Connecting to Goatenbridge isn't going to solve the access to water issue. That reservoir can't supply the existing demand. I can't see how connecting hundreds more houses to it will result in anything but restrictions and rationing within a couple of years.
I see a car overturned after hitting a parked car in Irishtown yesterday evening.
Clonmel Cycles was broken into last night and a bike taken. Smashing the glass door to get in. Apparently the guards have got the bike back. There was an attempted break in into A&E jewellers, windows also smashed there. I'm not sure, but I can't remember Door's or windows being smashed to gain entry into any business in a long time. Maybe it there was and I'm not aware of it. All happening in the last 24/48 hours.
The picture of the car in Irishtown looked mad, I thought it was AI first.
Smashing doors and windows seems like an old fashioned form of theft, it's almost like they know the garda response might not be that rapid and they can be well gone soon after an alarm is raised. Was the showgrounds closed at the time A&E jewellers was burgled?
I not quite sure what time the window was smashed in the e showgrounds.
There is a video of the car flipping over. It's actually mad how easy it flipped. Like something out of a movie.
Also a video of someone bringing a bike out of Clonmel Cycles. The bike in question depending on the spec would be North of 3k and could well be possably twice that much.
I see another video doing the rounds this morning of a guy going from house to house at 4am checking car doors in Willow park.
No water for large parts of Clonmel until tomorrow at the earliest. And the long term solution Irish water have is to hook parts of the town up to the Goatenbridge reservoir which is already extremely short of capacity and has Newcastle, Cahir and Ardfinnan all on rationing with no water at night and during the day it must be boiled as it isn't safe for human consumption.
Our public representatives lead protests over fuel prices or sulkies but seem happy to have Clonmel and surrounding areas with a water supply system that most third World countries would be ashamed of.
It seems there are lot's of people who forget to lock their cars at night.Ant there are plenty of vultures awaiting to take advantage.
Planning permission being sought for a large power plant in Ard Gaoithe,located just north of the existing industrial park. Some mention of 120MW plant. I presume this will be gas powered?
A quick search brought up this result.
Seems like a dual gas/diesel plant
Anybody know what this is about?
Given the number of empty units downstairs it's strange that they are converting this to take a tenant. And with no glass front it must be something that needs a certain amount of privacy or doesn't need to attract in clients.
Hopefully it's something good.
Is it a big unit?
Might be connected to the GYM.
Maybe a beauty salon again? Or a sauna, they're popping up everywhere like they're the new phone and vape shops
I see Irish Water Management gave themselves performance related bonuses totalling €13.1 million in 2024.
Now we know why there is no money to provide safe drinking water in and around Clonmel.
RTE news: Staff at Uisce Éireann received over €13m in bonuses in 2024 https://www.rte.ie/news/business/2025/0701/1521309-over-13m-in-bonuses-for-uisce-eireann-staff/
As well as everything else I am actually embarrassed for them for taking it. What did they actually perform on and who decides to grant these bonuses and how much?
Going to be a gym
13m divided by 3700 staff is just over 3k per year
The state of the infrastructure is because the government didn't invest for decades and bandaides have been put on problems. The lack of engagement from council workers led to mistakes etc.
TThere is no money because people refused to pay water charges .When there is no charge people just waste it.If there was a small charge taps wouldnt be left running
False, And a lie at that. There's a thing called taxes and our country has plenty of them but chooses to squander & waste the tax money instead.
Plenty of tax at the moment. I love the way we think that the good times will roll forever.
They have €13m to pay themselves bonuses. As someone pointed out (in an attempt to justify the insane bonuses) that's €3000 for every member of staff in Irish Water as if a bonus of €3000 is a pittance and not something most people could only aspire to. I wonder how much it would cost to fix the systems supplying Clonmel, Ardfinnan, Newcastle, etc. A lot less than €13million I suspect.
EPA have published a damning report into Uisce Eireann today. It highlights how bad the supply is in the Clonmel region is versus the rest of the country. Our area is so bad that in the national map they had to extract it in a seperate zoomed in box to show all the failures by Uisce Eireann. We were the ONLY area in the whole country that needed a special map.
https://www.epa.ie/publications/compliance--enforcement/drinking-water/annual-drinking-water-reports/Drinking-Water-in-Public-Supplies-2025.pdf
.The point I was making is that if there was some charge people wouldnt waste water. I would not be in favour of a high charge. Any charge would stop wastage
Fix the pipes and make the water drinkable - the amount of people buying water is ridiculous. Then we will pay, we will pay for a proper service, not this shite they are dishing up. If it’s destroying the insides of kettles, washing machines etc, what’s it doing to people. And don’t get me started on people paying rates and then the water is destroying their dishwashers, coffee machines etc. It’s a disgraceful service and they are getting bonuses - for what.
The problem in Clonmel and the surrounding area is nothing to do with waste. It is by their own statistics the worst area in the country. They didn't even report every boil water notice etc (e.g. Ardfinnan had 4 or 5 last year but they only reported the longest one which was for 3 months). But even with that they still had to do a special map for the number of failures in the Clonmel area. No other areas in the country had that. The simple fact is they have left our infrastructure crumble into disrepair while millions have been invested in other facilities around the country. I don't know why this is. Is it incompetence or a deliberate attack on people in Clonmel. Hard to tell the difference ar this point. But this can't be allowed to continue. We have a water supply that most third world countries would be ashamed of. Meanwhile our public representatives are doing nothing to fight for us.
Would be a tough gig working on the Irish Water helpdesk if people were paying for water with the amount of people in South Tipp looking for refunds - only said at home the other day it is a matter of time before water gone again with this hot weather, and surely enough water gone in Clonmel again until 9am tomorrow
Bit of excitement in Plunket Tce outside Lidl during last week.
Looking at some of the videos doing the rounds, they didn't even wait to go outside Lidl. Apparently there was a few cars damaged by youths throwing stones during the week also.
Hosepipe ban now in effect.
With no significant rain forecast out as far as they can see it is likely more severe rationing will be imposed in a couple of weeks.
I assume the “concerned residents” group are all over this organising protest marches condemning the behaviour calling for the need for local action?