If you see a job that needs doing..
Went there a few times. Good spot. Very kid friendly
When you've a gobshite to pay for everything money isn't important!!
especially the spud men!
Especially the spud men milking a few cows on the side, definitely couldn't trust them lads
one of those beside me. Only it isn’t a few cows he’s milking. He’d taken 2 rented sheds from under me at this stage
Great spot,only thing id suggesting is avoiding the puck pigmy goat in the petting area.Awful friendly little lad but you may dip the kids in bleach after handling him.Was alot of families from iner city dublin the last time we stayed and was very entertaining looking at them trying to figure out why the kids smelled of stale urine after they were in the petting farm
Eau de parfum 🤣
Feck the Strait of Hormuz. I'm staying warm next winter. Cut and gathered some timber the last few days. All of it was in wet areas, so could only get to it now.
I pity the poor devil that has to unravel that chain harrow…
I hope all those that have all or most of their land in one block realize how fortunate they are. Spent most of the day moving cattle to outside places, and more to do tomorrow. Even from TB loads of farmers bounding me and another gone down so back to contiguous testing now
The land commission have a lot to answer for. They must have been thinking ahead, if rural people are kept busy with a bit of land here and there they won't have time to rebel.
I should be resurrecting the turf thread soon all going well
Ash? Is that the dieback in the bigger rings where it changes colour about an inch in from the edge?
I bought a pallet of coal in October only used half of it. Oh would have had fire lit from early in the day but we were only lighting it when we'd get in in the evening . So will have that for later in the year
Not as bad as you'd think. It's rolled up and tied with cord. It's in parts, 5 foot and 4 foot, if I remember right. I lift it out with the loader and put it together in the field.
Ya, I posted about it on the Forestry Forum. Here's the post;
Ash Dieback Disease (Chalara fraxinea) in Ireland - Page 26 — boards.ie - Now Ye're Talkin'
My little experiment on Ash Dieback. I cut down an ash tree that was showing the most damage from Dieback on the farm.
First pick shows the damage on the top of the limbs.
2nd pic - shows internal rot about 5 feet from base.
3rd pic - this is at the very base of tree. Surprising how little rot there is. Only a very small area right at the centre.
Met a lad today only back from spending the winter in Tanzania. He gave me a naggin of the local whiskey n to my utter surprise it's actually decent.
He has a stake in a coffee, tobacco farm over there n a good few staff. I was asking him what would be the average wage over there. He said his staff live on the farm and average wages around e70 a Month! He said zero dole n zero crime over there.
Is that wagtail saucer in good shape?
Lovely timber.
No, it came away from the base. I tried to glue it back in place, but it broke again.
Chop them big rings now. Ash only get harder as it dries:.
I Ieft an ash tree ringed for too long as I was waiting for a good bit together before getting the block splitter.
Bad decision...the ash was quiet dangerous to split..blocks flying in all directions
yeah it’s deadly. I ended up in hospital with a burst ear drum and a fractured skull back in 2013 from that exact scanerio.
Fresh ash is probably the easiest of woods to split, elm on the other hand is tough going, interlocked grain which is the reason it was used in cartwheel hubs and chair seats
Have a good bit of elm to split this year, will be a hatchet job, so that’s something to look forward to…
Have lawns dressed and ready for seed, so ye think I should sow away or wait for a few days. Given fairly dry for the week.
Wait til midweek for next 10day forecast, any drop of rain coming get them in
Soil temps are rising by the day so they'll fly it
Sow away plenty of moisture in the soil still
DrDropped one of the kids somewhere this evening, drove home to collect another one to go somewhere else, stopped car for a minute while he got in and drove over the dog with back wheel. Heard her squealing, stopped car which was on top of her, moved forward and she walked away. I don't know where she was. I drove over her before. She's about 12 years old . Need wine
stressful indeed