Well, when DID you last do anything for charity and I don't mean threw a few cents change into a box as an afterthought! or are you the type of begrudger that thinks " Feckin Taxi Drivers snarling up the streets again?"
Taxis drivers give special needs children a grand day out
Dublin's O'Connell street was momentarily brought to a standstill today as 700 taxis carrying more than 1,400 special needs kids paraded through the city's most famous thoroughfare.
Now in its 48th year, the Special Children's Taxi Day raises funds for the 40 participating special schools and centres.
The cavalcade began at Parnell Square before a cheque for 11,500 euro was presented to the drivers on behalf of sponsor Ambrosia in O'Connell St.
From there, as scores of curious passers-by looked on, the entourage was given a garda escort to Leopardstown's Club 92 to continue the celebrations.
Dermot Lacey, former Dublin Lord Mayor, said: "It gives me enormous pleasure to launch the Ambrosia special Children's Taxi Day.
"This wonderful event brings joy to so many people and the amazing achievements of the Dublin Taxi Drivers' should be applauded.
"I hope the many children who will attend have a magnificent day of fun and entertainment," he said.
TV presenter Lucy Kennedy and Irish Boxing supremo Bernard Dunne were on hand to meet the kids.
And another 50 taxis joined the celebrations at Club 92 in Leopardstown, where party treats and sweets were snapped up by the kids.
Tom Colgan, event organiser and member of Dublin Taxi Drivers said he was grateful to the many drivers who gave up their day for the charity event.
"It is great to see the smiles on the children's faces and each year we are amazed and very grateful to see so many taxi drivers give up their day's fare for such a worthy cause," he said.
The Dublin Taxi Drivers were given the Lord Mayor's Award in 2006 for their contribution to providing much needed equipment and entertainment to hundreds of children with special needs in the Greater Dublin area.
Ambrosia has sponsored the event - which has been running since 1960 - for the last seven years.
"Once again, Ambrosia is delighted to be the title sponsor of this one of a kind and extremely worthwhile Dublin event," Ambrosia's Cathy Kelly said.
"As always, the Dublin Taxi Drivers deserve great praise and thanks for their unrelenting hard work and we hope that all the children enjoy a memorable day full of fun and enjoyment."
Release Date 11/09/2007 Source Press Association CountryIreland