The Gambler 101 wrote: » clever people
slideways wrote: » As someone who got away with driving on uk plates for 9 months and saved 1800 euro by not clearing it until after July.
slideways wrote: » They looked like a pack of feckin eejits. Imagine the shame if anyone outside of Ireland saw the carry on of them with a cordess drill??
TheNog wrote: » I can't see your point here at all. They had their suspicions, drilled some holes and didn't find anything. So what? They did their job and that's it. Cordless drill??? What do you want them to use.
slideways wrote: » I meant they looked like a crowd of amatuers. And I would be seriously pissed if they had drilled that many holes in a fridge body and the just slobered some silicon sealer on to repair it. They could also have easily drilled through a cable going to a temp sensor in the body or one of the internal lights
slideways wrote: » And I would be seriously pissed if they had drilled that many holes in a fridge body and the just slobered some silicon sealer on to repair it. They could also have easily drilled through a cable going to a temp sensor in the body or one of the internal lights
quirke_folder wrote: » Somebody said that about me and my 06 A4 Sport. I cannot understand, how old do you have to be to have a premium car?
quirke_folder wrote: » I work for a Dundalk company and a lot of the guys and girls live on the Border. Not one shops in the republic, they all head to Newry or Armagh. Some of them are coming to work in NI plate cars. ALL of them have been stopped by customs. Their cars are registered to their mothers address, so is their social security, medical etc etc. The live in the republic and get EURO wages but everything else is UK. Why everything else? Education for their children and cheaper and quicker hospitals is what they are telling me. Oh yeah, icing on the cake. They have cheaper cars.
mickdw wrote: » See on customs tv show, they fined driver of bmw 7 series 5500 euro for no vrt. 18000 vrt also charged. where did they get the fine of 5500 from, customs fella was a happy chappy, must be a well paid job judging by his own vehicle:)
hoganpoly wrote: » mickdw wrote: » See on customs tv show, they fined driver of bmw 7 series 5500 euro for no vrt. 18000 vrt also charged. where did they get the fine of 5500 from, customs fella was a happy chappy, must be a well paid job judging by his own vehicle:) Up to 10% of the Open Book Price, I think.
MYOB wrote: » It goes to the state, and reduces other areas where they take taxation from. Would you prefer another 2% on your income tax there instead?
zoey wrote: » Is income tax in the UK not 20%? What do they pay a higher rate of tax on than us? And if even if they do at least they have something to show for it- decent health and education services and infrastructure!
MYOB wrote: » What UK are you thinking about, cause it sure isn't the one we're joined on to/beside
MYOB wrote: » The North's road network is about as varied as Donegals - horrific country tracks with 30 year old surfacing and similarly old filthy signage all the way to high quality DCs. When you venture in to the traditionaly Catholic areas the main roads are single carriageway with no hard-shoulder - below the standard of many of our national secondaries. You've got an immense 'Grass is always greener' attitude there. Its not. Don't delude yourself - cause its clear you're trying very hard to.
JohnCleary wrote: » A bit OT, but does anyone else think that the particular Custom's officer who lifted that 7-Series is putting on a bit of a show for the camera? I've watched pretty much every episode of Customs since the start, so my perception has nothing to do with him seizing an un-registered car. Just the words he uses, and the way he speaks - sounds as if it's re-hearsed (which I understand quoting laws etc. is, but I mean in general) tripe he's spilling out and doesn't understand what he's saying himself half the time? Maybe it's just me
MYOB wrote: » I'm FROM Donegal! Compare the N15 around Ballyshannon/Bundoran to the regional roads in the county. Thats varied. Last time you 'ventured up that way' was clearly many years ago. The N15 in nearly its entirety is better than Northern Irish A standards. Its better than the main road from London to Edinburgh is after it goes off motorway at that.
slideways wrote: » Its good enough that 3 bikers got caught doing 161mph on it recently... Must have a look for a link, or has it been mentioned here already?
MYOB wrote: » 106mph - http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/south_of_scotland/7660699.stm The ability to speed on a road has nothing to do with how 'good' it is. Doesn't change the fact that the recommended route from the capital of the UK to the capital of Scotland winds through villages, has 20mph zones on it, and for much of its length, lacks a hard shoulder. I'm sure you could do 106mph on a bike on most of our R roads - for short bursts - if you were nuts enough.
slideways wrote: » No, it was 161 mph on the bundoran Bypass, one of the lads was from Dromore West in Sligo, the other 2 from the north. They didnt catch them til Donegal Town