Maybe bringing that flighty streak from his grand-daddy, SYMPA
Anybody use Glera Oran ch6310? was thinking of him for a pedigree charolais second calver.
I seen his mother up at Richard Duff’s year ago, she was a serious cow. Some length to her. Never used him, but if your cow has a bit of muscle to her, they could cross well. How’s she bred?
Goldies Victory LM3001 with Elite now for €60.
Is there straws?
I think I might be able to get a couple.
Well done. He wasn’t available for long.
Was he any good. Want to breed replacements. My pedigree charolais are hard get incalf. So looking at charolais bulls with good daughter calving intervals.
Didn’t get to use him. Out of a big Egbert cow. Have you blooded your cows for mineral deficiency?
Pedigree Ch cows are the hardest to ai bar non
In what way?
Our commercial cows are fine. Its just the ped Charolais ones.
10 month old bull by Gamin (ZGM). This fella has 7 straight generations of French breeding in him. Stars for everything except gestation.
He's going to be a fine long bull.
Pd ch have way bigger cervix and tubes and vagina than other breeds , it's all hanging down inside the pelvis, so the gun won't even get as far as the cervix after a few calvings, you have a get every inch of your arm in to grab hold of the cervix and try to pull it all back up into the pelvic area
Any recommendation for a fertile charolais line.
II don't have an answer for you but from what I've seen farmer's with certain pd ch cows try a number of different AI technicians and still can't get some of them incalf, I often wonder was it because of the size and physical situation internally and was the blood supply compromised
top class Recif heifer ( if I say so myself) very impressed with her. Length size width. She has one copy of a nt gene the lads breeding for carrick would like her. The lim is a Stan heifer good muscle but abit low.
Is it very unusual to have a charolais heifer with an nt gene? I have one here that has one copy of it out of a simmental cow of all things with no blue breeding in the background.
doesn’t matter he breed, if they are pedigree they are harder to get in calf imo
she is off a gwo lim cow who’s off a dbz bb x fr cow originally. It is unusual if I was selling her I would be leaning into that to sell her. Im probably going to keep her myself and il ai her in the back end.
I wouldn't agree with that. It all depends on the individual cow. If she's bred from a line of good fertile cows, she'll go in-calf no bother. When you think about it, fertility (daughter calving interval) is the last thing to get measured in a bull.
There is a special place in hell for ravens 🤬
How did that happen? Was it a newborn or what?
Just realised I posted this in the Ai thread by mistake. Hes a week old and he fell into a hole a few days ago and his hip was grazed but the skin wasn't broke. Id him in a paddock here beside the house to keep an eye on him because he was a bit sore and lying down alot. He was fine yesterday.
Would stockholm tar have kept the feckers away?
That's for flies. Won't stop birds nevermind a raven
Has any of ye used Claddagh Mccabe?
Is he as hard calved as his figures suggest?
A double Q gene carrier. I was going to chance him on a few mature CHx cows.
Call me stupid but does Claddagh Mccabe not have a bit of inbreeding in the background seen as Wilodge Tonka was used in the bloodlines of both his parents or am I completely wrong ?
Also, with all the good Limo Bulls out there why would you want to go with such a high calving bull as him and his poor replacement rating ?
I'm just being curious as trying to learn all the time myself too.
you will be fine if them cows don't have a q gene and you get a double q calf which would be high possibility of a section. however the other way to look at it is high possible of a show calf if that's what your chasing.
I haven’t used CH8580 yet but his figures are good and proven. I’m a bit stuck with Angus ancestry causing scur problems in polled calves so I don’t want to use anything else on those specific cows.
That Recif heifer is a beauty. Would you AI and then sell her? She’d make a fortune then.
17 AI’d here. 7 done on natural heats, 10 sync’d with fixed time AI. I’ve another 11 sync’d for next week then another batch the week after. Most heifers are cycling well but a few will get a shot of PG to kick start them.
My AI tech says he has very little work on suckler farms right now. Cold weather and lack of grass has put the brakes on cows cycling. I was doing great 3-5 weeks ago but very few cows spotted in heat which pushed me to put so many on a CIDR program.