Dub13 wrote: Funderland has not changed since around Italia '90
LiamD wrote: To clear up a few things: Yes, present your Dart ticket and you will be allowed in, saving you €1.50 entry fee. Funderland is not the same as it was around Italia 90.This year alone 3 new rides have arrived - Star Flyer (brand new this August to Germany), Booster (this is the first time it has ever been outside Germany) and Extreme, seen for the first time in Ireland at Funderland.Last year Sensorium and Take Off were new, the year before Power Tower and Jura World were new, the year before that GForce was new.There are some rides which have been around for a while (Wild Mouse, Speed Loop, Waltzer etc.) but these are seen as traditional fairground rides and the families love them.Feedback shows that these rides are very popular. Re the nackers - yes Funderland does attract a lot of trouble and I hate this about the place.However, there are certain days which over the years attract the most trouble.These are particularly the first four days and the last weekend.The last week is grand - the young scientist entries invade it every day!During the second week is the calmest when most families and non-nacker teens visit. Re the price - it's a business, not a charity!It has lots of overheads too but a good day can be had for €30.That's only about a fiver more than an adult ticket, popcorn, a drink and a bag of sweets in the UGC.Funderland is special - when else can you fly 200 feet above the ground without shelling out hundreds for parasailing?When else can you go at 20 rpm 60 feet above the ground without either getting a speeding ticket or a car crash?? Funderland is one of Dublin's most popular Christmas events.
Misticles wrote: ye that was due to a power failure though! id rather be stuck up 200ft than have plummited to my death...
"The frightening experience saw several people trapped on board the 200 foot high ride"....."Several units of Dublin fire brigade and a 100 foot ladder were sent."
"We didn't really do anything because it was all over by the time we arrived and they had been taken down"
"The two children were sent to hospital to get warmed up and three others were gone into the cafe for a cup of tea by the time we got there"
The Song Thrush wrote: It gets worse every year, less rides and more of those rip-off prize stalls that cheat everyone out of their money.
ian_m wrote: » Anyone know how much it is to get in this year? Price of rides etc... cheers
Daddio wrote: » Funderland is ****e. End of. Spend all your money with nothin to show for it but nausea.
S.I.R wrote: » yeah but like a scene from pirates of the carribean, the ferrus wheel will get knicked... can imagine that yoke beenin roled down past swords shoppin center as we speak :rolleyes: