Ray was grossly offended last October when RTE offered him a move to RTE Gold with a 77% paycut, so he walked out but next Monday he's getting some of the old gang back together with an new podcast.
Just imagine how the bould Ray feels.... having lost his cushy number job and all the perks (subsidized Porridge & soup in the canteen)... now he has to put his hand in his own pocket to pay for this vanity podcast project thing 😭
If you think that’s maddening wait until you discover Ryan Tubridy got €723k+ in one year…..
Radio podcast Ray must be on speed dial with the hacks from Mediahaus.
He's still bitter, but managed to get a shill in for his podcast 😂
another rehash of the same waaah waaaah story in the indo today
https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/ray-darcy-i-am-glad-my-mother-wasnt-alive-to-see-how-i-was-treated-by-rte/a/156184685.html
Has D'Arcy not given up this nonsense podcast yet?
I suspect its possible to get a puff piece in the Irish Independent for a few quid, I wonder is that what D'Arcy is doing as I think its the 3rd or maybe 4th such piece at this stage. You tend to see other such guff occasionally as well for people shilling something or other.
He's making a right prick of himself with all these bitter interviews.
Any numbers on how the podcast is doing?
Really well from what I heard but Ray is one of the best at the end of the day. He soon be in the 3 Arena with a sell out show. and he was really let down by RTÉ, he was never overpaid more like underrated by the fools in RTÉ. Ah sure hopeful he'll get a news paper column soon, he could call it D'Arcy Dublin Diary.
So many begrudgers her on boards. It was RTÉ management at the end of the day.
Subscriber numbers have dropped slightly on Acast
Oh Lord, that's humiliating.
Could someone not have a word with him? Tell him to give it up, try and rebuild a radio presence on one of the Dublin stations - Classic Hits, Nova, Q102 - at whatever money they offer. Surely money is not a top consideration at this point.
Maybe with a talented producer and co-host on a drive show he could get back to something he might enjoy and listeners might enjoy.
And no more whining about RTE in the press!
What is that decrease in % terms :)
"I'm embarrassed to be a man"
Was one of D'Arcy's infamous quotes....after some foreign nutcase murdered some Irish school teacher lady.
Well.... now we are all embarrassed for D'Arcy.
Trending podcasts in Ireland, the podcast is 29th (beating Joe Rogan in 30th). That’s better than I would have expected.
The Pod had 27 Subscribers at the start of April. So an 11% drop, slightly more than Louise Duffy lost when she took over Ray's RTE show.
In saying that, I would imagine most people listen to it on Spotify or an Apple device, rather than as a actual Podcast.
He is 42 as I write, on this list.
https://podtail.com/en/top-podcasts/ie/
I would love to see the actual numbers, 3 or 4 listeners could move a Pod up/down 10 places.
Is trending based on performance against itself? Like he had 0 listeners before it started and now has double digits so it's a bigger improvement in scale versus Joe Rogan who could have added 1000 listeners in the same time. I guess that's how it works to give new podcasts a boost against established ones
He also said he felt sorry for the nutcase’s family. That didn’t age well.
Is this still going ? Have the found a sponsor yet?
Imagine Ray is kicking himself he didn't take the RTE Gold gig. Tracked music show he can pre record. Easy money.
Pat Kenny on Ray D'Arcy
Right on his career in RTÉ since he arrived "back" wrong on his RTÉ career prior to Today FM, Ray was going nowhere in RTÉ he'd spent a decade in Young People's before doing some Radio, no 2FM from what I can remember, when Ian Dempsey left it was possibly Ray who should have taken over on the Breakfast show, though I doubt it would have helped.
I don't really understand "arrived "back" wrong on his RTÉ career prior to Today FM".
I don't think Ray was going to take over from Iano. I can't actually remember what Ray did after he left the Den before going to Today FM. I do remember he was doing commentary for Irish soccer internationals at one point. My 2nd or 3rd class teacher spent a morning giving out about him.
The smart move was moving to TodayFM and the smarter move was moving back to RTE when he did. His show was getting very stale and very smug on TodayFM. If rating where not dropping at this stage they were about to.
Move back to RTE get a rise and coast for two decades. Then get offered a cushy tracked music show. 40k for two hours work a week. Dude got greedy and over estimated his abilities and is blaming everyone else for his woes.
"Right on his career in RTÉ since he arrived "back", wrong on his RTÉ career prior to Today FM"
Does this comma help at all? Just badly worded
He's right that Ray was paid well in RTÉ on his return, but Ray didn't really return to RTÉ.
His career prior to Today FM was Jo Maxi, Blackboard Jungle and The Den, when he left The Den he got a presenting job on Radio 1 on a show called Fandango (I think it was an Arts show). But after that he "moved" to Today FM, his career between Children's TV and Today FM was largely redundant from what I remember, 2phat may have come just before Today FM.
I agree with you. And you'll have to get your 3rd Class teacher a boards membership :)
The pity is that Ray would have been a great fit with Rte gold .He was gone stale in his radio 1 show but he is still easy listening .
It is amazing how all these guys in Rte are so far removed from reality .Tubridy ,Darcy and Tommy Tiernan main hobby horse is misery and depression.
How apt for some of them to get some real life experience in it.
RTE Gold listeners had a lucky escape. It's a daily refuge for people who just want a bit of chat and lots of music. I took a look at the podcast charts and Ray's daily podcast is nowhere to be seen. Looks like he's struggling to find an audience.
This wasn't always the case. I noticed things started to change around 2011/12. After the clip of Gay Byrne talking to a women whos daughter had just died.
Everyone started to pivot into misery. I appreciate that there was always some misery. But I think everyone just saw it as a way to go viral.
Even Tubs used to have very mostly light hearted guests on his Saturday show. Bill Shatner, The Hoff.
Tried to be the intellectual heavyweight on TLL when he had Richard Dawkins on. Love Dawkins or not. But if you plan on getting in an argument with him or plan on challenging him on something. You need to make sure you ave done your prep.
So pivoted to misery. Get all those Youtube likes.