Karlitosway1978 wrote: The report is a joke. We arent allowed use guns when facing guns? And we should have walked in unarmed with cigerettes? Report ignored expert evidence but allowed hearsay, absolute disgrace! Based on this report pepper spray and tazers when facing guns, that means when Im attacked by an unarmed man I have to use what? Harsh language? And how can a Judge decide that every police force in the world is wrong and that the majority of expert witnesses that went against his opinion are wrong as well?
Karlitosway1978 wrote: The report is a joke.
We arent allowed use guns when facing guns?
And we should have walked in unarmed with cigerettes?
Report ignored expert evidence but allowed hearsay, absolute disgrace!
Based on this report pepper spray and tazers when facing guns, that means when Im attacked by an unarmed man I have to use what?
And how can a Judge decide that every police force in the world is wrong and that the majority of expert witnesses that went against his opinion are wrong as well?
Hobart wrote: 1) What was Carthy doing with a gun and licence? Are the Guards not responsible for this?
5) Why was he shot in the back?
gabhain7 wrote: I have not yet read the report and probably won't until someone places it online so I really should suspend judgement, but just some general observations.
After firing at police and walking towards armed police officers, in any nation on this earth you are considered a dead man walking. You have previously expressed an intent to kill police officers and you are in the act of carrying it out.
Secondly, wtf was he doing with a firearm. For anyone to get a firearm you shouldn't be a threat to public safety and should have a valid reason for it.
Firearm possession is not a right but a privilege
If his mental illness was so profound (according to his family) to act as an excuse for him in firing at gardai and then later advancing towards them with a shotgun, why did he have a gun?
if the state was not aware of his mental illness, why did his family, doctor, solicitor not alert the state so that his firearms certificate could be cancelled and he no longer pose a threat to public safety.
It merely says that the ERU should have the option of less-lethal weapons available in their arsenal, and that they would have had a good chance of success in this case.
civdef wrote: On the second point, he goes against policy of every police force I am aware of (using less-lethal weapons on a suspect armed with a firearm and who has already fired at police). I haven't read the report yet (must stroll down to Molesworth some day at lunch) - what exactly does Justice Barr base this claim on?
On Carthy having the gun at all, the Gardai attempted to take it off him (by a fairly sloppy process), his psychiatrist wrote the Gardai a letter that he was fit to possess a firearm and that he would be subject to continuing evaluation by his GP - but his GP never was told about it.
Sparks wrote: The testimony of the UK, Canadian and New Zealand police officials they called in. All bar the UK officer said that once Carthy walked out the door with the shotgun there was no option but to shoot to stop, by the way; they're all referring to earlier uses of the less-lethal weapons. .
Karlitosway1978 wrote: Ok guys, heres where my commenst come from: G, Hearsay: who can verify the claims that he was assaulted in custody? Not a living soul. Did he make a dying declaration? A statement? In fact, wasnt he mentally unstable? Sorry, but I thought the presumption of innocence covered ALL people. H, His supposed solicitor wasnt a registered or practising solicitor, are we mind readers? Besides that, who would take responsibility for the GP or solicitors safety while in the house? Would we instead be blamed for allowing access had people been killed? Yes is the answer to that. No police force in the world hands an armed person 2 hostages. And now I hear people calling Lusk murder, for gods sake, 2 armed criminals against 1 armed cop.
Karlitosway1978 wrote: A, Barr finds that less lethal weapons should be deployed first against an armed suspect which means Gardai MUST use less force than they are threatened with, thats insane. Like I said, if Im attacked tomorrow with a baseball bat whats my first option? Will I be told 4 years later that I could have used harsh language or diplomacy?
B, UK, NZ, Canadian and FBI consulted. All said they would have shot and killed hiim, only the UK offered an alternative (Which I agree is worth merit as a similar police force) however in contrast the FBI said they would have shot himi sooner. They are the world authority on this subject so why does Barr ignorew these statements, these witnesses and draw his own opinion that is opposed not supported by experts.
D, 10 doctors gave evidence, only 3 said that the cigarrettes were a factor. 7 did not agree with this, in fact 4 stated it was no bearing.
E. Throw a rock at a person with a gun? You think this a good option? No, its not.
Also add that the one thing you are trained NOT to do is enclose or approach a mentally unstable person (Yes we do in fact get this training which Barr recommends)
F, We are critisised for being so close to the house, well thats called a closed and secure perimeter. Perhaps we should have been a mile down the road and let him go get smokes himself?
G, Hearsay: who can verify the claims that he was assaulted in custody? Not a living soul. Did he make a dying declaration? A statement?
In fact, wasnt he mentally unstable? Sorry, but I thought the presumption of innocence covered ALL people.
H, His supposed solicitor wasnt a registered or practising solicitor, are we mind readers?
Besides that, who would take responsibility for the GP or solicitors safety while in the house? Would we instead be blamed for allowing access had people been killed? Yes is the answer to that. No police force in the world hands an armed person 2 hostages.
4 years in a chair to judge actions on a street under duress, fear and fatigue.
Add to that that Carty aimed
Now add to that the fact that its the Gardai's fault that we dont have tazers, stun guns, etc. well I will gladly take them, yes please. But the reality is you cannot use what you dont have and the government (with support from the public) will not issue such tools and therefore we use A, Batons and B, Guns.
You aim a gun and fire at a police officer you should expect to die
And now I hear people calling Lusk murder, for gods sake, 2 armed criminals against 1 armed cop.
santosubito wrote: I must say I find it distressing that a judge, retired or otherwise, would say that anyone was "probbaly" assaulted. He either was or wasn't. If there's no proof, then, technically, he wasn't.
You would think if Mr Carthy had been abused and was talking about his ordeal, he would have mentioned it.
H: This is another interesting point. After his call for Michael Finucane emerged, in late 2000 I recall, a few of us tried to see if we could track him down. We tried the phone book, golden pages, and directory inquiries. There was no Michael Finucane listed. He was an apprentice. There was a Michael Finucane in Dublin 6, but there was no way of knowing if that was him.
Now, in relation to Lusk and just for the sake of accuracy, only one of the raiders was armed.
The gun wasn't aimed at the time he was shot. The breech wasn't even closed.
At the time of giving evidence to the Tribunal, Mr. Shuey reported that the Victoria police were in the process of introducing the Air Taser which he believes to be a highly effective less lethal option. However, he noted that it has the same limitations as other less lethal options in being unsuitable for dealing with firearms incidents involving confrontation with an armed offender. The Taser was not in use in Victoria in 2000.
Superintendent Matthews told the Tribunal that it is his view that ‘‘there is no less lethal weapon that is designed to be used against an offender carrying a lethal option, firearm’’.
However, in an Abbeylara type situation, use of a Taser gun, if available to the ERU officers who were close to John Carthy when he vacated his house, would seem to have given them good prospects of success in disabling and apprehending him without resort to a lethal option.
Some of the devices were used by certain North American police forces, but it appears from the reports available to the Tribunal, and particularly the first and second Steering Group reports of the Patten Commission, that at the time of their publication no less lethal weapon then available had passed safety and medical considerations which would have been acceptable in this jurisdiction.
Victor wrote: There is a difference between a Tribunal and a criminal prosecution. Not necessarily. I was once threatened, albeit quite indirectly, by a garda (I'd been naughty, not bad). This is the first time I am mentioning it to anyone. Phone the number and ask "Are you Michael Finucane the solicitor?" or "Do you know John Carty?". Talk to the Law Society, I imagine they keep a list of members, including apprentices and students. If all else fails, ask the source (Carty) to clarify. Didn't the second have a sledge hammer or such or was that something invented for the private press briefings?
santosubito wrote: You writing for the first time about your incident with a Garda is not the same as mr Carthy talking about his detention, saying a Garda did something to him, but specifically not mentioning any abuse.
Victor wrote: I've never gone into the details of what was said and neither did Carthy. How is it not similar?
santosubito wrote: Also, he signed the book at the station upon leaving to confirm he hadn't been abused.
Victor wrote: I'm sorry, but "lol".
Karlitosway1978 wrote: why? People sign notebooks all the time, we cannot physically force them too sign a form unless your suggesting Gardai put loaded weapons into mouths?
As for the rest, well again your stating 'better solution' 'not ideal' 'possible' but yet not putting forward any genuine and realistic alternative other than the age old opinion that in some way Gardai should be taking risks with their lives that other people would not and finding magic ways to do things.
In fact, you probable stand a better chance of negotiating with a normal bank robber.
Now, would you personally not shoot if a loaded gun was pointed at you? "Oh, shoot away, kill me, sure you dont really mean it"
As for weapons, your saying upto a baseball bat, no no my friend, thats equal but the report clearly claims that Gardai should be using less lethal weapons than threatened with. Therefore I should use less than a baseball bat and considering I have a Baton or nothing that means I should not be using my baton when faced with another weapon,
again would you be willing to accept this restriction? Say for example if assaulted or attacked in your home?
And finally, you admit your not in favour of allowing Gardai have pepperspray, stun guns, tazers, etc yet seem justified in saying we are wrong to use guns?
Its thinking like this that makes me want a reserve, so Pat the Baker and others like yourself will actually get a chance to show us how easy it is and how it should be done.
Victor wrote: No, I am saying that ordinary gardai, journalists, civilians, etc. should not have been in the firing line.
Victor wrote: Do we have many "normal" bank robbers left these days. Many seem to be coke heads.
Victor wrote: I would have got myself (or rather a bunch of other people that shouldn't have been there) into that position in the first place.
Victor wrote: Isn't a baton less than a baseball bat?
Victor wrote: There exists the restriction that I have to use reasonable force.
Victor wrote: Actually I'm not medically fit to join. And in any case, I'm probably more valueable elsewhere. I would consider this. http://www.dublincity.ie/press_news/news/joint_policing_committees.asp
padser wrote: Karlitosway1978, have you read the report?
Karlitosway1978 wrote: Its our jobs to be in the firing line, be it gun, syringe, whatever. We are paid to deal with these people, tackle them and protect innocent people. We cannot do our jobs without being in danger. You have the option we dont have.
Not for beat cops, whatever about dedicated units. Do you want reserve Walts going around with tasers?
civdef wrote: The difference between a police officer and a member of the public is that when a member of the public sees a suspicious individual / one making threats / someone being attacked, they have the option to walk away. Police officers don't.
Karlitosway1978 wrote: Concerning his shotgun, he had mental issues and that was why his license was challenged by the Superintendent
Considering the simple reality and history here, I consider the Superintendent and not the Doctor to have made the right call. No one would have died had people trusted the Supers decision.
As for weapons, your saying upto a baseball bat, no no my friend, thats equal but the report clearly claims that Gardai should be using less lethal weapons than threatened with.
Victor wrote: Without wishing to over do the point the person being attacked tends not to "have the option to walk away".
Sparks wrote: The Supers decision was nevertheless unlawful. Which is why the Super never lawfully revoked the firearms certificate. In fact, it could equally be argued that the unlawful confiscation of the firearm contributed to Carthy's mistrust of the Gardai, which in turn was a major factor in the siege itself.
Sparks wrote: No, it doesn't. It refers to "less lethal weapons" because they stopped calling them "nonlethal" when it turned out that rubber bullets, tazers, mace and pepper spray and even water cannon could all kill those they were used on. The phrase means that the weapon is less lethal than a firearm; not that the weapon is less lethal than the one you're facing. Seriously, otherwise it doesn't make any form of sense, does it? How is a baseball bat less lethal than a shotgun? Both can kill you. Can you be "more killed" by one than by the other?
Karlitosway1978 wrote: They do however have the option to RUN away at the first chance or avoid the confrontation where possible. They dont look for or get involved with violent people unless they have no option of avoiding them or retreating. Imagine a world where Gardai ran away and/or ignored people because they were dangerous? Thats the point Im trying to make. We go into not away from violence and criminals.
Provided you suffer a mental illness its OK to attack, injure and kill Gardai?