Karoma wrote: <Insert standard form reply of "zomg" to yet another dbnavan thread about the moral decline of civilisation and lack of respect shown in interpersonal communications>
dbnavan wrote: Also had lunch with an old school pal of mine last week, who is now a secondary school teacher, he says he is a constant target of verbal expletives and there is little or nothing can be down as the kids don't care, and it is very hard to suspend and almost impossible to expel now.
Ruu wrote: Back in my day if you used the f word, a clip on the ear ye would get and a wrap on the knuckles to follow.:( Respect for elders? What about respect for anyone? It's be gone a long time ago now.
Myth wrote: Not sure about that now, I'm out of secondary school 4 years now but from talking to my mate's brothers who go there, it has actually gotten stricter.
slipss wrote: Yeah, I do think it is terrible the way kids think they can get away with anything, especially with the elderly. But you don't give a very clear explanation of the situation so i can't really comment on it. You don't mention the elderly, you don't say where or at what the kids were throwing stones. Besides that there are a few things that caught my attention in your post, first when you say your kids would do that once in their lifetime and then never again. How would you know your kids did it in the first place, maybe they do, maybe they do it in an estate thier not from so no one recognises them like the 6/7 yr old you mentioned. Second saying a whole family is unapproachable is a bit odd to me, maybe they react badly when approached over something because they hear people saying "oh yeah that family is an unapproachable, bunch of scumbags" when they're out and so are instantly on the defensive when someone knocks on thier door saying "your kids are a disgrace". Thirdly(sc) just bcause someone might use what you describe as unreal language it doesn't mean they are violent of anything like that, maybe they just realise that fukk is just a four letter word like gosh, or damn or Jeez and anyonew that is offended by it is being a bit uptight.
dbnavan wrote: Schools differ from school to school not going to argue the opinions of a mates brother vs a school teacher who I know.
dbnavan wrote: I never mentioned elderly, I said elders, They where throwing stones in the direction of my neighbours car. When did I associate bad language with Violence? Having a problem with a 10 year old telling a 30 something yearold to "f**k off" isnt exactly being uptight IMO
slipss wrote: Yes thats what I said, you never mentioned the elderly. If your going to get into semantics (whatever that means) then at least do it right.
oRlyYaRly wrote: So do we blame for this outrageous lapse in decent behaviour?THE PARENTS? THE GOVERNMENT? THE MEDIA? THE children themselves?
Commander Vimes wrote: if i found out my child spoke like that to an adult they wouldn't see the light of day until they had rickets.
Mrs_Doyle wrote: My little sis, aged 11, came in the door the other day, and told me that a group of boys had been throwing stones at her, and her friends, while they played on the green. In typical big sis mode, I asked where the boys were, she pointed them out to me, there was 3 of them, aged 11-13, and I walked over to them:Mrs_Doyle: Hey, were you throwing stones at those girls?Biggest Kid: No!Mrs_Doyle: Well they say you were, and they don't make a habit of lying. Your not to bother them again.Biggest Kid: *Snorts* Ha, why, what are you going to do about? *I thinks to myself, 'eh, what am I going to do about it?'Mrs_Doyle: I'll tell your parentsBiggest Kid: Ha, yeah right, my ma would dance on your fcuking head! *change of tactic*Mrs_Doyle: She would, yeah, if she got the fcuking head on it's own! Now come here to me, if I see you anywhere near those girls again, I'll break your fcuking legs, and before you threatening me with your auld one, remember, I know your ma, and if she knew you were mouthing out of you like that she'd break your face, and rightly so. Now get the fcuk off our green and go back to where you came from, your not wanted around hereBiggest Kid: Jesus, relax woman, we were only having a laughMrs_Doyle: GO HOME!Biggest Kid: We're going! And off they went. Now, I just want to make clear, I am not at all proud of the way I spoke to that child, if anything I felt common and brash, and ashamed of myself - but I have to say, it seemed to be the only way to actually deal with him. When I was a kid, if any of the neighbours told us to behave, or what not, we would never answer them back - we would be so afraid that they would tell our parents on us that we would pretty much do as we were told, and sharpish. This kid had no fear of his parents, he actually threatened me with his mother - how screwed up is that??????
Mrs_Doyle wrote: And off they went. Now, I just want to make clear, I am not at all proud of the way I spoke to that child, if anything I felt common and brash, and ashamed of myself - but I have to say, it seemed to be the only way to actually deal with him.
Commander Vimes wrote: you shouldn't be. you did exactly what was needed in that situation. they'll think twice before throwing stones at random people again
Originally Posted by Ikky Poo2Yes, agreed. Anger and threats. The more anger and threats we make the less angry and threatening we'll... um.... be....
il gatto wrote: There's no point blaming "society". Our society is what is being ruined by such children, not vice-versa. The parents make up a huge porportion of society, so they're the section of society to blame. Most of this bad behavior starts before the child is "impossible to control". Parents let things slide until the child's behavior is picked up on by neighbours and teachers. When I was that age, I never spoke to an adult, or even an older child in that way. The result would have been a boot up the hole. These days, you'd be hauled before the courts if you did that, and you'd lose. Almost certainly. Even talking to them in the manner Mrs. Doyle found necessary can result in your car being keyed or burned. Until parents and Gardai take the problem seriously, and start punishing these little bastards, there is little anyone can do, except take it and complain about the decline of society.
Ikky Poo2 wrote: Yes, agreed. Anger and threats. The more anger and threats we make the less angry and threatening we'll... um.... be....
Ikky Poo2 wrote: You're contradicting yourself. Parents are society... parents are to blame... so society IS to blame..?
Commander Vimes wrote: these kids act like that because there are never any consequences to their actions. they throw rocks at someone, the person runs off crying and tells the kids parents and the parent screams at the person who had a rock thrown at them. at that age, they need to be shown that their actions have consequences and they can't just go around hurting people for the craic. if she went out and tried to calmly explain that they shouldn't do that, the kids would have laughed at her, spit in her face and thrown some more rocks. how would you suggest she stop them throwing rocks at people? umm, by that logic every single situation in the whole of history could be blamed on "society" because every action in history was commited by people. two people are not "society"