Sure he may have made a little illegal gain to help through his seperation costs
exCrumlinBoyo wrote: Politicians piss me of and I knew sooner or later Bertie would be found out because politicians can’t fecking help themselves. Brown paper envelops all over the place. I was talking to me mate back home on the phone over the weekend. He is an accountant and he works for a very wealthy guy who is into property and it making a lot of money from it. Millions actually! Anyway my mate went down to Wexford a couple of weekends ago to a FF gig with his boss. His boss wanted him to go to fill a seat in. My mates boss needs to get in with the FF lads and in order to get in with them, FF auction off a pair of tickets to the Ryder Cup and sell them for 5000 euro. Now to me this is touting because the money is not going to charity or anything like that its going into the FF coffers. My point is that its another form of brown paper envelops in order to get planning permissions to build. The rich get richer and the poor people are stuck looking at Bertie getting caught with his pants down. Yes he may of brought Ireland through to the rich times, but he took money and failed to find a happy medium with the country. Politicians = Dirty hungry money grabbing, help the rich, feck the poor arse wipes…
exCrumlinBoyo wrote: I was talking to me mate back home on the phone over the weekend. He is an accountant and he works for a very wealthy guy who is into property and it making a lot of money from it. Millions actually! etc. etc. etc.
greg678 wrote: So if all the pols are like that, who do you want? Live in a monarch:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
The Taoiseach, Bertie Ahern, has given details of payments totalling £39,000 which were made to him in the early 1990s when he was Minister for Finance. In his first detailed interview since the payments controversy began six days ago, Mr Ahern told RTÉ News that a group of friends made two separate payments to him in December 1993 and in 1994. The Taoiseach said he regarded the money as a loan to cover the costs of his legal separation, but he conceded that no repayments have yet been made and no interest has been paid. Advertisement Mr Ahern said this was because the individuals involved refused payment. He said he regarded the money as a debt of honour and insisted it would be paid back. He separated from his wife, Miriam, in 1987 and protracted legal proceedings did not conclude until 1993. The first payment to Mr Ahern, in December 1993, was for £22,500. The money came from eight associates of the then Minister for Finance. They have been named as Paddy Reilly, Des Richardson, Padraic O'Connor, Jim Nugent, David McKenna, Fintan Gunne, Mick Collins and Charlie Chawke. The second payment, in 1994, was for £16,500, and was from a separate group of friends - Joe Burke, Dermot Carew, Barry English and Paddy Reilly. The Taoiseach said he had given all of these details in confidence to the Mahon Tribunal and would have preferred them to remain his private business. He said the leak of these details to the media had nothing to do with planning or rezoning. Opposition calls for Dáil debate Earlier, Fine Gael leader Enda Kenny said he found what he described as the 'spin coming from Government about the Taoiseach's marital affairs' nauseating. Speaking to RTÉ News, Mr Kenny said Mr Ahern was hypocritical in his approach towards politicians receiving cash gifts. The Tánaiste and Minister for Justice, Michael McDowell, has said that he has no doubts about Mr Ahern's integrity. Mr McDowell said that the PDs had deliberately allowed him space and time to assemble the facts surrounding private donations 13 years ago. Mr McDowell said the two parties remained determined to serve a full term and to complete their mandate.
thebaz wrote: i'd say i could have a pint of smithwicks with Bertie , talk footy , and say hed be sound ... unlike some of the other boring or stuck up so called do gooders
thebaz wrote: Am i alone in having symapthy for our under fire leader . Sure he may have made a little illegal gain to help through his seperation costs , but he still led the country through its most prosperous times , and helped cement peace on our island . The country has never enjoyed such prosperity, and yet the media and opposition are ready to kill, would they honestly have done any different ? I for one say well done Bertie, and I have no links to any political party.
constitutionus wrote: liked the bit of sophistry he used " i didnt get any where near 50 to 100 thousand " yet when you convert the 39 thousand punt to euro you get very close to 50k, and thats in 93! christ alone knows what inflation would do to that figure in todays economy. so i reckon its probably the guts of 100k probably more! one other thing struck me. why did he need the money when he already got the money from a bank loan in AIB to pay for the costs and obligations? was he just covering for the interest the bank would charge by paying it off straight away? and finally, is a loan a loan when you dont pay it back? exactly when does it become a gift?
dingding wrote: And cockey.
Trinity1 wrote: I know thats why i like him And again, it wasnt stolen public funds - how is it anyones business? (i'm sure someone is going to tell me )
Trinity1 wrote: I know thats why i like him But seriously and excuse my ignorance - what is the problem? Friends loaned him money. It hasnt been paid back. Is it because he didnt pay tax on it? How is it anyones business and if there was no contract in writing stating terms or interest and it was made out to him as a personal loan from a friend, what the problem? How can they prove he had no intention of paying it back? And again, it wasnt stolen public funds - how is it anyones business? (i'm sure someone is going to tell me )