bobbysands81 wrote: » Who are these "guards" you're talking about? Do you mean the Gardai or security "guards" in shops? There's at least 16 spelling and/or grammatical errors in that post... kind makes a mockery of you calling someone else an "uneducated dickhead"... not that I'm calling you that name though just pointing out the irony.
dc69 wrote: » I know a few people in the gaurds,so yeah I have an idea of how much they are paid. As for your other comment,I dont believe you.Can I have some evidence. Any guard I have ever met or any guard I know,are uneducated dickheads and every guard I know,joined the force because they either didnt want to go to college,failed or dropped out or couldnt do anything else. There are some good guardai but not the young guards,they have different motives for joining than the guards of years ago.
GerM wrote: » Karlitosway, I'm not complaining about my job. I love it. But it was more in response to people being adamant that gardai aren't particularly well paid. With respect to OT policy they are well looked after in comparison to private sector employees. I work bank holidays and go in at weekends. It's part and parcel of a lot of jobs in the private sector if you want to be successful and move upwards. I've a decent basic salary so I'm ok with this. If people get well compensated for this in the public sector they should be aware that they've no right to complain. As far as I'm concerned it makes the poor pay argument that people have been employing redundant. They make a decent living from the job.
tallaght01 wrote: » My 2cents is that it's very difficult to generalise about a profession. I fact, it's practically impossible.
tallaght01 wrote: » They stopped me one day, just a routine search for drugs. This is pretty common in tallaght. I don't mind it, to be honest. I think that kind of thing can be pretty proactive. But they were so rude to me. Two of them stopped me with big sour heads on them and just said "so, where are you hiding your drugs?". Then when they searched me without saying a word to me, they found nothing and just said "go on your way then" pretty aggressively, as if I was lucky to be let go!. I replied "That's quite alright, no need to apologise" and yer man went ape.
Tragedy wrote: » Same thing thats killing the health service. Paper work. Try report a crime, try report a guard acting like a power crazed loon -> get ****ed by paperwork. And at the same time, guards are locked into stations or on secondment doing nothing but paperwork all day.
dc69 wrote: » It shows how our country is run,when the government pay guards,2 years in the job 50 grand a year. No wonder people resent the guards.Walking around earning stupid money,when others have to work their arses off.
chalad07 wrote: » i dont think that the analogy of the army applies, presumably these type of commands arise from the need to condition soldiers to unquestioningly follow orders in a combat situation, I just dont see why the guards would need this type of Training. There seems to be some sort of tactic in place to brainwash new recruits into the garda way of thinking. It allows little room for innovation, or new ideas, something that is badly need in the police force, Granted, i have generalised, but it seems that your daughter is an exception, theres not many cops with masters degrees, or any non related degrees. Its people like your daughter that the guards need to concentrate on recruiting
dc69 wrote: » The guards have a choice when they are cruising around as to whether they stop in areas and get out and take drink off kids or do something more proactive.
dc69 wrote: » . Minimal risk of injury,
Lilibet wrote: » The first sentence of my comment above is true.The second one is pure conjecture as I don't have figures to support my assertion.Do you have figures to support yours??? or is it simply an opinion based on the jaded stereotype of the majority of Gardai being uneducated and thick?????
dc69 wrote: » I know but the above post is implying that her daughter was dying in front of a doctors eyes(apperantly the doctor was staring at the wall or something) and he only interviened because she threatened to sue him.I have never heard such a load of crap in my life.
iloverocknroll wrote: » its not actually mary harneys fault its the previous minister of healths fault he screwed everythin up and left mary to pick up the pieces.... i am myself not a very big fan of mary harney i think she could get the finger out but i dont think she is totally to blame.... now where nurses and doctors are concerned i dunno what your local hospital is like but mine you may as well be invisible especially at my age anyway... i when in and out of hospital before xmas and the way i was treated was disgraceful... no human being should of been treated the way i was....
dc69 wrote: » You really dont have a clue,do you? Why not sue Mary Harney,who is responsible for the waiting times.
Lilibet wrote: » I had to visit an emergency dept of our local hospital with a very ill child and had to wait hours while nurses and doctors stood around talking to each other,ignoring my child who was very ill.They saw her sitting there,she was critically ill and they ignored her,nurses and doctors everywhere.Only when I threatened to sue the ar..of them did they intervene to save her life.Is there a Nurse/Doctor Ombudsman,to whom I can complain.....No....Sh...ssh... lets not complain about the saintly nurses or doctors as we will probably need them in our lifetime and we don't want to get on the wrong side of them.One thing is for sure,most people will need them more than they'll need the Gardai,therefore its easy to knock the Gardai for failing to be there instantly when we need them.After all,aren't the Gardai sitting around the station just waiting to respond to my call alone.They have nothing else to do.:rolleyes: At least if there was a Garda there in your situation,they would have intervened even if they had to wait for backup depending on the situation,before doing so.And some of them wouldn't even wait for backup thereby risking their lives .Maybe they were dealing with another situation in Henry/North Earl/Cathal brugha St and couldn't get there as quickly as you wanted them to.
FunkZ wrote: » I had a ten minute confrontation on O Connell Street lasy night, almost got my head torn off by a seven foot fat dope, no Garda anywhere
Eglinton wrote: » A guard with 17 years service only gets €48,695? Really? I was on that within two years. How do they feed their families? Or am I reading those pay scales incorrectly? I know you can make up more with overtime (€31 according to that) but it's not nice to have to depend on overtime.
Lilibet wrote: » Anyone I know joining the guards are either university graduates or Institute of technology graduates. I'm sure they get a few who have the minimum requirement but I'd say they are in the minority.
Shadowless wrote: » Meh, any of my mates who joined the guards either dropped out of college or didn't get in in the first place. I'm sure they get a few graduates but I'd say they're in the minority.