Knackers, crazy foam and a perfect day
I woke up today at 9:10, it was beautiful outside and within 30 mins I had received news that I was to start my new job on Monday, to top it all off, I had managed to get free passes to the concerts in Marlay Park. Excellent stuff! I went into town to meet a friend, have a wander around and look at the beautiful ladies. A perfect day!
As my friend and I were sitting along the boardwalk a couple of knackers, both clearly pissed, stopped beside us to spray red crazy foam out of a can in our direction. Oh, the hilarity! Clearly thinking that the two of us weren't worth the hassle, they then stumbled on a few meters until they came across a fat chap in his early 30's by himself. The leader of the two, adorned in his celtic jersey, gold chains and sovereign rings, arched his neck a few inches from the face of the fat guy (who was now standing) and said, "are yiz well?". Obviously the guy didn't answer because the celtic knacker ROARED the question again, this time even closer to the fat chaps face. His friend, half empty pint glass in hand, looked on, clearly amused at the way events were transpiring, and cackled. Anywho, foam was sprayed, the fat guy lashed out, the knacker retaliated (his friend, althouth amused, clearly wasn't into it), there was a bit of a tussle but nothing major.
As the fat guy walked away (I think he was a tourist - all the more shame about it) the lesser of the two knackers shouted some mindless tripe along the lines of "UP THE RA!". And that was that!
No doubt this, and MUCH worse, happens every day in our capitol, but I found it shocking nonetheless (despite the fact that both my friend and I have been victims of worse violence). I believe that if anything major had happened we would have stepped in, but luckly it didn't come to that. I just don't understand how a mindless thug can delight in random terror. Does he go to bed thinking "that was some of my best work today"?
I felt ashamed for my nation. Of all the places I've travelled I've never encountered knackers like Irish knackers.
I'm not sure exactly why I'm typing this, I guess to see what peoples opinions are about the state of things in our country - is it going to the dogs, i.e. getting worse? What can be done about these emotional degenerates (no doubt those pints they were drinking was bought with dole money)? Is it just me, or is it worse in Ireland?