Karlitosway1978 wrote: » The Gaoler then looks after the custody record and prisoners but has no authority to make decisions concerning their detention, etc. Been Gaoler hundreds of times but never member in charge.
Karlitosway1978 wrote: » Just to clarify something here. Member in charge is not automatically the Gaoler. Larger stations operate a system whereas the SHO and member in charge is always a Sergeant who operates both roles. He then authorises a Garda to act as Gaoler. The Gaoler then looks after the custody record and prisoners but has no authority to make decisions concerning their detention, etc. Been Gaoler hundreds of times but never member in charge.
darren254 wrote: » what does SHO stand for??
metman wrote: » In a big custody like Charing Cross where you've about 60 cells, its a busy old job.
stateofchasis wrote: » Some of the mules on here are talking rubbish. For starters, any mule with less than 5 years experience is in no position to criticise the garda reserve. If I was you I would concentrate on keeping my nose clean and never mind about where the resources and funds are coming from or how they being allocated, It's not your decision to make and won't be for some time. I see other people talking about babysitting reserves, sure ur still only babies urselves and if not u were at some stage. What an utterly ridiculous statement to make, bear in mind that some of these lads are 20myears older than ye. By the sounds of it most of the members on here have only passed out a wet week and are doing the rounds in traffic and are talking like they've been taking down gangland criminals and the like. There's more to being a guard than arresting people and If half of them had the same attitude as some of the reserves they'll go far in this job.In the final analysis lads, I'd suggest that you embrace what change comes along otherwise you'll only alienate urself and anyone with any prsopects of promotion will not go far if they're already displaying a bad attitude at this early stage of their career. The type of attitude that has been displayed here by other members is exactly what they're trying to stomp out at the moment.
Karlitosway1978 wrote: » You learn more as a probationer in Store Street, Pearce Street, Blanch, Ronanstown or Coolock compared to ten years in Dublin Airport or Rhode for example.
TheNog wrote: » How dare you slag off Rhode. I grew up there. :cool:
Karlitosway1978 wrote: » And how much service you have means nothing if it was all sitting on your ass in the public office of a sub station in the arsehole of nowhere or a district office compared to someone with 5 years in a busy station. You learn more as a probationer in Store Street, Pearce Street, Blanch, Ronanstown or Coolock compared to ten years in Dublin Airport or Rhode for example.
deadwood wrote: » Typical Traffic Corpse. I guess some pigs are more equal than others, eh?
Joker wrote: » I see members babysitting them on the beat, I mean its a totally different ballgame for them and I think they seem to get in the way in our district, especially on public order work. They're described as immature, volatile and agressive and a bit stuck up. Some members are fed up to the back teeth with them.
Joker wrote: » I've no problem with lads helping the GRs out, they are only learning after all. We're stuck with them and might as well help them out. But I ain't doing it , too risky for my taste.
Joker wrote: » I hate the reserve idea, and the attitude displayed by many of them, just power/status hungry and aggressive tools without a shred of feeling for their fellow man.
Joker wrote: » I have no working experience with reservists.
Joker wrote: » I trust the opinions of my friends and have had drinks with several GRs.
Joker wrote: » The GR scheme is a pathetic stop-gap effort, nothing more. And if you really think that senior management give a flying ****, you are sadly mistaken. They ain't promoted for their ability to change things, they are "yes" men. Always have been, always will be. They only change the things that suit them, i.e. things that do not change the reality of the job.
Bren1609 wrote: » .......
Bren1609 wrote: » What do you mean where are the contradictions??? Did you not read my previous post? I've pointed them out in black and white. Since you're on the Batman theme at the moment, I think your next user name should be Harvey Dent/Twoface. You could even put up a pic, at least then you'd have some excuse for contradicting yourself.
deadwood wrote: » Can a mere garda working on your unit use this excuse not to work with a reserve? What's next - "Aw sarge, it's raining. I can't go out in that - it's too risky":D
Joker wrote: » I hate the reserve idea, and the attitude displayed by many of them, just power/status hungry and aggressive tools without a shred of feeling for their fellow man. If you are different, you will change these attitudes, mine included. Good luck with your application
gordotempo wrote: » Bren1609 is right Joker. Read your own post above how do explain that? Did you think by changing your user name it wouldnt be recognised? You also seem to be getting a bit defensive, the only person talking about threats in here is you. You also said that you have no working experience with reserves and then you make a statement like that. You also talked about full timers babysitting reserves and then you said that you had no problem with lads helping out GR's. It's all in Bren1609s post. So which is it?
deadwood wrote: » The man in the substation has to deal with every call in his area and the files will be waiting for him/her when they return from rest days/holidays. There's no leaving it to the oncomong unit.
Karlitosway1978 wrote: » Not sure I understand this too be honest. Every station has to deal with every call and all members have to deal with their paperwork and files when they come back from leave or rest days as its their files and paperwork.