gilly2308 wrote: » I have just completed my 40 hours training, and my biggest complaint as well would be that we haven't been given public order. I mostly work Friday or Saturday nights when nearly everything you deal with is public order, so you would hope its something we will get down the line. I can imagine that to keep the GRA happy, that the Gardai had to keep our powers to a bare minimum, but hopefully once people have worked for a year or more in the job, that they will get the likes of public order. I'm sure there are very few reservists who joined this just so they could arrest people, but at the end of the day you don't want to be embarassing yourself, having to let people off, since you haven't the power to arrest them for clear breaches of the peace.
bobbydub wrote: » Just a note to all those thinking of joining the reserve. I have been active now for a year and must say that it has been great. Both the experience and support from the full time members has been a great encouragement. Initially I was very concerned about the overall view of both the GRA and the members in stations. I must say that the past twelve months has been good with a good level of support from all those I have worked with to date. The work has been varied and colorful if nothing else. I would encourage more to apply. Just on a final note this site is a great idea for all those both in training and in service, there is a need for a support network to offer both advice and encouragement to all those in the service. Best Wishes, Bobby
freddiew wrote: » When do the 208 hours start from?
iandromiskin wrote: » Hi Gilly, I'am about to start P4 and was just wondering what hours you worked ? ie. 10pm - 2am ??
gilly2308 wrote: » although in saying that there was a bloke from Donegal in my class who had to stay in a hotel the night before the Phase 1 and Phase 3 courses. Anyway he was told to e-mail the Garda Reserve office in HQ about claiming this back, but I have no idea how he got on with this.
baton charge wrote: » Pat I hear the epaulets are been sourced?? Maybe you should ring Divisionsal headquarters to confirm that your lot are included.
pat1187 wrote: » Those two Garda injured Thursday,its said one of them was of Chinese nationality,Is it Ke Sheng,one of the first reservists?
bobbydub wrote: » Hi Geo 1212, I am DMR South.
Dee5 wrote: » Hiya anyone here in Dublin that has been attested or is in training?
pat1187 wrote: » does anyone know anything about the one day Seminar for attested reservists on Jan. 19? I am wondering if is aimed at those with some months experience or aimed at everyone?
geo1212 wrote: » As far as we have been told, it is for all Attested Reservists, we were told we would get an e-mail about the content of the meeting in due course. As yet I hav'nt had the e-mail.
baton charge wrote: » As always a bit hap hazard some of our guys received notification and others didn't.I still think it is worth going to though.
pat1187 wrote: » geo1212 wrote: » As far as we have been told, it is for all Attested Reservists, we were told we would get an e-mail about the content of the meeting in due course. As yet I hav'nt had the e-mail.[/QUOTE Good, it will be nice to know just how committed the upper echelons are about the reserve idea.Sometimes you just wonder. I attested last Thursday along with 45 others, it was a great day all round, and fair play to the Gardai, they put on an excellent day for all of us. Most of the top brass were there including the new commissioner, and you would have to say having listened to Commissioner Murphy, that both he and the Gardai are fully behind the concept of a reserve force. Now while he was highly unlikely to come out at our graduation and state that he didn't support the idea of a reserve force, I definitely felt more comfortable having listened to his speech, and Minister O' Dea who stood in for Brian Lenihan, stated that it was his government's intention to have the reserve force at 10% of the full time force by 2012. Now while the government could get rid of the reserve force overnight if they so wished, why would they bother when it costs them little or nothing (apart from training) and unless some reserve members completely screw up, there is no reason for them not to support the idea. Finally while I know I only attested last Thursday, I hadn't heard anything about this seminar, when and where is it on?
geo1212 wrote: » As far as we have been told, it is for all Attested Reservists, we were told we would get an e-mail about the content of the meeting in due course. As yet I hav'nt had the e-mail.[/QUOTE Good, it will be nice to know just how committed the upper echelons are about the reserve idea.Sometimes you just wonder.
Hagar wrote: » Announcement Can I ask if any of the users with numbers in their names are using their official numbers? If so it makes you very easy to identify. If you have done so in error without realising the implications, drop me a PM and I'll see what I can do.
civdef wrote: » Guys just a quick heads up. Ye might want to be careful about giving details about upcoming courses /seminars etc. These constitute operational details, and may be better communicated among yerselves by PM or email. Remember that as well as the public, senior officers can and will read posts here.
pat1187 wrote: » My number 1187 was my first telephone number (U.S.) in case anyone's wondering.
pat1187 wrote: » lehanmore As I said in another post,don't hesitate to go to your local health board clinic or whomever deals with Birth Certs and ask them for help as its all computerized now.