Dudess wrote: » Note to self: Never EVER go to prison.
board om wrote: » another guy i know did 6 months for a motor offence that he didnt even do. he was arrested on a warrant and dragged before the courts. 'apparently' he had been stopped on a motor bike with no tax and insurance but he actually hadnt. obviously someone else had been stopped and had given his name. so when he got to court he was sentenced to 6 months for no tax and insurance and for not turning up at the the original court date. the problem was though that he came from a criminal family and although he wasnt really like the rest of the family, he was tarred with the same brush. and even if he did know who had given his name he couldnt grass them up as it isnt the done thing where he is from. so he had to keep quiet and do the time.
brayblue24 wrote: » Uh huh. Of course he did
board om wrote: » but i am sure he would be hearbroken that brayblue didnt believe his story. i am sure he will be sitting up at night in tears.
board om wrote: » people like him usually have a few charges hanging over them at any one time and what they do is when it comes to answer the charges in court, they get all the cases heard at once and that way the sentences are run concurrently. so if they were caught for 5 differnt crimes, instead of having 5 differnt court cases and gettting a prison sentence for each crime, they own up to all 5 crimes in one go and get them all dealt with in the same court case. and that way instead of getting 5 different sentences of 6 months each, they get all the sentences to run conccurently and they will get one sentence of a year. it also gets them time off for pleading guilty as it saves the tax payer the cost of a trial. burglars and car thiefs would do it a lot. they would get a certain amount of prison time for each car theft or burglary if they were tried in seperate court cases, so when they eventually get caught and they know they are definitly getting a prison sentence, they admit to everything they know they are going to be caught for. they get to court, plead guilty, and get a nice short sentence. and they will even get a further 25% off of the sentence for good behaviour. then it is back out on to the streets and back to business. for this lad it would have just been a charge on top of many other charges so it was easier just to plead guilty and take the concurrent sentence. the alternative would have meant getting one sentence for all the other stuff and then a seperate case for the motor offence, and if he had been found guilty of the motor offence it would have been a seperate sentence. so it makes sense just to plead guilty.
Dudess wrote: » /puts Daily Mail hat on: Great system for the criminal, but pretty unfair and crap for anyone who's a victim of crime.
Dudess wrote: » Did he ever track down who gave his name instead of their own? I SO wouldn't like to be that dude if he did...
Dragan wrote: » You would be suprised Dudess. I know some pretty well who is currently coming up on a murder charge. Seemed like a nice dude, got to know him well enough over a few years to consider him a mate....then all of a sudden this **** happens.It can be pretty tough to seperate the act and the stereotypical personality and life you apply to such people in your head with the reality that this dude who you had pints and laughs with is capable of murder. I mean, he killed someone....he seemed "normal". Subconciously you tend to hold on to the ideal that something went wrong or it was somehow not all his fault. It's an odd one.
ClioV6 wrote: » Not naming who, but..very close relatives. One, 6 months for GBH,put a guy in intensive care. Another, Drug related charges Another, Smuggling Cocaine + Heroin 3 different people, 2 lads and a girl. and yes, they're all grand people..IF you're on their right side
Dave! wrote: » ... Maybe it'll be me! :eek:
Degsy wrote: » They're not the only variables.In mountjoy for example,culchies and dubs kick absolute lumps out of each other.People are ghosted to mountjoy from,say cork if they pissed the screws off.There thier lives are made a total misery,they get piss pots emptied under thier cell doors,have thier stuff nicked and they get slashed with knives made out of toothbrushes.The balance is redressed if a dublin bloke is ghosted to cork or limerick prison,they get battered from the moment they get there.Also Dubs arent part particular about who they fight with,townies dont regard people from donaghmede as being dubs for example,people from one lot of flats could be fueding with people from another lot of flats.Its a ****ed-up place,even without the prevelence of drugs on the wings. as for rapists etc,they're nearly all sent to arbour hill for thier own protection,being known as a grass or a rat will get you the same treatment though,especially if somebody you ratted on is on the same landing as you!
Flipz4Rollz wrote: » 3rd cousin with john nevin(murdered a few years back) Ann is doing a bit of a stretch now
Duiske wrote: » Only Nevin murder I remember was the murder of Tom Nevin by his wife Cathrine.
ClioV6 wrote: » put a guy in intensive care. and yes, they're all grand people
tman wrote: » A mate of mine just got out of prison last month. Was pretty weird going in to visit him, apart from the last time which was a nice and relaxed visit in the low security section... Even got to have a game of footy with him:) He was on a bit of a bad path, and seems to be a changed man for the best now. Went to visit my dad in prison when I was a kid. His words that day will always stick with me... "Never become a ****ing pig" (sounds pretty badass, but he was only in there for an unpaid fine)
Tara Le d'Arion wrote: » Don't forget the free sex. 'Mommy tman, why is daddy wresting?'
HoLLLLLaments wrote: » cool tara is da **** yo