Xavi6 wrote: » Now before I start this is NOT a garda bashing thread. They do a great job blah blah blah. However they get some nice perks out of it. Take my mate. He's a recently qualified garda, straight out of the sty and full of power. Flashes the badge wherever possible to prevent crime.....or to get a free bag of chips from Macari's. It's unbelievable. Spar down from the station give him and his buddies free coffee in exchange for extra vigilence, he never pays into a nightclub, he can park his car in Dublin Castle all day to do his shopping and only today I've been informed he is on his way to Limerick by train with his buddies on the piss. Did he pay for the ticket? Did he f*ck. Quick badge flash and he's off. What I'm wondering really is this just a perk of the job or should it be stood for? Also does anyone else have stories of rogue guards getting free chicken rolls? P.S. He's also allowed drive a squad car yet is a notorious dodgy driving. I've had a brush with death on at least one occassion. "Cowboys Ted, they're all a bunch of cowboys"
Jeremiah 16:1 wrote: » Ring Joe Duffy on Monday.
Dragan wrote: » Indeed, because the good folk who will reply in this thread have never taken advantage of job perks before. :rolleyes:
Xavi6 wrote: » Don't know if RTE could stretch their budget to ring back a caller on the other side of the world
nice1franko wrote: » I know loads of gardai - everyone of them gets perks like that and lot more besides which I wont go into cos some of them are actually alright and it'd dead handy to have a garda or two on your side
Rob_l wrote: » garda ombudsman has been forwarded a link to this thread FTW
D.T. Jesus wrote: » Knew some gaurd that would always flash her badge to get her and her friends into nightclubs for free etc. If I ever worked anywhere and a guard tried to do anything like that I'd laugh in their face. It's a disgrace tbh.
Xavi6 wrote: » Also does anyone else have stories of rogue guards getting free chicken rolls?
colliegG wrote: » Yeah the guards are disgusting with all their 'perks' of getting into nightclubs free etc. Not like insurance workers with their cheap insurance. Or bank workers with their preferential loans. Or shop workers with their store discounts. Or assorted civil servants with their free parking, subsidised canteens etc. Or bar workers with their late pints after work. Or anyone with flexi time. Or teachers with their half days. I could go on. You know cops can get their stab proof vest replaced, just like that, when it gets splashed with bodily fluids. It's a disgraceful waste of resources really! Point is every job has perks.
jetsonx wrote: » to give you another example: I was in Dublin City Centre two weeks ago - patrol car parked outside an Abrakebabra. Then out comes one of the lads with two bags of food. He hops in the passenger seat, car pulls off the footpath and the driver puts blue lights on straight away. Now either one of two things happened a) they got an emergency call just there OR b) they were putting the lights on to get back to the station quicker and stuff themselves. If it was incident "b" - it it really really annoying that they are harassing the general public everyday for petty things BUT when its comes to obeying the rules of their own organisation - they just flagrantly flout them.
Celticfire wrote: » Why is it a disgrace? It's up to the nightclub owner who they want to let in for free.
Lola123 wrote: » AND they also get FREE injections againts Hepatitis etc! Can you imagine? It's so unfair!
D.T. Jesus wrote: » Because they think they're better than everyone else. "I'm a guard, why should I have to pay". But of course it's the people on the doors of they nightclubs etc that let them get away with it.
Mairt wrote: » How about a €38k per year perk?..
colliegG wrote: » Ah come on now, if you want the best you gotta pay the best.