bigdave95 wrote: » whats the law on mace or pepper-spray?
dermot_sheehan wrote: » In any case Irish Common law allows for reasonable force to be used in self defence which would be in addition to these statutory provisions and would certainly cover when self defence results in homicide. Irish law adopts the reductive approach as per People v. Kealty. What this means is if you thought the force was reasonable, and the jury thought objectively the force was reasonable you get an acquittal. However if you honestly thought the force was reasonable but the jury thinks it was objectively unreasonable you get convicted of manslaughter. If however the jury do not believe you honestly thought the force was reasonable you are convicted of murder.
s.2(4) It is immaterial whether a belief is justified or not if it is honestly held but in considering whether the person using the force honestly held the belief, the court or the jury, as the case may be, shall have regard to the presence or absence of reasonable grounds for the person so believing and all other relevant circumstances.
Sangre wrote: » Of course you can fight back. You don't even have to wait for the first attack because verbal intimidation is assault. You're able to do what is reasonable to avoid bodily harm. If incapicating (knocking him out) him is seen by the jury as reasonable then you're ok.
Juries are usually pretty lenient when it comes to self-defence, they always think 'what if it was me?'.
But remember it must be reasonable. A huge boxer doesn't need to beat a small man into a coma to escape harm.
krd wrote: » You are not safe. I was on Talbot street, and I saw two Chinese guys in a internet cafe throw a drunk and violent scumbag out. When he was kicked out, he started swinging at the two Chinese guys, they swung back. I was there the whole time - I saw everything. Then the guards turn up. Out of the crowd on the street who hadn't seen anything - wide eyed knackers were flocking to tell the guards that the Chinese guys had attacked your man for no reason. The reality, if you're attacked by some junkies, and you fight back - you'll have "witnesses" claim you initiated the attack, and if you seriously hurt or kill them (which is not difficult as they're in terrible health), you could face the prospect of being convicted for murder. There was a conviction of Chinese man recently for killing a junkie in the city centre. His response may have sounded excessive, but they're getting this crap nearly every day.
Zambia wrote: » What was that case and when?
krd wrote: » It's very recent.http://www.independent.ie/national-news/internet-cafe-user-kicked-to-death-over-70c-court-told-3301334.html He was then found guilty.http://lite.rte.ie/news/lite//2012/1205/man-sentenced-to-life-over-internet-cafe-row.html
Zambia wrote: » Thanks but in this case he has exceeded a reasonable self defence in spades you can kick a man to death in that fashion.
Zambia wrote: » Okaaaaaaaay ........ He would have died anyway is not a defence
krd wrote: » It is Vietnam down there, I tell you. Gooks on the wire 24/7, Garda helicopters in the air, watching your buddies die face down in the mud, Jimi Hendrix on fizzy cassette decks, strains of the Doors slow two note bass signature rise, and that guitar run, "This is the end...beautiful friend, thee end"....The violent junky scumbags of the inner city are not signatories to the Geneva Convention. How can you maintain order, how can you win a war, with one arm tied behind your back. The horror......The horror..... The horror The horror
NIMAN wrote: » With the increasing amount of house break-ins these days, I was wondering what the situation would be if you got yourself a baseball bat and had it by your bed, and ended up using it on an intruder? Would you get done because you had already armed yourself with a weapon, and almost prepared for dishing out a beating? Or would you get off beating a guy with it cos he broke into your home and you could claim self defence? I guess it may come down to how badly you beat him.
Procrastastudy wrote: » It comes down to reasonable force. 90% of burglars are going to leg-it bat or no bat. I really wish people wouldn't do this American thing of perpetuating the false idea we live under siege.
The laws in this country are pretty fair to all parties - proportionality is key.
The last thing we need is people suggesting we all carry side arms - which is ultimately where you end up when you start allowing people to use leathal force to defend there collection of CDs.
clearz wrote: » I always wondered what the law on self defence is here in Ireland. Say I was to be attacked on the street by a scumbag. Have I the right to fight back to the point of putting him in hospital? What would happen if I fought back and accadently killed the other guy? Would I be in trouble in these situations? Have I even the right to fight back at all?
Procrastastudy wrote: » I'm not sure a plea of self defence would be appropriate anyway. It the accused intimated the encounter. Curious as to why this wasn't manslaughter though.
krd wrote: » I think the distinction between murder and manslaughter is not just premeditation - but also mens rea. If you start a fight with someone in a pub, and some of your drunken blows kill them, without your intention to kill them, that's manslaughter. If you are sober and you repeatedly kick someone in the head who is on the ground, and they die, that could be taken as you had the deliberate conscious aim of killing them. In that instance it's murder. .
godeas16 wrote: » What exactly happened so yesterday with Niall Dory? The DPP accepted a guilty plea to manslaughter and didn't prosecute for murder. I can't make it out.http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/thug-gets-13-years-in-jail-for-beating-teen-like-a-rag-doll-until-he-died-3333698.html
krd wrote: » While Justice Paul Carney said that alcohol does not afford a defence - which it doesn't, but. The court would consider someone under the influence of alcohol not fully in control of their mental faculties. So, there is a distinction - stamp someone to death while you are drunk, it's manslaughter - do it while you are sober, and it's murder.Mens rea, is latin for guilty mind. If someone can say "I was out of me mind on drink, your honour".....Then they did not have a guilty mind. And that is - unless someone can correct me - is the distinction between manslaughter and murder. As I was advised by a lunatic acquaintance a few years back, if you absolutely must give someone a savage beating, do it in circumstances where both of you have technically had a drink. Because the presence of alcohol makes it difficult for the courts to decide who is absolutely at fault - the claims of the different parties are unreliable. Most drunken brawls do not result in either a charge or prosecution. Violence is as Irish as bacon and cabbage.....alcoholism and child sex abuse. Had Zhen Dong Zhao said to the Garda "Well....I had a few scoops for me dinner, and I was nipin' at bottle of Powers - and when that bosie comes in, eyes spin'in on methdone, gives me a box in gob.. and then he falls down, and I tryin' to help him up, but I kept stepin' on his face by accident on account of the drink. ........♫ curmmm out yee black and tans.. curm out and fight me like a man ♫...."..........Then Zhao would have got manslaugther.
godeas16 wrote: » reasearch will do you know the above case? What is your take on it?