Originally posted by honeymonster When I was ickle, I was sittin outside a pub with me mates eating chipper food, as yea do. There was a gard walkin by in uniform and me mate said "Smell of bacon" . Then the fucker comes over wanting to know who said it and then starts searching me. I felt so violated................ and not in a good way
Originally posted by Stark By the way, the business of being searched at concerts and stuff. Is that legal?
Originally posted by Duffman You don't have to answer *any* questions though, nor can they arrest you for "questioning".
Originally posted by ^whitey^ A gaurd at a course yesterday told us you did its part of legislation.
Originally posted by klaz But I've heard of incidents where Gardai have taken violent protestors (who were damaging property) into Paddy-wagons, and many protestors surrounding that wagon turned nasty, including assaulting both Gardai and the wagon itself. Do you not agree that protestors that act like this should be put down and put down fast?
Originally posted by Tusky friend of mine had a quater , guards pulled up and the car went just past him , it stopped and they were about to get out ( he was standing on the foot path ) he rolled the quater uunder the car , they searched him and then drove off. He then picked the quater back up and went on his way *smoooth*
Originally posted by Emmo I think it will be funny to see how the less than professional Gardai (there are lots of them about) get on when they are face to face with the May Day protests and the influx of Anti-Capatalists. Too many Gardai use their power to abuse people to make themselves feel good. Happen every day of the week. The reason that they have to deal with crap is because of the amount of crap they dish out, no on likes dealing with them. They have been the subject of countless succesful personal injury claims in the last 10 years. Why? cause they are idiots who instead of keeping the peace bully the normal public. Emmo
Originally posted by cuan My main beef with this is, what is stopping any guard pulling over anyone they decide for no valid reason. They should as far as im concerned given me a reason.
Originally posted by cuan To back up my argument aswell, i was told from a friend of mine today that their is infact a guy pawning himself off as a guard to steal money from them go arround the area i live
would you prefer to see your own city smashed up or do you want someone to defend it
If I needed someone for riot control, I would want the army or the RUC, who are at least trained properly, not some baton-happy scumbag guard from store street, or some kid fresh up from templemore.
Well they have already gotten away with beating the **** out of protestors at least once before so I wouldn't be surprised if they try it again soon. Uniform Guards should be instantly fired for intentionally removing their identification numbers.
Originally posted by silverside You are dealing in hypotheticals here. The protesters last may day werent out to cause damage. *NONE* of them were charged with vandalism. *NONE* of the gardai involved suffered any injury. The gardai were faced with a large number of people milling around, some were taunting them, some were drunk and/or spaced out, but the guards just didnt know how to control the situation, so they lashed out in the only way they knew, a baton charge.
Originally posted by klaz John, I agree but only in the cases where the protestors did nothing to deserve it. And i'm not going to believe Indymedia reports that say that they didn't. Many of these protestors go out looking for trouble, and when they receive the brunt from the Law they complain. Can you really expect to burn a car, throw rocks, or push Gardai and get away with it?
The difference between this year and last year is the existence of European officials on May Day. The protests are going to be much bigger.
Cop on man, nobody deserves to be beaten up, regardless of what you've done.
Originally posted by silverside I don't think its a political thing, I think the problem is *not enough* control, there is a significant number (minority?) of guards who are lazy,ignorant,power-tripping, and there is nothing that can be done to complain about them as in Police Ombudsman.