Dublin drew at minor v galway
Yeah Galway are certainly favourites and were the best team in Leinster by a distance when they were minor as well. They beat Kilkenny very comfortably in both games 3 years ago.
Kilkennys hope will be that they have very strong backs, and their 2 minor teams that are now U18 and U19 were far better than their Galway counterparts, so that may make up a little ground but it's still a big ask to beat that Galway team.
I see Galway have it on their twitter page that they play Wexford next week in the semi, so the draw must have been made. That looks like we have Dublin but I can't see it confirmed anywhere else.
Good chance for the Minors to get to a Leinster Final v Dublin at the weekend. Dubs were beaten by Westmeath who we beat comfortably.
….
That's minor not u20
Dublin also beat Wexford and drew with Galway u17s is a funny age group.
If this is Minor you’re talking about, Galway actually weren’t through
With Wexford winning on Saturday, had Galway lost by a point to Dublin and had Westmeath then beaten Laois by 15+ points, Wexford and Westmeath would’ve gone through and Galway would’ve been knocked out
Didn’t matter in the end as Galway drew and Westmeath won by 13
For a competition that's so hard to get knocked out of, it's ironic that Westmeath with 2 wins from 3 are gone already
Whereas even if we lost against the Dubs Saturday, which would be 3 losses from 4, we are still in a prelim quarter final against one of the Munster teams.
Yeah it's bonkers really, anyway I here u20 draw is the same as minor.
yes , sorry, my bad. It’s just a bit confusing with the swing between minor and U20 chat here. Draw for u20 is same as minor.
Bad luck or what? Parnell park in all three competitions.
Jaysus Christ minor on the 9may senior 10 may and U20 13 may,
A hoor of a venue to get a result out of. Great spot though.
You are such an avid supporter that you will prob attend all three games! Hopefully the minor or u20 semi finals will be on TG4 at least.
that will certainly push my loyalty I’ll have to hire a travel agent. The only positive is we shout have all these games at home the next time unless we need floodlights.
Adrian Mullen should surely be making the panel this week, if not the extended panel ?
Reality is KK beat Westmeath convincingly and narrowly lost to both Galway and Wexford. Everyone knew the rules before the competition started so I wouldn't feel we have anything to be embarassed about. Unfortunately Laois like the Offaly under 20s were the whipping boys and in our group and that meant all three teams opposite us were more or less starting plus two. I would be very optimistic for our 20s and minors and if they manage to win in Parnell Park each will be well prepared for a tilt at their respective finals.
It's the Leinster Council getting the grief, it's not the fault of any of the counties involved, your correct about Laois but a team getting knocked out in a round robin after 2 wins from 3 feels wrong.
I heard rumours today that all the stand tickets for DB v KK senior hurling game are sold out. Can anyone verify this.
GGot Mine 2 weeks ago and there were only few left then so imagine its true.
I’d never have thought they would be out so soon,I’m not up to things like that a bit slow on the uptake. Do you think there would be terrace available.
Tickets are still available if you have a season ticket. I just tried it there.
Is the KK vs Offaly on any screens this weekend?
No I gave up the season ticket it was great at the start but the benefit kept declining and I packed it in 3 years ago. Speaking of season tickets I do have the underage one but what I want to know is am I OK for the minor on Saturday and the U20 on Wednesday night? Appreciate the info Tank .
Doesn't seem to be. Galway v Kildare is on for some reason though, would have thought ours is a more interesting fixture than that
As a Galway man, I'd agree with you there. No offence, but bar a "novelty" aspect of the match (don't know when was the last time Galway played Kildare in Senior hurling), can't really see the interest in that match (I'm guessing Galway will win well), whereas the Kilkenny vs Offaly match could have a bearing on progressing from leinster for both.
Watched the second half of the Cork Clare game and it really just hammers home the difference between Munster and Leinster. Whether Kilkenny are better than any of these teams is immaterial. You have 5 counties of similar ability tearing strips of each other at speed, with intensity, in games throughout the Munster championship. From a development point of view whether these teams win an All Ireland or a Munster is largely irrelevant. These games are massive for the step up from U17 to senior. Our U20s just don't get the same consistent standard of games in Leinster. We can put lads like Henry in charge, we can set up U19 teams etc but the teams might get 3 games of that standard a year if they're lucky
Cork V clare u20 didn't blow me away.cork had no free taker and I woukd be surprised if clare won it out.
Yeah by the same token I don't expect them to televise kilkenny v Kildare either. I assume they are under an obligation to televise some games for every county in it, but it is still weird to me that I can't even watch it on gaago. Like presumably they will have cameras and a commentator there anyway for the highlights, so why not have our match available there?
Are Cork gone out of the U20 so?
Yeah Cork gone. Clare and Tipp Munster final next Wednesday in Limerick. Bit of a surprise to see Cork out but Clare were very good, 3 and 6 were excellent and free taker Hegarty, and Cleary and full forward also very good. Clare looked like they wanted a bit more I thought. Corks senior star Barry Walsh was well held, only a point from play. Shows the high standard of U20.