Cozmo wrote: My freind (15) got punched in the face by a 35 year old man, called the garda and they showed up 3 MOTHS AFTER! The bloke had moved out by then. And when my freind threw a rock at a car the garda show up 5 minute's later. They dont give a **** about anyone under 18, they think wre just prank calling or whatever.
same ould few, defending the guards no matter what, the majority of the public say... laughable really, do the same ould few really think that the majority of the population are all wrong... if so, they are as out of touch are the rest of the guards who think they are doing a "fine job"
limklad wrote: You have to give the common guards some respect. They have since the creation of the state carry no Heavy weapons (firearms) and have a batton to protect themselves with crimminals who have no scruplous with shooting them. There are risking their lives everyday.
Nuttzy wrote: Also not in the carnival but near the McDonalds(again can be seen from the garda station so ye see how close it is) a 14yr old lad was kicked unconscious and was finally rescued. There was a gang of 40youths hanging arund and 18 of them or so surrounded the lad and attacked him.
bookiebasher wrote: ah lads the guards are great...I was stopped going to work and ended up in court for not wearing a seatbelt...I owe my life to this great guard.
Cozmo wrote: And when my freind threw a rock at a car the garda show up 5 minute's later. They dont give a **** about anyone under 18, they think wre just prank calling or whatever.
im sorry thats a lie you can see the mcdonalds from the station yeah, but you couldnt see if there was a row or anything in it. It over the river FFS
RoyalMarineComm wrote: and what are 3 guards going to do against a gang of 18 - 40 people?
ethernet wrote: Well if millions weren't wasted on e-voting machines, we could aim to give water cannons to every station in the country to deal with this and spray them with our contaminated, Galway water.
\m/_(>_<)_\m/ wrote: laughable really, do the same ould few really think that the majority of the population are all wrong... if so, they are as out of touch are the rest of the guards who think they are doing a "fine job":rolleyes:
JayRoc wrote: Why in god's name would the common garda on the street need to carry "heavy weapons"? I can't recall hearing of any criminals, scrupulous or not, shooting a uniformed garda (or any garda for that matter) in over ten years. TEN YEARS. Hardly South Compton, now is it? Let's keep some perspective, shall we?
JayRoc wrote: Why in god's name would the common garda on the street need to carry "heavy weapons"? I can't recall hearing of any criminals, scrupulous or not, shooting a uniformed garda (or any garda for that matter) in over ten years. TEN YEARS. Hardly South Compton, now is it? :rolleyes: Let's keep some perspective, shall we?
muppetkiller wrote: ..They don't have the presence that they need to prevent petty crime.
Saintly wrote: then adequate bullet proof jackets (long promised, unlikely to arrive until a guard is killed) and decent secure radio communication systems.
\m/_(>_<)_\m/ wrote: prevent petty crime..... any chance they could look at preventing serious crime so. because they are doing nether. but i suppose that all media hype as well is it. the spiraling crime figures are all due to the bad media coverage the poor ould guards get...
Nuttzy wrote: Ehhhh, i didnt say that you could see a row going on from within the garda station, i used that reference to show how close the station is to the McDonalds, hardly a patrol car trip away now is it.
foinse wrote: it doesn't matter if they are caught or not,
foinse wrote: that is why there is a free phone number for emergencies 999, if you call it they will come,and damn fast too i must say.
\m/_(>_<)_\m/ wrote: and that is the guards attitude as well....
\m/_(>_<)_\m/ wrote: that is incorrect, the area you live in determines how fast they arrive.. house burgled in Howth they might arrive in 15 min...flat in Ballymun... they may not arrive at all. FACT
event wrote: thats true mainly, because if they go into ballymun, more than likely their cars will be stoned. bit like the way fire brigades and ambulances are
foinse wrote: good point event, something i hadn't thought of, they do their best in a tough and often hostile enviroment.\m/_(>_<)_\m/ if you know anyone in the gardai or even just lie and say you're thinking of applying and ask if you can get a ridealong some night and see the work the gardai do and the crap they have to put up with.
foinse wrote: The hostile enviroment is not a product of bad policing,
foinse wrote: rather a product of anti social behaviour and people who just don't five a flying f*ck about anything or anyone, and don't care who they hurt, kill or steal from.
foinse wrote: Also the burdon of proof is on the gardai, so they might know very well who the crim is but cannot do anything about it unless they have proof that this is in fact the person who committed the crime.