punky wrote: I think the answer is no. There's always been quite a bit of crime in Dublin and other cities around Ireland. I don't think it's gotten much worse. The only difference is that there seems to be more guns involved these days. And the media seems a lot more sensationalist these days which increases the perception that there's a crime wave. The Irish Independent is a prime example. I can't believe I actually used to think it was a reputable newspaper. With the exception of a few dodgy estates, the country is generally quite safe. I would say, however, that there is a rise in anti-social behaviour in recent years. I think this has a lot to do with increased binge-drinking which is fueled by increased wealth. Edited to stress that I don't see anti-social behaviour as being the same as 'crime', which I think of as organised or premeditated.
InFront wrote: Yes of course crime has gotten worse in the past 20 years, you dont need to be einstein to work that one out. I dont know how bad it is, but... last Friday night I was walking up along Dame Street (maybe 10.30pm) towards the cathedral, and just where you get to Dublin castle and theres a bit of scaffolding or something, some *knacker* came right up to my face and punched me in the jaw! I dont know what his reason was , I was on my mobile at the time maybe something he overheard or my accent annoyed him? or who knows. It hurt like hell! Anyway it was pointless and he didnt know me. In the heat of the moment, I gave him some sort of abuse, cant remember what exactly, when I saw that he wanted to fight I picked up my coat and ducked into a newsagents. He came in after me and started swearing at me and generally namecalling. I have never expereinced this before. Whats more, the whole time, people were passing by on the street without concern. I ran out quite quickly, and down at around the habitat store I met two guards coming opposite to me and told them the story. They were very nice and completely sympathetic and even offered to get me something for my jaw. But if this is the kind of thing that they, by their accounts, seem to be putting up with, then yes, I would say there is a crime problem. Whether its better or worse than any other country is a question for a statistician, this is just my personal experience. (Apologies for personal rant:D) I do agree with punky however, that the media to tend to be sensationalist, especially the Indo who are getting worse than The (God forbid it) sunday world for their gangsta reportage in relation to organised crime However I disagree that anti social behaviour by punky's meaning of the phrase isnt really a crime. All crime, organised or drunken, is anti social behaviour, and all anti social behaviour is criminial.
Degsy wrote: Firstly,were you around 20 years ago to compare?
From The Central Statistics OfficeLink Year Indictable/Headline Offences Recorded 1950 12,231 1955 11,531 1960 15,375 1965 16,736 1970 30,756 1975 48,387 1980 72,782 1985 91,285 1990 87,658 1995 102,484 2000 73,276 2001 86,633 2002 106,415 2003 103,360 Source: Garda Síochána
Secondly,Use your head when in a dodgy area and dont be babbling away on your phone at the top of your voice,its annoying
Genghis wrote: I don't think we have a particularly serious crime issue in this country. I would say that the situation is constantly hyped by the media and by the opposition. The profile of crime, over the past two decades has changed. Certainly I remember a time when car radio theft was very commonplace, when burglaries happened frequently, and where car theft was something you almost expected. These sort of crimes, I would say, have diminished greatly. On the other hand, violent crimes appear to have escalated, but this escalation appears to be confined almost exclusively to the gangs that now control the lucrative drug trade in this country. I would say that both trends are a derivative of the recent boom. Petty crime is reduced since nearly everyone now is employed - car theft, break-ins and opportunistic crimes happen when you get a lot of unemployed people who are both struggling to survive and who plainly have little better to do. Serious violent crime within the gang fraternity has come about because there is now a much more vibrant market for drugs, and positions within that supply chain are highly valuable and zealously guarded. The bouyant market for drugs is a result also of the economic boom - as more and more people turn to recreational drugs. This country is a small place. Every near-fatal accident is reported nationally; a single bad experience with the health service can be extrapolated out of all proportion; and a sensationalist crime agenda can be easily pursued by the media as crime is (like anywhere else) an everyday occurence.
CMF wrote: We want to see something being done by the politicians and the legislature ends up passing ill-thought out laws which impose a harsher regime. something like 80% of our prison population is made up of short-term imprisonment. This is my view is absolutely ridiculous...
PCPhoto wrote: This might interest you. Just finished reading this book on crime in Ireland. Its just out and called 'Minor Offences, Ireland's Cradle of Crime' by a guy called Tom Tuite. It focuses on juvenile crime and shows where the crims start out. A real glimpse at the darker side of Irish youth. Here's a useful link with more info.http://www.gillmacmillan.ie/Ecom/Library3.nsf/CatalogByCategory/D8AF394F9C16B1D48025726D004722E5?OpenDocument
CMF wrote: I am doing a bit of research on our criminal justice system (CJS) at the moment and was wondering if I could get some opinions on how well ye think the CJS works? First, do you think Ireland is in the middle of a crime crisis? If so, what informs this opinion? Do you get alot of your information from the media? If so, what media (eg newspaper, radio, telly etc.) What do you think is the best way for crime in Ireland to be tackled: a) more garda powers, harsher punishment, longer sentences b) more focus on the causes of crime and the individual offender c) a more community oriented approach e.g. the juvenile diversion project How do you feel about political responses to crime in Ireland? Are they adequate? Would really appreciate any opinions at all - not necessarily confined to above questions! Cheers!
gurramok wrote: The biggest example in this country was the extreme ignorance and shame of the authorities in letting the likes of Heroin take hold in the early 80's which ya know yourself generated crime wave after crime wave but alas, it only happened in poorer areas hence lack of action from so called politicians/gardai as it didn't affect their community backgrounds. So yes OP, a & b & c that you listed would help a long way to solve the problem, but it'll only happen when it reaches the middle classes i'm afraid.
Kernel wrote: Are you living in Finglas, or Blanch/Mulhuddart? Good post, I don't strictly subscribe to the class argument, but one thing I do know, is that the squeeky wheel gets the grease. As I mentioned, people need to look at what they have done; ie. do they report crimes, do they have neighbourhood watch programmes, do they shun criminal residents? On a political level, do they vote? Do they voice their opinions to politicians? In many working class areas, the answers are no to most of those questions, and that's why they become problem areas.