leinsterdude wrote: » Gee Sean dont drink 8 pints the night before,I would hope most dont,are u spaeking from experience?
Murphy(Cork) wrote: » If you fon't mind me asking, whats the general age of people applying or in the garda reserve?
freddiew wrote: » I was wondering if anyone knows on P1 do they take into account a 50 year old against a 25 year old's fitness or has everyone to be equal fitness. Has anyone failed on P1?
freddiew wrote: » Gents, no one has answered my question, hope you are not all like that in Court!! My question was, "I was wondering if anyone knows on P1 do they take into account a 50 year old against a 25 year old's fitness or has everyone to be equal fitness. Has anyone failed on P1?"
iandromiskin wrote: » You bet me to posting there . Hope my answer helps ?
leinsterdude wrote: » Hi,my question is unanswered also,maybe nobody knows,but would they sort you out if you were injured on duty,loss of income would be a concern.not compensation just what you were earning??
pat1187 wrote: » I am in my 50's and found the physical in phase 1 fairly easy,you do the exercises on mats,bare feet, bit of falling around but nothing too strenuous. Also they supply a bus from Templemore to the hotel in Thurles on Saturday evening so if you do plan on having a few pints on Saturday night,take the bus and leave the car at the college. That way you wont have to worry about driving Sunday morning.Also I would say 8 pints was conservative for some of the guys,as it's definitely a good craic that evening.
baton charge wrote: » Phase 1 is only a taster for Phase 3 where you are tested.Pat and I know two who had failed because they were left handed, as the self defence is geared toward right handed people.They were however given a second chance later and passed.You need only to be moderately fit. I stand corrected on this one but if you are injured in the line of duty I think you have to sue the state.I think the GRA handles this for the full time members.You would probably go through the PIAB (personal injuries assesment board) as do most things now.
Murphy(Cork) wrote: » So Ian, Have ye Started Phase two yet?
iandromiskin wrote: » Yep. About half way through it at the moment. We all have an exam / test on the legal studies (P2) in about three weeks before we go back for P3.
Murphy(Cork) wrote: » You started phase 1 back in october? yeah, does that mean you must go to Templemore every week for phase 2 as your half way through it already