Relevant wrote: » It will promote employment & job creation. It will increase the tax take It will decrease National Debt It will boost consumer confidence
SheroN wrote: » and spending the majority of your disposable income in a different economy
PauloMN wrote: » But then what about the Irish courier who delivered the camera to me? Poor fella would be jobless if I drove to HN and bought it there. Swings and roundabouts. Anyway, there's no way I'd fork out €150 extra just to buy a camera here from a shop. If you are happy to do so, that's your business. All I am saying is that the guilt trip some people are dishing out is ridiculous.
Dinter wrote: » I don't agree that it'll do any of that. If we were talking about people who did all of their shopping in Newry then perhaps, but we're not. Tbh I would be happy to pay extra PAYE however I'm most certainly not happy to pay extra VAT etc. I know most people would probably consider it all the same thing but as far as I'm concerned increasing taxes is an admission of the Government's failure and one I think they owe the electorate. Until they do they can go fcuk themselves frankly as I don't see them changing their already failed policies and I have no confidence that any extra money I give them will be used more thoughtfully then the thousands of mine they've already blown. They can live with the consequences of their failure by handing the opposition the next election on a plate or they can continue to hide behind cynical calls of patriotism and increased shadow taxes. Either way if you buy into it you're making a mistake. Bailing this Government out is a waste of money.
PauloMN wrote: » Jaysus, I know I eat a lot at Xmas, but I do spend the majority of my disposable income here!!! Thanks for the yardstick though, you eventually gave the answer to the question. Those who spend > 50% of their disposable income elsewhere = ruining the economy Those who spend < 50% of their disposable income elsewhere = grand lads just looking for the odd bargain
Judah Unimportant Wheel wrote: » I will not spend double or tripple for the same food just to save our economy.
SheroN wrote: » I find that chain of stores to be very pricey.
Vegeta wrote: » What % of products in ROI Supermarkets (for example) are actually Irish? What % of products in NI Supermarkets actually come from the ROI? Anyone know?
SheroN wrote: » They employ Irish people, the VAT on goods bought in the supermarkets goes to the Irish government.
Relevant wrote: » It is not about people going North to buy 200 cans of Heineken and 12 tins of roses before Christmas. It is about people buying irish and supporting Irish industry on an ongoing basis.
gazzer wrote: » The government knew the housing boom could not last forever but did they plan properly for the day when our economy started shriking. Did they fc*k. They just threw money away on everything and anything. Look at PPARS and Electronic Voting for some examples.
gazzer wrote: » I do not feel one bit quilty about going to where the bargains are. My responsibilty is do do the best for my family. It is the governments responsibility to look after the economy and they have f*cked up royally.
Terry wrote: » Been in an Irish supermarket lately?
quad_red wrote: » I agree wholeheartedly. But I think this is a different issue. So, what you are saying, is that you have absolutely zero responsibility when it comes to how you spend your money. No matter how this affects the economy or society, it is the government's responsibility absolutely and totally. And because our government are a bunch of incompetent buffoons, and have screwed up even more, you are even more determined not to spend your hard earned money down here. Do you think that maybe the 'doing those cheating bastards in government' excuse will just about cover any behaviour now? As in - look at me! I'm giving Brian Lenihan exactly what he deserves now by not paying any tax on what I'm buying. In theory - if taken to it's logical conclusion - that logic would sink us all.
Vegeta wrote: » No ****, really. I ask because the government will not miss the VAT, its a drop in the ocean, nor have I heard of vast lay offs at Tesco What does hurt is Irish companies who manufacture or supply the products. it would be interesting to see how much these industries sell in the ROI and NI
Vegeta wrote: » No ****, really. I ask because the government will not miss the VAT, its a drop in the ocean, nor have I heard of vast lay offs at Tesco
Relevant wrote: » I believe the phrase is cutting your nose to spite your face
SheroN wrote: » Well they employ people who will most likely go on and spend their money else where in the economy. :-)
Relevant wrote: » How is it a drop in the ocean? Maybe the VAT of one person is a drop i the ocean but if loads of people are continuously crossing the border to do shopping this all adds up
SheroN wrote: » PauloNM didn't seem to grasp this fact so I was making it clear.
keefg wrote: » Or send most of their earnings out of the state "back home" to set themselves up nicely when the good times have come to an end in Ireland.
Judah Unimportant Wheel wrote: » Well we done it throughout history did we not? It works both ways mate.
PauloMN wrote: » I understand it perfectly. What you don't seem to understand is that driving people up North to shop is a symptom of over-pricing. The minimum wage here is hugely responsible for the price hikes here, and the unions are responsible for pushing that up to excessively. The big retailers here have also been making huge profits over the past few years. I guarantee the likes of Lidl and Aldi will only do better out of this - why? Because they charge realistic prices. You cannot blame a bit of Xmas shopping up North for causing economic problems. The government sat by and watched while all this was happening during the Celtic Tiger. Every economist saw this coming years ago, and yet we see ridiculous pay agreements being pushed through, and the most disorganised and ineffecient public service and health service wasting millions of euro. Blame the government for letting this happen, not Xmas shoppers in Newry.
SheroN wrote: » Why were you harping on about giving your money to an Australian business then?