how long will it last tho …like the cheap Eastern Europeans before them the Nepalese etc will quickly figure out there is far better money and conditions elsewhere …farms will get bigger no doubt ,think in my own coop over 20% of the milk is coming from about 6% of farms which are milking 200 plus cows
Your obviously on gd land too theres some lads great farmers on poor land not finished first rotation yet cows not long out.
To be honest i really don't think them outfits will stay going long term succession will still be the big issue
the on farm bio security tb scheme that gives 40 per cent grant for water trough specs says minimum height of concrete water troughs is 90cm i cant see any water trough made by spillane or murphy coming near 90 cm in height
Min trough size would be 150 gallon to meet the 600mm min height spec
Well, I dont but plenty maintenance needed all the time.
Them boys are a joke just want to be seen milking big numbers of cows and there too lazy to work anyway.Most are sons of big farmers who also never worked and could always employ a so called workman or two those days are gone.But renting land cost money and so do the nepalese they dont work for free also you need a parlour with all the bells and whistles more money and if your really big a rotary all money.
Such wonderful insight 👏 👌 its almost inspirational...... your not one of the two Pattinson by any chance are you
Well you just look who employs nepalese the boys renting land who have big farms handed to them and who never do any physical work simple as.maybe you have a nepalese milking your cows
Relief milkers across the country were sweating in the parlour this afternoon!
NNow Now dont be smug with your robot 🤪😅😅😅something I regret not investing in when I had the opportunity ...but they were only in There infancy at the time . Unfortunately it will be myself sweating this evening 🙃
Are you on the pina coladas? Limerick city was buzzing today for the match. Good day for a bulmers. City is really thriving and after smartening itself up it seems.
I didn't have a drink this year, that's how bad im gone! Championship games in this weather is really what the GAA is about. Great to see offaly in hurling quarters. They may not go any further but still great to see fresh faces. Was out in Limerick years ago and it was the first time I seen the armed garda unit. Theres just a buzz around with good weather. Galway would be a lovely spot to be in today id say
Wasn't smug the other night when the power went off for an hour, had to go reset it at midnight. Its grand this time of year not being under pressure to get to the yard too early. Last cow calved this week aswell although there's 2 calving in July but we won't mention that!!
It's not about how much you do.....it's about how much you get done.
GGreat Stuff ya there's downsides to everything
Another problem cow
https://www.facebook.com/reel/2092383494823482/?referral_source=external_deeplink&original_uri=https://www.facebook.com/share/r/18nqfa5JLj/
That must be the ultimate arrogant prick of the century. congrats.
Who ever devised this f**king text from tirlain, should be getting their p45, id say the mini-heart attacks suppliers have had before fully reading it would be a good % of the milk pool
Looking at those photos of your farm — I couldn’t help but feel you’re doing the right thing to go milking cows.
You haven’t mentioned what you do and I’m not asking, but you don’t have much business on a factory floor taking orders from a boss that you can’t stand when you have a fine farm like that at home.
I know the numbers regarding the finances probably don’t make any sense right now but it’ll work out in the long run. If you were milking 70 cows on that 80 acres with a regular run of the mill parlour with auto wash it’d be very handy work. We’ve a 16 unit milking 200 cows. There’s only 6 weeks in the spring when it’s hard, the other 46 weeks of the year are definitely better than being a teacher or anything like that
What is the problem with that message
Any text from tirlan about high school, tbc etc all start with ALERT, so that message in that context on a quick first read sounds like a bulk tank fail.
1st 2 words should have been risk of.
Kinisla Kerry are at the same craic. You would feel like asking them would they milk them for you as well.
Can't see the problem. They just saying to keep an eye on the bulk tank.anyways
Did you ever get test results that doesn't make sense. My protein was steadily climbing but yesterday it came back at 3.1 and my scc was running at 150 and it came back at 400.
Im doubtful it was a sample of my milk, especially as the cows are packed with grass these days
I see it a bit here …last week my protein went 3.59..3.66…3.07…3.65….i rang to question it was told they’d look into it ,pull the low result and get back to me …nothing done .i even asked a board member to bring up issues around irregular test results and issues around sending out test results ,wasn’t brought up either .its simply not good enough and would make you wonder
I'm convinced that the testing is very hit and miss. Especially around tbc and thermodurics. Every year get 1 or the other off the scale high completely out of the blue. Used to tear the parlour apart cleaning etc, last few years don't do a thing different and never get a second high one in a row.
I'm certain residues and the way samples are being stored on lorrys is a bigger contributer. Milk urea is another which seems to be fierce erratic.
Never imagened id see the day, their would of been silage cut of this ground, job was only done out of sheer fear of the furry lads that had made a home here
Cows under fair pressure with the heat. Standing in a bunch all day. A few had their tongues hanging out panting. I left them into the shed early for shade. They didnt even want water.