sam34 wrote: » my father used to say that to get into the guards all you have to be is tall and thick! He forgot their parents must be unmarried
chalad07 wrote: » come on though, it's a bit much for a someone that might be 25 to be told when to go to bed, when they can watch tv, when they do anything,
chalad07 wrote: » I know a guard, and he'll freely admit that most of the people he's working with are crap at their jobs - they see it as an easy life. From what i can see the cops dont make much efforts trying to recruit a better standard of people - graduates etc. From what i know there is no 'fast track' program similar to the army cadets. This type of thing would attract better recruits,
Eglinton wrote: » A guard with 17 years service only gets €48,695? Really? I was on that within two years. How do they feed their families? Or am I reading those pay scales incorrectly? I know you can make up more with overtime (€31 according to that) but it's not nice to have to depend on overtime.
newmills wrote: » Recently one sunday night about 11.30 p.m i heard a commotion outside our house. I looked out the bedroom window to see a guard trying to cut open the lock, on the gate of the club they were locked in to!! They obviously had been sleeping or dossing round the back of the hall and when they came to leave, the gates were locked and they couldn't get out. The other guard told the guy to move while he rammed the gate to bust it open. The best laugh is, that the chain and lock are only for show, and had he looked at it properly they would have been out in a flash!! I filmed it with my mobile phone and nearly burst laughing at the pair of eejits!! God loves a trier!!
dutchcat wrote: » sam34 wrote: » my father used to say that to get into the guards all you have to be is tall and thick! He forgot their parents must be unmarried i'm slow on the uptake tonight, i had to read that three times thinking "Wtf" before i got that
chalad07 wrote: » i dont think that the analogy of the army applies, presumably these type of commands arise from the need to condition soldiers to unquestioningly follow orders in a combat situation, Granted, i have generalised, but it seems that your daughter is an exception, theres not many cops with masters degrees, or any non related degrees. Its people like your daughter that the guards need to concentrate on recruiting
ojewriej wrote: » Ok, sorry I snapped at you , I thought you just wanted to have a cheap shot at the guards, but now i see you are actually making a point. I see what you are saying, but look at it this way: When you become a garda, you get a lot of powers over ordinary citizens. Garda managment has to make sure that people who wield these powers have enough discipline not to abuse them. And all the stuff you go through when in templemore teaches you discipline. In a way, it also prepares you for all the inonvieneinces of the job - and there is plenty. It is a good point. All I can say to that is that Garda Siochana recently got a new comissioner. One of the first thing he did was a review of the training process, I believe a full report and reccomendations should be published shortly. A lot of people hope that changes in training is just a begining of a longer process of making Garda Siochana more up to date with the society we live in. And one more thing - 3 years ago the age limit was increased form 28 to 35, in order to attract more mature and more experienced candidates. Just talking to the people who post here on boards, there is plenty of applicants who are in their early thirties, a lot of them with various degrees. I believe we should see the change in the guards, shortly, when they will come out of training.
ojewriej wrote: » I I believe we should see the change in the guards, shortly, when they will come out of training.
chalad07 wrote: » No problem:), That is def a good sign that the guards are trying to attract better candidates, hopefully that will make for a change in the way they do things, Another thing that i dont understand is the level of coruptiom. I'm not talking about the high level Serpico stuff, but the everyday things. A friend of mine got a pulled for talking on a phone while diving. The fact that she knew a guard meant that nothing will come of this and she'll get off. Lucky for my friend, but i dont know if its good practice! We've all heard countless stories like this one, and its not a good sign, and it also seems to be common place in the it's not a minority of cops doing this. I do fell sorry for guards in that there is a certain stigma attached, but sometimes they dont seem to do themselves any favors.
Shadowless wrote: » Meh, any of my mates who joined the guards either dropped out of college or didn't get in in the first place. I'm sure they get a few graduates but I'd say they're in the minority.
Lilibet wrote: » Anyone I know joining the guards are either university graduates or Institute of technology graduates. I'm sure they get a few who have the minimum requirement but I'd say they are in the minority.
FunkZ wrote: » I had a ten minute confrontation on O Connell Street lasy night, almost got my head torn off by a seven foot fat dope, no Garda anywhere
Lilibet wrote: » I had to visit an emergency dept of our local hospital with a very ill child and had to wait hours while nurses and doctors stood around talking to each other,ignoring my child who was very ill.They saw her sitting there,she was critically ill and they ignored her,nurses and doctors everywhere.Only when I threatened to sue the ar..of them did they intervene to save her life.Is there a Nurse/Doctor Ombudsman,to whom I can complain.....No....Sh...ssh... lets not complain about the saintly nurses or doctors as we will probably need them in our lifetime and we don't want to get on the wrong side of them.One thing is for sure,most people will need them more than they'll need the Gardai,therefore its easy to knock the Gardai for failing to be there instantly when we need them.After all,aren't the Gardai sitting around the station just waiting to respond to my call alone.They have nothing else to do.:rolleyes: At least if there was a Garda there in your situation,they would have intervened even if they had to wait for backup depending on the situation,before doing so.And some of them wouldn't even wait for backup thereby risking their lives .Maybe they were dealing with another situation in Henry/North Earl/Cathal brugha St and couldn't get there as quickly as you wanted them to.
dc69 wrote: » You really dont have a clue,do you? Why not sue Mary Harney,who is responsible for the waiting times.
iloverocknroll wrote: » its not actually mary harneys fault its the previous minister of healths fault he screwed everythin up and left mary to pick up the pieces.... i am myself not a very big fan of mary harney i think she could get the finger out but i dont think she is totally to blame.... now where nurses and doctors are concerned i dunno what your local hospital is like but mine you may as well be invisible especially at my age anyway... i when in and out of hospital before xmas and the way i was treated was disgraceful... no human being should of been treated the way i was....
dc69 wrote: » I know but the above post is implying that her daughter was dying in front of a doctors eyes(apperantly the doctor was staring at the wall or something) and he only interviened because she threatened to sue him.I have never heard such a load of crap in my life.
Lilibet wrote: » The first sentence of my comment above is true.The second one is pure conjecture as I don't have figures to support my assertion.Do you have figures to support yours??? or is it simply an opinion based on the jaded stereotype of the majority of Gardai being uneducated and thick?????
dc69 wrote: » . Minimal risk of injury,
dc69 wrote: » The guards have a choice when they are cruising around as to whether they stop in areas and get out and take drink off kids or do something more proactive.
chalad07 wrote: » i dont think that the analogy of the army applies, presumably these type of commands arise from the need to condition soldiers to unquestioningly follow orders in a combat situation, I just dont see why the guards would need this type of Training. There seems to be some sort of tactic in place to brainwash new recruits into the garda way of thinking. It allows little room for innovation, or new ideas, something that is badly need in the police force, Granted, i have generalised, but it seems that your daughter is an exception, theres not many cops with masters degrees, or any non related degrees. Its people like your daughter that the guards need to concentrate on recruiting