keyes wrote: Bulmers; diamonds have similar prices all over the world, except for duties and taxes. if you got it valued for so much more, perhaps you should question the accuracy of the valuation? if a diamond seems very cheap, there's usually a reason why!
keyes wrote: that's just silly about the tax regime; we all have to pay taxes. what about people who smuggle cigarettes? are they just exercising their right to dodge taxes? are you a civil servant, paid from these taxes? do you claim mortgage interest relief? do you claim tax credits? if you do, then that's drawing from the pool of money that we all contribute to. don't complain about the difference between tax-free and tax compliant prices. we all pay them, we all dislike them (!), we all want to be the one exception to the rule but still have the services that other peoples' taxes provide.
keyes wrote: furthermore, you may not be aware, but diamonds are priced similarly all over the world. price lists are produced in new york every week, and they are no sooner printed than widely circulated, fronm tibet to thurles. when a diamond is cheap, there's a reason why. (cutting is the most common one, as it's the one most people have no idea how to interpret. a cert saying "excellent proportions", for example, can just mean that the stone is symmetrical, not that it's beautiful!!)
Keyes wrote: (you may have guessed that i am a jeweller, so hardly neutral, it must be admitted.)
keyes wrote: on a point of clarity, having someone tell you "oh, it's worth 30% more here" is not much use to anyone if this is not accurate. i know one valuer who doubles the purchase price when he writes a valuation. why? to cover himself from claims of negligence if the ring is lost and the ring is undervalued. it doesn't mean that the ring is actually worth that. insurance companies aren't stupid. they pay out what the ring is worth, not what some piece of paper claims it to be worth.
keyes wrote: i find your attitude a bit argumentative, and a bit too much in the "everyone is ripping me off" vein.
Sizzler wrote: LOL. Its a ring, get over it. If you dont like the tax regime here then maybe you should set up elsewhwere
Sizzler wrote: Oh stop with the rubbish thing. The point on me replying to this thread was to highlight that there is more bang for your buck elsewhere and it pays to shop around BIG TIME. Fair play to the OP, I hope he got a nice ring and I bet it gets valued here at 30%-50% more than he paid for it. And you know what Im sure theres plenty of people who have done the same and would be happy to prove my 'unsubstantiated rubbish'...so folks any stories out there of big savings in comparison to what Ireland has to offer?
Fey! wrote: You're going to have to name and shame the people who quoted you, along with their figures and the figures of the "offshore" companies who quoted you, as what you say reeks of BS and an "if it's an Irish company it's a rip-off company" mentality, ala your Eddie Hobbs quotation.
Fey! wrote: But I nearly forgot, you agree with smuggling the ring and not paying the taxes.
Fey! wrote: If Irish jewellers are so expensive, then why do Americans buy a lot of jewellery here?.
Fey! wrote: OP; sorry for letting this get dragged so off topic; it just grinds my gears when someone spouts unsubstantiated rubbish as fact.
Fey! wrote: You've been reading the stickies, haven't you???
stovelid wrote: or a jeweler
Sizzler wrote: I think you work for the revenue commissioners
Fey! wrote: Yeah, like the VRT dodgers. With the amount of jewellery smuggled into this country each year, it would be well worth their while hitting the inbound planes.
Sizzler wrote: With friends like that who needs enemies :eek: Must have been a slow day at the customs office if they were bothered about a necklace, they'd be better off chasing the bigger fish dont you think.
Unshelved wrote: If you do decide to buy abroad and avoid customs declarations by wearing the rings home - be very careful who you tell afterwards. A relative of mine bought his wife a diamond necklace in the States and she wore it home. They mentioned it to a couple of friends in passing. A couple of months later, on a Saturday morning, two customs officials called to their house asking to see the jewellery and to see a recept or credit card receipts. It turned out that one of their "friends" had tipped customs off. The jewellery was confiscated until the customs charges plus a hefty fine was paid off.
stovelid wrote: We wore them for the rest of the trip and coming home. Wearing her engagement ring back might be trickier OP
darkskol wrote: One more thing dont forget about customs on the way home, duty on the ring could be quite expensive!
Fey! wrote: Why don't you name them? Or is this yet moe internet spouted rubbish? The difference in price is usually local taxes; diamonds get traded from a central point. What I was saying works like this; if you're stopped by customs, ring on your finger or in a box, it's up to you to prove that you bought the ring in Ireland and paid the taxes, NOT for them to prove that you bought it abroad and smuggled it in. S
Sizzler wrote: FFS ! Hes going to the US for a reason, doesnt need a lecture on "breaking the law" in bringing back a ring hor his g/f ! I know someone who was told recently by email by an Irish diamond merchant that he wasnt being interested in being competitive with markets outside Ireland ! I think that says it all when someone can be so blatant in saying the Irish are such a soft touch that when someone puts it up to them that the exact same product can be bought elsewhere for 2-3k less than their prices they arent interested as there is some other gobshíte in the Q waiting to pay full price even if you have the cop on not to ! Id love to name and shame that crowd!
Fey! wrote: Also bear in mind that if you intend not paying the charges at customs, then you are smuggling goods and breaking the law. Bulmers/Darkskol, did you pay yours? As for the 1/3 difference, that would be the taxes that Irish dealers have to pay. And that difference doesn't always exist.
LashingLady wrote: For all of you guys who got your ring in the US, did you I am going to Vegas next week for a week and would like to get my ring there but just wondering how much time is needed for custom rings? Thanks y'All!!