cson wrote: Two things that would drive me to drink are the price of drink and the standard of Irish Rugby. On a more serious note though I was out last night and ordered a Vodka, the barman asked me did I want the orange (Mi-Wadi) I said I did, handed him €10 got €4.70 back. I watched him put it in the till and it was €4.30 for the Vodka and €1 :eek: for the dash of orange. Imo thats absolute arse rape considering a bottle of Mi-Wadi in the shops is €1.30 ish and the club woulda been getting it a helluva lot cheaper than that from the supplier. It'd sicken some part of your anatomy the blatant profiteering in this land. Now where did I put Eddie Hobbs number....
cson wrote: It was the mi-wadi that annoyed me the most, fooking arse banditry to charge €1 for a dash of it. Dirty rotten robbing publicans.
Ishmael wrote: Yeah, its sick alright, but whats worse is there are fecking eejits who are willing to pay these stupid prices.
An Citeog wrote: If it makes you feel any better, I got a litre of vodka and coke last week for €4 and it was strong as fúck too! A beer in my local costs €1.50 aswell! Now, back to your rant!
connundrum wrote: You should complain to your local TD. Or not go back to that pub again. €3.40 for a pint in my old local down de country. Nearly had a heart attack when I got change back from a fiver at the weekend :eek:
Colonel Sanders wrote: I have seen pubs charge as much as €2 for a dash. A friend of mine worked in a bar during college and he said the pub got mi wadi for free. When a driver was dropping off a drink delivery he'd always toss 2 cases in for free (1 orange, 1 blackcurrant) Was just having a conversation in work this morning on why pub prices were so expensive but in the 10 years or so I've been drinking off licence drink has never been cheaper.
connundrum wrote: €3.40 for a pint in my old local down de country. Nearly had a heart attack when I got change back from a fiver at the weekend :eek:
Degsy wrote: Not going back to the pub again isnt enough.This stuff should be regulated by a consumer watchdog with heavy fines or loss of licence to greedy bastards who flout the law.Several years ago,Bertie Aheren imposed a price-freeze on the cost of drink in Dublin.During that time,a pub not far from where he lives put 25 pence onto t he price of a pint to pay for the alterations to the pub and NOTHING happened to them.Has anybody else noticed the number of pubs being sold and shut down to make way for apartments.Greed,pure f*cking greed.
You should complain to your local TD.
Cheeky_gal wrote: Think thats bad...I [accidentally] once charged a table €100 for drinks....my god the outbreak which took place!!!
Degsy wrote: And if they'd ((accidentally) paid up you'd have taken the money and said nothing.I sincerely hope they fired your ass!
mac123 wrote: you should do what i do....have a few cans before you head out and bring your own vodka in with you, then just pay the €3 or so for a lucazade...it makes for a nice cheap night! you have to fight back!!
Sean_K wrote: Aye a naggin in the sock makes for a cheap night out:p (or in the handbag if you're female)
Terry wrote: €4.30 for a pint in my local or 8 cans for €14.18. I know where I'm drinking. I can smoke at home too.