Cosmonaut wrote: the worst beach in the south east
mfitzy wrote: Oh god hear we go once again....I have not heard one local politician (apart from one Carlow one) say KK should get a uni over Waterford or made statements like 'move the regional hosp' up to Kilkenny.That's nonsense.I myself have actually signed a Waterford led petition for a university.
mfitzy wrote: Can you please be more specific on the previous university campaigns you say the people of KK blocked??? Here's one local future TD that supports it clearly:http://www.johnpaulphelan.com/read_press.php?PressID=101
mfitzy wrote: And when exactly have we had the same amount of clout?- it's been a generation since we had a senior minister in Jim Gibbons, and it shows. Lucky for Waterford theyve had Cullen for the last year and I don't begrudge them it one bit- it has to be good for the region in my view to have representation at cabinet level.
mfitzy wrote: Wohoo Hub Status under the NSS, like that means anything in fairness- the NSS is yet another governemnt failure and attempt to hoodwink voters into thinking theyre actaully doing something meaningful for the regions.
mfitzy wrote: KK has a percieved better repuation due to the hard work and commitment of a few in the local civic and business community, certainly not down to favouritism shown to us by government. When you really look at it clinically, there is in fact little concrete amjor things like a college or regional hosp you can point to in Kilkenny.It is fast becoming another souless outpost of Dublin like every other town in Leinster.
mfitzy wrote: And yes, if we had a senior minister that oversaw one of the biggest wastes of taxpayers money and was embroiled in a controversy involving awarding of lucrative govt PR contracts to close personal friends I would be one of the first to criticise them. It's not because he is from Waterford thew rest of the country dislike/distrust him- it is for the reasons I have just outlined. There is no anti-Waterford conspiracy, singling Cullen out as incompetent- the rest are just as bad too.
kano476 wrote: eh? lol first ive heard of this! where the hell did you get that out of!? I honestly cant understand where the town has got this rep from. leave the tramafricans out of this too, theyre nice people!
mfitzy wrote: So you reckon we should have to travel to Waterford for everything simply because it's the largest urban centre in the south east.In fact, when you look at the catchement area of St. Lukes in say a 40/50 mile radius you will get a bigger population than same surrounding Waterford.It also is the general hosp for two counties, plus a bit of south Laois and Kildare. Did the Regional Hosp. go to KK-NO, Deasy obviously got his way then didn't he? Did a university go here instead of Waterford-NO. You're accusing KK of gaining things at Waterfords expense when in fact we never did. If you ask me, this all healthy competition anayway, keeps both areas on their toes!
Dé wrote: » First I've heard of it too, but then again, I'd say the place has really gone to the dogs since my dad retired from the Guards
mfitzy wrote: If you ask me, this all healthy competition anayway, keeps both areas on their toes!
mfitzy wrote: I have not heard one local politician (apart from one Carlow one) say KK should get a uni over Waterford or made statements like 'move the regional hosp' up to Kilkenny.
We want and need a regional university led by the Waterford Institute which is currently operating as a university in all but name.” Mr Cronin [Fergus Cronin, chairman, Kilkenny Industrial Development Company (KIDCO) ] added. “A physical presence for this university in Kilkenny would be important with a concentration of resources on areas of existing excellence.”
Report recommending Waterford University is rubbished in Carlow A REPORT recommending the upgrading of Waterford IT to a university has led to staunch criticism from two Carlow officials. County Carlow Chamber of Commerce and Cllr Walter Lacey attacked the report from Goodbody’s feeling it had “no real substance” and its makers, Goodbody’s, had “damaged the independence (of the report) by singling out a particular county”. <snip> Cllr Walter Lacey felt the vast majority of arguments favoured a university for the Carlow/Kilkenny region. “Carlow IT is one the oldest and most progressive in the country,” he said. “In Carlow we also have a second third-level education centre in Saint Patrick’s College. Carlow also has the infrastructure to cater for a university with easy accessibility. “Why is it assumed that universities must be located in cities? A central location like Carlow would make it attractive to potential students and more accessible than Waterford. It is a nightmare trying to secure accommodation in the larger cities. “Carlow’s recent boom in building and the provision of specialist student accommodation would make it easier and more attractive for students. I believe Goodbody’s have damaged the independence of their report by singling out a particular county.”
Schuhart wrote: I think this is the kind of thing they mean. This person is making his support conditional on a portion of the University having a local, physical presence in Kilkenny. Maybe it would anyway – many Universities have outreach programmes – but that is hardly the point. Blatently flying a local flag like this when the prospect of University status is far from certain does not help the campaign. In fairness, this narrow approach is better illustrated by the following story from the Carlow Nationalist, which does seek to undermine the WIT campaign. The case presented is utterly self serving and parochial, and weakens the synergy of the region. Clearly none of this means that all Kilkenny people and all Carlow people are out to undermine the WIT campaign. But certainly parochial thinking by many ultimately costs the region.
merlante wrote: Okay, I'm not trying to annoy anybody here. I was just trying to make the point that some counties shout louder than others, and really Kilkenny have benefited from shouting loud. Kilkenny are on the map in Dublin more than Waterford. It does very well in tourism, and I know Kilkenny is very well laid out and has a nice castle, etc., but Waterford is not a wasteland either. My thinking on hospitals is this: you have some services that you want in every locale, namely maternity (I know what they're doing!), A&E, normal injuries, overnight monitoring or whatever, patient recovery from surgery, simple surgeries, etc. However, other, more costly, specialist services cannot be provided in every locale, but should be provided on a regional basis, in a regional hospital. Generally speaking I think such services should all be in one hospital, otherwise you might have a situation where a patient is travelling between two hospitals on a continuous basis to treat two slightly different but interrelated problems. (e.g. going to WRH for chemotherapy and going to Dublin for radiotherapy) Then there are those treatments that are very new or very specialist and they should be provided only by one or two hospitals in the state. No use the WRH getting a slice of that pie, might as well have those treatments in Dublin or Cork and keep them together for consistency. Just my opinion. btw. Your population argument is moot. There are more people living in a 40/50 miles radius of Kildare town than Dublin city centre (because of course Dublin city centre is within that radius of Kildare), but most people live in Dublin so that's a better place for specialist hospitals. There are almost as many people in an 8 mile radius of Waterford city (around 75,000) as there are in the whole of Co. Kilkenny (87,394). More people have to travel for services in Kilkenny than services in Waterford. The number of people in a 30/40 miles radius of Waterford minus Kilkenny city is probably of a similar number to the number of people in a 30/40 miles radius of Kilkenny minus Waterford city. (Despite the sea being 8 miles south of Waterford.) Waterford is probably a better compromise between South Tipp. and Wexford too. (Particularly roadwise.) The point I was trying to make is that even though Kilkenny did not get many of the things it was after, it was in the running, which says a lot considering its population. That's all I was trying to say. Fair enough it has needs the same as Waterford has. I don't think this is healthy competition between Waterford and Kilkenny. Imagine splitting Cork up into four counties. Do you think that would increase or reduce that region? If they co-operated, it might, but if they spent all their time fighting they'd get nowhere. We need to compete with other regions, not each other. Lets not make the fact that counties in the south east are geographically smaller a handicap for us in the modern age. I don't know what your take on the state of the N9 is, but most Waterford people are under the impression that Kilkenny were happy to leave it go. i.e. effectively saboutaged the road. Anyway, lets not turn this into an out and out Waterford v Kilkenny thread ok. Just making a few observations.
mfitzy wrote: Walter Lacey is a muppet in my view; his opinion doesn't count for much in my eyes..He's a PD and theyre a sinking ship as far as i'm concerned really! But I thought that guy you mentioned from KK Chamber of Commerce there made a fairly valid point.
Schuhart wrote: Essentially what you are saying is ‘I wouldn’t worry too much about those Carlow people. But the idea of locating a Department in Kilkenny is spot on’. I’m not saying you are in league with the devil, but to be honest this response struck me as an illustration of the very problem we’re talking about – people not seeing beyond their county border with the casualty being the prosperity of the region. All that should be on the cards is upgrading WIT. If it makes sense, from an operational or outreach point of view to have a presence in Kilkenny or anywhere else, it’s another day’s work. Loading it into the agenda like this just communicates that the South East is not a cohesive unit and, unlike Limerick, Galway and Cork, there is no acceptance that Waterford is the regional centre.
mfitzy wrote: Personally I was raging when I heard Mary Hanafin said WIT was 'doing fine' as an IT i.e.implying the region didnt need a university.Some nerve really...
Baby4 wrote: This post has been deleted.
Trotter wrote: This is the problem. It keeps us on our toes? It distracts our energies from trying to promote the region. Sure leave Waterford and KK off, they'll fight among themselves while the rest unite and get things done. Great idea there.. its far from healthy competition.
mad man wrote: Yes-It is a pity that Deasy made a show of himself with the smoking debacle.His only consolation is that he is young enough to repair his career. That been said he doesn't inspire my confidence.His remarks about the IDA and there favouritism to Waterford City was more damaging to Waterford.It would have been better served if it was directed at Cork.Tbh I thought it sounded more like Phil Hogan. If that's his atitude to the City then I wouldn't put to much trust in him.
merlante wrote: Excellent post. I 100% agree. All of the points expressed by mad man are those that would occur to anyone who is at a vantage point from which they can see what's going on in Ireland as a whole. Living outside of Waterford, in a place like in Dublin, rams this vantage down your throat and forces your eyes open. I firmly believe that if every man, woman and child in Waterford had to spend 1 year living in Dublin -- like a kind of military service! -- people would very quickly adopt the sort of attitude and cop on that we are sorely lacking in Waterford. To those in Waterford, Cullen is a disgrace, to those who watch the media, lightening doesn't strike randomly. To those in Waterford, you ask, and the government says yes or no, to those who observe politics, it is obvious that you must posture and demand in order to achieve parity. To those in Waterford, FF are robbers, to those who see the bigger picture, FF is (currently) Waterford's only hope -- not because we like them, or because we are FF supporters, but because the alternatives don't bear contemplation. Fair enough, not everyone in Waterford is so naive: I'd say it's about 80% though. With a good 20% that see so little connection between them and the government that they'd vote in the Apple party if they were promised a free apple. I'd love to think that we in Waterford could vote Green or Communist or Humanist, or whatever other enlightened party comes along: but the horrible truth is, we don't even have a university or a road to the capital; our city is facing a total collapse in manufacturing in about 5 years time. We are over a barrel, whether we like it or not, and there is no other TD that can possibly save us other than Cullen -- as much as it sounds like I'm playing politics! It's a pity our other FF TD, Wilkinson is such a complete waste of space. It is also a pity that John Deasy ruined his and Waterford's chance of a cabinet portfolio in a FG led coalition. The man obviously doesn't see what's at stake if he's happy to **** around like that. I would love if everyone educated themselves on these problems, so that something could be done about them.
Roanmore wrote: Everybody has got an opinion on Martin Cullen and whether right or wrong he along with Noel Dempsey are seen as the weakest two ministers in cabinet. This not my opinion but one held by a lot of people and more importantly by FF backbenchers. If FF do get returned to power, Bertie will breathe a big sigh of relief and it is almost certain he will dump Martin Cullen from cabinet. The perception of him is that he is error prone. So instead of a cabinet minister we will have a lame duck politican who will be sulking because he has lost his Mercedes. I'm not telling anybody who to vote for but some stuff on here would make the FF website look tame.
merlante wrote: There is a possibility that he will lose out, although I believe he is seen as mentally stronger than many of the quiet fellas that you never hear about. They are more likely to go. Besides Cullen has had mainly good press for a few years now, albeit nothing dramatic. Also, another minister from the south east would have to be found to replace him. Having no senior minister for a population of 450,000 would be ridiculous, and FF are always very careful about such things. I love to hear about the other hot-shot politicians we have, if there's something that you know that we don't.
Roanmore wrote: As I said, I'm not telling anybody how to vote but this blatant electioneering for Martin Cullen is amazing and we still have 12 months to the next election. What's it going to be like in 6 months from now. I don't support any party and base my vote on what canditates have to say about what the are going to do about the area I live in (Waterford City) and what they are going to do for the country in that order.
merlante wrote: Sounds like you misread a few posts there if you think I am a FFer or a Cullen supporter! I am a 'vote for the guy who stands the best chance of delivering the goods' supporter: i.e. a complete and total mercenary. I would vote for a ****ing snowman if I thought he was good for a cabinet seat, or he was effective in some other important way, i.e. building driveways is not important. We only have 4 seats! If things weren't so bad, I might be more inclined to have principles and stick with a party, but they're not so there you go. And well done by the way on supporting no party -- another mercenary like myself -- but it's completely pointless criticising what people are saying and sitting on the fence yourself. If you have any intuition about who would be the best for the city and the country (my exact priorities!) then please let me know. If we can figure out who the best one is, all us mercenaries can throw our weight in behind him or her!