The almighty me wrote: » Hi, Its amazing to see all the people who come across very well on this thread very concerned about being accepted by the GR, then terrible to hear all the negative press about how the GR is a failure, it is not a failure in my opinion, just a little slower thats all, I think it a great thing and this will be recognised eventually.:)
supra888 wrote: » just read that whole thread on the GR and thought to myself why bother.. i'm a 35 year old sane bloke ( not power hungry hitler type or any of that sh1t )that was considering applying to become a reservist to do something constructive with my free time ,but while i could handle abuse from drunks etc why should i sign up to be treated with distain from people i am trying to help (full time members )...
kilkcat wrote: » well said.why would anyone bother.
Joker wrote: » I respect the GR members who join to assist rather than to act the big boy around their mates. I do not accept the GR as an alternative to regular members, like the govt seem to think. They certainly have a place in the job, but not as substitutes. If we had decent manpower, AND the GR as an assistant rather than a substitute, I would welcome it. Having said that, the GR are not under the same disciplinary system as the full-time members, they do not stand to lose their job and their pension when they mess up. That difference is key. I've heard enough from colleagues to convince me that it isn't worth my job to babysit some of them with more rash tendencies.
ZoneAlarm wrote: » Yes sorry about that What i am saying, is it not possible for the full time members to tell them the right and wrong way. Ok it might look like babysitting them, but it is only for a short period until they know better, is it not better to teach them the correct way, rather than leaving them to their own devices. That way you would know it is been done right, without and worries or concerns, plus it would help them do a better job, and maybe make things easier for all concerned .
Joker wrote: » I've no problem with lads helping the GRs out, they are only learning after all. We're stuck with them and might as well help them out. But I ain't doing it , too risky for my taste.
ZoneAlarm wrote: » So are you saying, that if you where out with a GR one night, and he/she got into difficulty, are you saying that you would not help or back them up, as they would back you up ? Or did i misunderstand you saying, that you would not do it,ie back them up as it is to Risky!! for your taste.?
ZoneAlarm wrote: » And maybe someday, the the Gr will get into traffic as well as the rest just like the Uk have done, i would say it will only be a matter of time before they follow suit here.
Karlitosway1978 wrote: » Zone and Joker, theres a big difference from supporting and helping a reserve with how too do things or if he finds himself under pressure while correctly doing his job (ie a public order prisoner) and covering him when he is acting the dick. Zone, Im pretty sure Joker would not suggest standing back and letting anyone be assaulted regardless of who, where or how.
gilly2308 wrote: » However in relation to the Reserves, again we are very limited, as we are not allowed to be a member in charge, and therefore are not allowed any responsibility for prisoners, are Specials allowed to look after prisoners Metman?
Joker wrote: » I work:eek: in Traffic Corps. I don't go for public order overtime unless I get matched up with a full-timer. If I was a Garda, I would have no choice.