
Just because you believe in a "god" or whatever - turning up phyically to a building on a regular basis proves nothing! You can be a religious moral person by your daily acts and thoughts. Turning up once a week at a building to hear a man dressed in a frock and throw coins in a basket, does not make you a Christian either!
I seem to remember from alot of american television, being a good person meant you were being christian but I think alot of that was because of thir ignorance of other faiths.
HalloweenJack wrote: » Me and my sister are both declared non-theists. My brother describes himself as a lapsed Catholic and my mother hasn't been to mass in years but would still call herself a Catholic. Despite that, she always writes that we are all Catholics on the census. I think, considering our history, most people here cannot accept not having a religious identity.
cornbb wrote: » I'd have no problem in describing myself as an atheist. While many of my moral views would overlap with christian morals (as they would overlap with islam morals, buddhist morals etc), I'd reject the notion that I am a catholic because I was essentially born a catholic. But a lot of people think that if you have a baptism cert the catholic church somehow have a claim on you for life, I'd strongly disagree with that. Its up to the individual to choose what they think their religious affiliations are.
I'd have no problem in describing myself as an atheist. While many of my moral views would overlap with christian morals (as they would overlap with islam morals, buddhist morals etc), I'd reject the notion that I am a catholic because I was essentially born a catholic. But a lot of people think that if you have a baptism cert the catholic church somehow have a claim on you for life, I'd strongly disagree with that. Its up to the individual to choose what they think their religious affiliations are.
Biggins wrote: » Thank you. Thats exactly how my wife and I feel. Well put. We will be hoping to share to our offspring the same thoughts. (We refused to have them baptised into an organisation we both felt was not acting in the manner they would have ourselves do)
cornbb wrote: » Obviously if devout catholic parents want to raise their kids as catholic thats fine, thats their own business. But for everyone else to be doing it just because its the "done thing" is wrong, in the grand scheme of things.
Biggins wrote: » Turning up once a week at a building to hear a man dressed in a frock and throw coins in a basket, does not make you a Christian either!
fryup wrote: » the done thing..you're right there in ireland being catholic is more clanish /tribalistic than a spiritual/religous thing its all to do with our colonial/sectarian past imo