There's been a few preview trailers for Michael Jackson's upcoming biopic, but the first full trailer just dropped a little over an hour ago.
MICHAEL – in theaters & IMAX April 24, 2026. Starring Jaafar Jackson, Nia Long, Laura Harrier, Juliano Krue Valdi, with Miles Teller, and Colman Domingo.
MICHAEL is the cinematic portrayal of the life and legacy of one of the most influential artists the world has ever known. The film tells the story of Michael Jackson’s life beyond the music, tracing his journey from the discovery of his extraordinary talent as the lead of the Jackson Five, to the visionary artist whose creative ambition fueled a relentless pursuit to become the biggest entertainer in the world. Highlighting both his life off-stage and some of the most iconic performances from his early solo career, the film gives audiences a front-row seat to Michael Jackson as never before. This is where his story begins.
Wrong thread.
The story, they had an opportunity to delve into the HISstory of one of the most important artists in music, and made it into a **** puff piece where he was just a child who never grew up and really really wanted his daddy's approval, deified his mother when she was as complicit as the father and when they couldn't cover the trial for legal reasons they just turned the last third into a series of shot for shot recreations. The timeline is also completely screwed up but I expect that from the lads behind Bohemian Rhapsody.
It'll do huge numbers and probably win a few oscars but ultimately they chickened out of telling any kind of realistic portrayal.
Better man pisses all over it.
Think you've the wrong tab open for your latest posts.
Unless your ardent defence of Michael Jackson has now extended to trying to bring the thread completely off-topic.
You're a bit late, I edited my posts.
I never really like Jackson's music and when everybody was raving about the thriller album I was busy training to be a garda. One of my recruit classmates asked me what I thought of Jackson and it was only then I realised I had never thought about him at all. I remember saying I thought he was a bit of a wally - even though I knew little about him.
When the allegations of child abuse were made against him I just assumed it was a money grab - until I seen the documentary Leaving Neverland. That shocked me as I never believed somebody in such a public spotlight would be so stupid or brazen. I don't intend to go to see this film after reading the comments here as if the allegations and trial are not included then the whole thing is a bit of a farce.
I spent too long trying to think of a snooker-related joke about Jackson being a pedo but couldn't come up with anything. I don't know enough about snooker.
"I spent too long trying to think of a snooker-related joke about Jackson being a pedo"
You wanted to make a joke about pedophelia? 😐 Give your head a wobble. 🙄
you obviously haven’t even seen the film - Michael Jackson never wanted or sought his fathers approval.
You obviously don’t believe in due process as this was part of a trial in which he was completely and quickly exonerated.
So would you be ok with a male relative of yours having these books locked away in a safe?
Or how about a grown man sleeping with non related children in his bed?
Or are you like @sligeach also just too much of a fan to not see these as disturbing?
if you’re interested enough to post into this thread you should do your research on the two “survivors” in the leaving neverland doc.
Both legally proven liars, chasing the estate for jobs and money and most of their allegations proven to be false (eg train station building plans online).
I don't believe them either.
The joke would have been about Jackson himself, not the victims or the act of pedophilia itself. Calm yourself
That's actually a good question. A priest or teacher would not be allowed have kids over for sleep overs even if they had a missed childhood and didn't do harm...its just not acceptable 😀
Everything, from hugging Berry Gordon to the nose job because of his father calling him big nose to the relationship with his bodyguard is the story of a boy dealing with the fact his daddy never said he loved him, textbook.
That’s a bit mad thinking people are pretending to have watched the film because they didn’t give it a glowing review
what kind of a person posts into a thread for a film they haven’t seen on a subject they’ve no interest in? Why?!
I saw the film and I loved it.
Your interpretation is wrong. Yes he had a traumatic relationship with his father but he never sought his approval - he spent his life running away from him.
Clearly you haven't read the thread, have you? I'm booked in to see it tomorrow and have said I'm a fan of Jackosn's music.
Now can you please answer my 2 simple questions:
Would you be ok with a male relative of yours having these books locked away in a safe?
Or a grown man sleeping with non related children in his bed?
no normal person would be ok with someone sleeping in a bed with their kids. What’s your point? Nothing you post is going to convince me he was a pedophile.
Enjoy the film bud.
And what about having a male relative having these books locked in a safe? Would you be ok with that?
So you have issues with Michael Jackson sleeping in a bed with children? As you seem to be downplaying any criticism of the man pretty quickly.
I have no issues with it as it’s not my kids and none of my business.
you seem to ignore the trial in which these books were brought up - exonerated.
OJ Simpson was also exonerated.
Maybe have a rethink on your morals if you’ve no issues with it just because they’re not your children.
Also, if it’s none of your business why are you getting so put out by people criticising your beloved MJ for sleeping in a bed with children that weren’t his?
you can’t compare OJ as that was one isolated incident whereas people would have you believe michael Jackson was a constant pedo over 20-30 years with hundreds of victims. Despite a 10 year investigation by 2 different agencies, neither of which could find enough evidence to even charge the man.
anyway back on topic - film has smashed the box office with $200m+ opening weekend - great stuff!
the reality is most people either think the allegations were made up by grifters seeking a payout or else just love the music so much they simply don’t care. This is the reality.
So you are just another fan boy who doesn’t care about his obviously creepy side, good to know.
Most people don't view them to be made up is the thing. Pretty much every review has brought them up because they are viewed as highly credible. That's not due to some big media conspiracy. Historical abuse cases are incredibly difficult to actually prosecute in the first place.
Olympic medal mental gymnastics going on in this thread.
Just waiting for it to be available on Streamio and I'll give it a look.
This thread has really jumped the shark. Should stick to talk about the movie rather than a back and forth about Jackson and the allegations...take it elsewhere
Suggest this earlier and agree.
Cant **** say you like his music without some remark about "Oh you support child abuse then?"
Ridiculous
The thread is about the movie. If people are hell bent on discussing allegations made against him, make a thread and discuss it there. Or go back to that sub on Reddit