Deleted User wrote: If they did this in Galway, I'm pretty sure most of the taxi drivers would have hefty fines by now.
Mairt wrote: (Oh and no, I haven't been caught in a bus land)
Faith wrote: There's a bus land?!
jaggeh wrote: even better was last week i was getting a lift home and there was a guard at the start of the buslane waving people into it for freeflow or whatever. then about 600-700 meters down the lane at an intersection was a guard stopping people who had used the bus lane :P
kippy wrote: Not every guard is going to be fighting the crimelords. If they are "hiding" at the end of bus lanes it is for good cause-to catch people who use them illegally. I am all for it. Kippy
Mairt wrote: So while the rest of us are suppose to work towards crime prevention, guards should get away with lazing policing?. Seriously, should their job not be to prevent crime from happening in the first place than catching an offender after he/she has offended?.
Mairt wrote: Does this bother anyone else?.
psittacosis wrote: Driving through the Lee tunnel in Cork (tunnel under the river) and guards where in there cause guess why it was raining outside. Had traffic backed up for ages and even caused a crash further back along the line. Idiots.
Mairt wrote: I just think the guards time would be better spent being visible and detering people from using the lanes.
Nunu wrote: Those of you who know the Nutgrove area of Dublin will be able to visualise this better
which stupidly doesn't end till about 10 metres from the lights
Madness! The Garda knew exactly what he was doing because he wouldn't have situated himself there otherwise. I'd say he caught dozens of motorists using the lane in identical circumstances.
Mairt wrote: This thread isn't about people illegally using the lanes or not. Its about lazing policing methods which mean that instead of being a visible deterent & preventing a crime happening, the guard hides like a sly little whore and catches the motorist in the lane. I just think the guards time would be better spent being visible and detering people from using the lanes.
Nunu wrote: I was with my Dad and he was given a ticket for driving in the bus lane. The circumstances were disgraceful. Those of you who know the Nutgrove area of Dublin will be able to visualise this better: He was driving from Nutgrove shopping centre towards 'The Yellow House' pub, where he was turning left at the lights. Traffic going straight through the lights was backed up by about 20 cars. The filter light for turning left was green but no one was turning left ahead of him, so my Dad turned into the empty bus lane which stupidly doesn't end till about 10 metres from the lights. There is a bus stop just before the lane ends and lo and behold a garda emerges from behind it where he'd been hiding. He knew exactly why my Dad had been in the bus lane(for no more than 20metres) but still gave him a ticket. If anything he was relieving traffic! Why sit stationery in a lane you're ultimately not using when you have a filter light to turn left you can use by driving in an empty bus lane for a matter of seconds? Madness! The Garda knew exactly what he was doing because he wouldn't have situated himself there otherwise. I'd say he caught dozens of motorists using the lane in identical circumstances.
kippy wrote: Not every guard is going to be fighting the crimelords
markpb wrote: Why is it stupid? If the lane ended any earlier, cars would jump in even earlier, blocking the bus from getting to the junction and defeating the entire purpose of the bus lane.