WIT Christmas Day
So as most of you probably know (or spotted) it was the WIT Christmas Day. An event supported by the college where all the students start there day long drinking session in the Dome student bar at midday and work there way into pubs and clubs in town until closing. An event, which seems to always end in tragedy or serious accidents. Where Ambulance and Gardai are on high alert, probably more then the usual Wednesday student night or weekend nights. As usual, people strolling out onto the street with no sense of danger - ie ignoring cars heading right for them.
Anywho.. was in town with ec18 and two others (non-boardsies!) tonight coming from the Forum (Rory Gallagher tribute band thing). Drove down the usual route past the clubs to see how busy it was. Large crowds of people surrounding the clubs, large ques to enter. Crowds just strolling around, some getting food while some just staring into space. Bit more then your usual Wednesday night!
Just passing Railway Square to spot a group of Gardai giving medical assistance to someone who was clearly passed out. Drink? Probably a factor. Fight? Looked very much like it, since there were a fair few people fighting each other, and one lad had a bloody head, around the Gardai who seemed little interested in arresting these people. Warnings were issued, but the lads didn't care. They continued punching each other. One went that bit to far - the biggest girl out of the group there decided to square up the guard, and was quickly bundled into the back of the van.
The lad on the ground - breathing heavily - was now having seizures, with no sign of an ambulance. Concerned, we decided to update the ambulance. Assuming the Gardai called. Called anyway, to find the girl on the phone to tell me that no ambulance was called. I gave her the details and she said she would send one. For those of you in the medical know-how, you probably know that gardai have only basic first aid. This was shown when they decided to kneel on top of the lad who was having the fit. Correct me if im wrong, but the girl in the car is a first responder and claimed that was incorrect. Getting more concerned, we checked the status on the ambulance. She said they have only one ambulance serving the whole of Waterford (out of two. So, on the busiest night, one ambulance was grounded!) and its "just around the corner".
Time passed, and the guards picked up the lad on the ground and placed him into the van. Two of the people in the car with me (non-boardsies) headed out to tell the guards an ambulance was on its way. They claimed they called the ambulance five times and it still isn't here, so there bringing him to hospital themselves. And so they did, along with the female arrested for trying to fight the guard. Meanwhile, the other lad with a head wound was told to go away or be arrested. Odd, but sure I suppose he was a bit on the drunk side. Oh and we spotted the ambulance as we drove back towards WIT from Railway Square. They were in the Maxol garage, having a break by the looks! Meanwhile.. the guards had to escort a lad to hospital because they couldn't get an ambulance.
So, that's one event that happened tonight. I'm sure we will hear more in next weeks News & Star, or if its anything serious in tomorrow's news. A college supported drinking event, and another incident. Suppose though, this incident would be normal on such nights? I don't go out to the clubs, and if im in town we leave when Jeffs closes.
Was surprised at the amount of **** the cops put up with. Being abused and ignored. Only one arrested at that incident, even though lads were throwing punches at each other! Always knew Waterford had only two Ambulances, but was surprised to see one down and the other in Maxol. Iv always knew the WIT Christmas Day was bad, but this takes the biscuit. Why are the college supporting such an event? Its not even a charity fundraiser anymore!