EPA consumption of cyber cab has been released. 165Wh / mile
To put this in context - the most efficient car ever made is the Highland Model 3 RWD at 255Wh / mile EPA. Or 13.7kWh / 100km WLTP
Interpolating, this means an astonishing 8.9kWh / 100km in the WLPT cycle for the cyber cab 😶
Who's entering these figures . (In the current environment)
I don't follow? I presume a car manufacturer has to submit a car for EPA testing before it will be certified. It looks like that just happened, hence the official EPA rating of 165Wh / mile
No like wouldn't these have had to been done at launch
The Model 3 isn't the most efficient car according to the EPA, when did it became "the most efficient ever"
What is the most efficient production EV?
The Model 3 LR and the Ioniq 6 have been classed as the most efficient EVs for years. They are neck and neck and similar value for money.
Only the Lucid beats them, but at twice the price and not being available in most places, including any RHD market, plus the fact that it’s a heap of shíte, it’s not one I’d even put in the contenders list, but alas, it is a production car, so in it goes.
Well you partly answered your own question. The Lucid Air is the most efficient according to the EPA
The CLA if going by WLTP, not sure where your graphic is from.
No doubt Tesla make some of the most efficient cars but others have caught up and some have passed them.
It's the cyber cab he is referring to.
https://electrek.co/2026/05/22/tesla-cybercab-most-efficient-ev-ever-165-wh-mi/
Ah, ok cybercab that's a new one. Haven't heard that coined yet. Robotaxi I thought.
The model 3 was released in 2017. The Lucid Air in 2021 and it's not available here. The Ioniq 6 in 2022. So, that's where it came from that the Model 3 is the most efficient.
The Lucid may technically be the most efficient production model now, but it's not available in most territories outside the US, so doesn't factor much when we are talking on an Irish forum. It's not available in RHD, it's only available in the US, Canada, Saudi and for Europe, only Germany, Norway, Netherlands and Switzerland afaik have it. If it was available here, it would be over €100k. Once again, it's a complete piece of shít. Efficient…but only when it works. The car is plagued with issues. One of the issues is it has been known to drain its own battery randomly because it powers everything on without any instruction…gremlins. Not very efficient there.
The CLA figures vary depending on source. I used Mercedes own figures of 14.1-12.2 kWh/100km.
Yes, others have caught up with Tesla, but there's a lot to be said for the price paid for efficiency, with the Model 3 and Ioniq 6 being the cheapest variants in the list.
My choices for buying would be either the M3, or CLA. The 6 looks like a banana. The bZ doesn't appeal to me. The Air….well, I've made my thoughts clear on that yoke.
Fair enough, the Highland Model 3 was the most efficient car ever when it was launched 2 years ago, now a few other cars have caught up and are similarly efficient
But you will get my point, the cybercab is 35% more efficient than the lot. Which is insane.
Surely you know the difference between a robotaxi and a cybercab? Or have you been living under a stone for the last few years? From a lot of your comments on this thread, I got that impression a few times before alright 😂
And some lucid owners are returning their cars for refunds!
I struggle to believe those figures, at best guess they are averaging only the existing fleet which probably is traveling at only 25km per hour around a very small city street area.
You'd probably get the same out of a normal M3 if you got 40 of them and drove them around all day like a 90 year old.
It's the official EPA cycle. But is mostly self-certified like the WLTP. Manufacturers provide the data, but these are random checked by the EPA. No point in lying as you will be found out. Remember dieselgate? 😂
But I agree with you that 35% more efficient than the most efficient car in the world is unreal. How did they manage that? The cybercab must be ultra light weight, as in at least 300-400kg lighter than Model 3?
It's probably not a true figure as I said. The model 3 would probably get the same figures operating in a box and driving like a granny.
You'd have to put money down these down represent like for like actual driving between those models. There's zero chance have Tesla getting whacked for anything like diesel gate ever . American brandz musk , trump etc etc . He could prob half the figure and get a rubber stamp.
Why is it probably not true ? Have you any basis for that given the 3 and Y are among the most efficient in their class as it is ?
You’ve changed your tune on betting…..:😂😂😂
Next he'll say 2 + 2 is probably not really 4 😁
It's to coin of phrase lads don't wet yourselfs too much. I can link coin a phrase if ye like ?
Wanna be careful on here or else you literally get harassed into putting money down with some randomers on the internet.
As for the 35% lower fuel consumption. It is not really that hard to believe. The Cd is the same as Highland Model 3, with the frontal area quite likely considerably smaller
The car is ony a 2 seater, so a lot smaller than Model 3. The body panels are made from pigmented plastic, so no paint is used. The car has only 3 major structural castings plus the structural battery pack, which is almost certainly a lot lower capacity than Model 3 standard
So all in all, I reckon a weight saving of about 300-400kg, which would broadly explain that efficiency saving. EPA is very much a start stop cycle where weight savings matter
So your ignoring it's journeys and speed specifically. It must be something else ?
No idea what you are on about. What am I supposed to be ignoring? The ETA is a fixed cycle to test fuel consumption. Not a makey uppy test that a manufacturer does to suit itself like you are suggesting.
All I'm doing is speculating how much less the cybercab weighs compared to Model 3 to explain the efficiency increase. Claude seems to agree with my figure:
As you said Tesla hand over their stats. The stats for this model vehicle will show incredibly low figures of consumption because of how and where it operates.
What are you missing? Exactly what I said twice. That's what.
If they drove x40 M3s around doing the same job theyd show incredibly low consumption too.
Which part of the epa being a fixed test with fixed parameters are you missing ?
The EPA test isn't driving at 30kph like a granny in a car park. It's a fixed criteria. Remove the tinfoil hat for a minute.
I heard. Also for that to happen, it just proves the car is a pile of crap. Serious issues, including safety issues, like doors not opening, cars rolling after random settings glitches and battery drain. I saw a youtube vid yesterday covering some of these issues and the APP drained half his phone battery running in the background 🤣
Dig up.
😂😂
I'm thinking of getting one. I'm a bit of a tech head so appeals to me. Any pro's and cons before I order one. I have been watching youtube videos on it for the last hour but like to get peoples opinions here.