julep wrote: if someone comes up behind me in the queue when i'm doing my weeks shopping and they only have a few things, i let them go ahead. if they proceed to pay with a credit card, i follow them out to the car park and stab them in the eye.
Someday you might even have kids of your own and we'll see how strong you are in your convictions when you are trying to do a weeks shopping with a bored child sitting in a shopping trolley that has started moaning as soon as you started. See if you wont open a packet of crisps or anything else to keep your little precious quiet. Someday you will have to take off your rose tinted glasses and live in the real world....and worry about what really matters.
DaveMcG wrote: Please that is not going to traumatise the child :rolleyes: *15 years later* "Sorry Garda, when I was a kid me ma used to do it, I assumed ye didn't have te pay for it! :eek:"
DaveMcG wrote: I think you should stop analysing people so much.
Noelie wrote: i think Ferdi has a lot more to learn about customers
ferdi wrote: whoa nelly! i never said the kid would end up robbing, just that it may believe that it is entitled to what it wants now. i dont personally think that teaching kids to 'buy now, pay later' is good or healthy.
DaveMcG wrote: but I don't think that letting them eat a grape before you pay for the bunch is going to turn them into self-centred brats in and of itself.
Ickle Magoo wrote: ...and a child munching on a croissant can be a really good wee boy who loves croissants .
Red Alert wrote: Managers who hate music: Why do supermarket managers have a crap music taste?
"It's Christmas Eve." I said. "It's Christmas Eve, it's ten to five, there are 20 people in this queue, and all I'm thinking is I'll refund you the 20 pence. I'll even buy you the figs. As a present. Honestly. All 80 pence worth, on me. We don't have to tell anyone, it can be our little secret."
ferdi wrote: No, but it cant help. kids do what they see, if a kid sees his mam behaving like this its not such a stretch for it to permiate elsewhere. i'm not saying this is the worst crime ever comitted, i just think it sets a bad example, simple as. and as he munches he drops loads of crumbs all over the shop floor, which you completely ignore - teaching the child that someone else will clean up after him
passive wrote: I you.
Nightwish wrote: I've even had a woman have her kid pi$$ on the floor and she just took the kid and walked off.
Minesajackdaniels wrote: (Keep in mind that I had in my hands a red pepper, a green pepper and a bottle of wine.his
c - 13 wrote: Ill see this and raise you a kid taking a dump in a display toilet in a well known Irish DIY chain while his parents looked at wallpaper about two aisles over.
stovelid wrote: Jesus Christ, I'm getting a vasectomy. Now
Ickle Magoo wrote: I don't see the issue tbh.
r3nu4l wrote: 2. Go to nearest counter, grab one or two items and place it in their trolley, they won't notice until the checkout, if they catch you just say you made a mistake, the trolley was unattended and you thought it was yours.
CherieAmour wrote: ...I forgot to mention, in my top five worst things about working in supermarkets is parents who won't discipline their children. Kids rolling around the floor screaming, throwing food, hanging out of/throwing stuff out of the trolley and their parents say..... :mad: 'THE GIRL IS WATCHING YOU' :mad: :mad: 'THE MAN WILL THROW YOU OUT'. :mad: :mad: 'LOOK, THE GIRL IS GONNA GIVE OUT TO YOU':mad: This happened daily!!!!!!!!! Parents, face up to your responsibility!!!!! Tell them YOU want them to stop!!
whiskeyman wrote: Anyone remember when Crazy Prices in The Square had a little DJ box for it's own in-house supermarket radio when it first opened? Ah, the memories...
Archeron wrote: There is nothing scarier than the sight of 2000 mad women with trollies who have heard that coco pops are half price for the next 15 minutes. So many broken ankles......the shopping centre used to have its own ambulance bay
ferdi wrote: you wouldnt. your mother let you do it and you let your kids do it. your'e one of the bad guys tbh.
Ickle Magoo wrote: Yeah, because on the scale of "bad guys", dropping crumbs on a supermarket floor you don't even have to clean makes me "bad" indeed. Oh dear. I'm glad I don't work in a supermarket, I just don't know how you cope with the hardship, lol.
whiskeyman wrote: lol! Wasn't Thursday dubbed 'Crazy Night' when those offers would be broadcast in store? I remember my folks dragging me and my best mate to the local Crazys when we were little nippers. Everytime my Mum heard an offer that interested her, we were send flying to get the goods before the other shoppers! It was like Supermarket Sweep for kids!
r3nu4l wrote: There is such a thing as consideration for other people and basic good manners,
Ickle Magoo wrote: I agree & I don't see much of either as a rule. I thought if you can't beat them, join them, lol. You're right, it's probably not the best but I bet we all have an anti-social habit that others hate...Smoking? Drunk in town on a Fri night? Speeding or bad driving? Etc, etc.. Mine is giving my son something to munch on while going around the supermarket - fairly harmless in the scheme of things. I save my energy for lobbying for better roads, improving the terrible driving, education & healthcare improvements, etc, rather than getting worked up about who had how many items & didn't let me skip in front of them or a small child dropping a few flakes of croissant but meh, I'm one of the baddies so what do I know, lol.
r3nu4l wrote: Well concentrate on getting things right at home before trying to sort out what everybody else should be doing for a start
r3nu4l wrote: Is this a case of you being too busy sticking your nose into everybody elses' business that you can't see the destructive little monster you are creating?...That was a joke, no offence to you or your child
r3nu4l wrote: Seriously, teaching your child good manners increases the chance that he/she will grow up to be a net contributor to society thus improving better road, driving etc.
dellas1979 wrote: Anyways, along comes some ould biddy behind me, with her husband. She had the "I'll do what a fecking please" attitude. Puts out her arm and in one swoop pushes everything I was about to pay for up the belt - knocking over fizzy drinks, food with non-food, fruit everywhere. Well I could have murderered her. I stared at her and continued to stare at her while fixing everything. Her husband then said to her "I think you have annoyed that girl"...... she shrugged her shoulders. I then preceeded to take 10 more minutes to rearrange everything, pack my bag, have a chat with the checkout girl, decide whether to use laser or cash etc..... at the end I looked at her again, smiled and shrugged. Her mouth just dropped.